We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
Ranked #5 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2012

In a nutshell, this is where prospective innkeepers should come to see how to do things right.
Peter and Mary are the best. We will be returning 'home' again and again. And next time we know to stay for more than two nights ! Our new favorite
Finger Lakes Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: every room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank innsitterMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Mullers'. Peter and Mary were so friendly and welcoming. The room was simple, clean, and comfortable. It was extremely quiet, with gorgeous night sky views. The porch and lake view were beautiful. The B&B is conveniently located for lots of day trips, wine and cheese tastings, and outdoor activities. Breakfast each day was delicious, and a great opportunity to chat with fellow travelers. Mary's scones are some of the best we have ever had! We highly recommend The Pearl of Seneca Lake, and we will surely stay there again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Well, what more can I say that hasn't been said before? I will try--Pete and Mary were the best innkeepers ever! After staying there 2 nights we felt like we had known them forever. The breakfasts were superb--the scones are to die for! We had raspberry-chocolate scones the second day and they were so good! We stayed in the Merlot Room which was the only one on the first floor and it was fully handicap accessible and although we didn't need that, it was very comfortable. Coffee and cookies are always available in the kitchen and we took ours to the comforable living room to rest after a day of sightseeing and wine tasting. You cannot go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandmamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

If you want a Bed and Breakfast to relax and get away from it all, this is the place. My husband, along with friends, spent three nights at this wonderful B&B. Pete and Mary were the greatest! It couldn't get any better then the Pearl. The scones were to die for. The rooms are clean and roomy. You have to try the firepit, had so much fun trying to get it started. Everything that you can think of was provided, from covers, to keep warm for the fire, to movies in the living room. Being centrally located on the lake, made it easy to get to the wineries. Pete was spot on, suggesting places to eat. We would defintely return to this piece of heaven.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONNA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this wonderful B&B. It is THE exemplary B&B. The location is second to none and the purpose built house gives the guests a most comfortable and peaceful stay. Mary and Peter run the place with love - you see it in every detail but the breakfast is the pinnacle! Every word that previous reviewers wrote is absolutely true!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have been staying at b&b's for more years than I want to tell........all along the eastern US coast and beyond. This has been THE most enjoyable b&b stay that we have ever experienced!

The owners, Peter and Mary, are a great combo. They work so well together, whether they are in the kitchen cooking or chatting on their wonderful decks.

They designed their "home" exclusively for a b&b operation and there is nothing that has escaped their attention for a "died and went to heaven" experience for all of their guests.

The breakfasts are wonderful! They all begin with the "scone of the day". Picture a fresh blueberry scone or one with chocolate chips & raspberries.......and that is just the start of the meal. Fresh fruit and fruit juices follow the scones, along with whatever kind of coffee/tea you want, thanks to the wonderful "coffee genie machine" they have! Then comes the main entree....perhaps a tomato/mushroom/onion frittata with a side order of bacon....or maybe pancakes with turkey sausage and eggs served your way. Oh, did I mention Mary's "bird seed bread"? She makes all of the breads served here. All are wonderful, but we loved the "bird seed bread" the best! Needless to say, we never had any lunches during our stay.

There are only four rooms here and all are furnished with Amish-made furniture (made locally by the Amish people and resemble the Arts & Crafts style). All of the rooms open to decks that overlook Seneca Lake. Every room is supplied with a microwave (great to have with the microwave popcorn packs that they provide) and a frig that is stocked with bottled water & canned sodas.

The b&b is located close to many Finger Lake wineries & sites, but, to be honest, it was a wonderful world of bliss and peacefulness! When you drive down their LONG driveway, it is like you are leaving your worries and cares behind! We actually spent our last afternoon on our deck there, reading our books, munching on popcorn, and enjoying the wonderful lake view.

We didn't have time to utilize their canoe or rowboat, but we did enjoy sitting on their dock area on Seneca Lake. They also have an outdoor pavillion in which you can grill your own dinner.

Oh, did I mention the "never ending cookie jar"? Those oatmeal chocolate cookies were some of the best that we have ever eaten.

Will we return? You bet...........but we will definitely try to reserve a LOT earlier. I thought that I was an early bird by booking 6 months ahead, but there was only one room left at that point!

Room Tip: Not a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The name truly says it all - this place is a real "Pearl"! Just spent 2 nights at this lovely place and really hated to leave. It was our first time to this area and we weren't sure what to expect. We don't feel like the pictures do this place justice. It is so much more beautiful than a picture could ever show. Whether you want to relax down by the water on the private dock, take a canoe or rowboat out on Lake Seneca, sleep in the hammock or sit on the patio chairs, this place is very peaceful and restful. It is hosted by two of the nicest people who could ever meet! The breakfasts are wonderful and I especially liked the "never-ending cooking jar" as the hosts call it. We were even given a bag full of homemade cookies as we left as well as 2 coffee mugs. We absolutely loved this place and feel like we hit a homerun in selecting it as a stop off on our trip home from Vermont. Almost forgot about waking up to deer on the back lawn and also picking a few of the wild grapes from the wooded area on the huge grounds. (Sure hope it was ok HAHA!!) Apparently this used to be a vineyard years ago and some of the grapes are growing wild. They sure were tasty!! We will definetly be back - thanks for a wonderful stay in your beautiful home!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonehiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
11.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,252 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B

Address: 4827 Red Cedar Lane, Dundee, NY 14837-0244
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £140 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant lakeside home constructed in 2005 as a B&B, with 4 guest rooms, each with private bath, A/C, WiFi, lakeside deck, refrigerator, microwave and satellite TV. 1 room fully handicap-accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl Of Seneca Lake Hotel Dundee
The Pearl Of Seneca Lake Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing