We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a place to sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dunkirk
sheldon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a place to sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

an average place to stay for a night. be sure to get the rate in writing at check in. the rooms are tidy and the pool looked nice. there are restaurants in walking distance and a shopping mall across the road convenient access to the highway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dustin R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to our area. Did you have a problem with the rate when you checked out of the hotel? We print the rate for your room, and have you sign, when you check in. This allows the guest a chance to review the rates given vs. the rate in the computer. The issue with rate discrepancy is almost nil, but it could happen on occasion. Please let me know if you were charged anything other than what you signed for on your registration card and I will be more than happy to adjust your bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    111
    53
    35
    22
See reviews for
126
76
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our room in this "totally non-smoking" hotel smelled horribly of smoke. When I called the front desk to let them know - all she said was "okay." Tough luck for me, I guess. To make matters worse, the A/C didn't really work properly - kept shutting off (hot and smelling of cigarettes - ick!) - and the internet, although free, didn't have a strong enough signal to make it useful. For $159+, this should be a significantly better experience.

Room Tip: Make sure it doesn't smell of smoke!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SignoraTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunkirk hotels

Schenectady, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We always try to stay at this hotel when visiting my son at SUNY Fredonia. Get annoyed that they raise price significantly during "peak" times like start and end of school year, holidays, etc. Other than that great hotel--clean, friendly, convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavetheRave6
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Way overpriced for the area not to mention blankets and comforter not clean. DAUGHTER HAD SEVERE REACTION! Best Westerns are just too inconsistent! Hampton Inn is far superior! Never again. Internet stinks. This is not a "Best Western Plus" its a MINUS! Not even an elevator!

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavetheRave6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I was very let down. I stayed here for four weeks in march.

1. The internet was practically unusable. It was so bad I was unable to Skype with my family.

2. There is no elevator. Lugging my bags up the steps every week was lovely. /sarcasm.

3. Staff was mostly nice. Screwed up my tax exempt form once.

4. No gym.

5. Breakfast was adequate. Very boring tho. Nothing new echo day.

Overall, I was let down. Its the best option in the area though.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wareham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is just a standard Best Western - no frills - yet we paid more than any other place in our 10 nights of travel. Reason I'm sure was college graduation nearby. Being overcharged just leaves a bad taste, but otherwise it's an ok place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olean, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great value for services and price. Appreciated friendly and helpful customer service from staff. Enjoyed warm pool and hot tub after a cold day outdoors. Beds looked and smelled clean. Quiet and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkirk
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Dunkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
Clarion Hotel Dunkirk
#3 of 4 in Dunkirk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
16.4 mi away
Holiday Motel Westfield
Holiday Motel Westfield
#2 of 2 in Westfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
The Spencer Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Chautauqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn
Address: 3912 Vineyard Dr, Dunkirk, NY 14048-3522 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Dunkirk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dunkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dunkirk & Fredonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunkirk And Fredonia Inn
Best Western Dunkirk & Fredonia Hotel Dunkirk
Dunkirk And Fredonia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing