We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lake dirty hotel”
Review of Big Moose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Moose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eagle Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This hotel is in a great spot but in major need of updating. The bedding is old and smelly. The king bed is actually 2 twins put together with an unfitted queen size sheet. We are both small and each had a hard time using the tiny dirty shower. The hall carpets were stained. We stayed in a front room and had to close our windows because the staff and guests used the front porch to smoke all day and night below our window. Dinner was good and the restaurant seemed nice at night. When we went to breakfast we were able to see how dirty it was. The plates and tables had noticeable food stuck on them. The worst part was the ceiling in the bar. The whole thing was covered with business cards stuck with toothpicks. They may think this is charming but it was a major fire hazard! The lake is beautiful and we brought our own kayaks to use so we did have a nice time. It was not what we expected when we saw the website and definitely not worth the price!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 3kat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed one night during our NY vacation here at the Big Moose Inn. We had planned to stay in Old Forge, but heard some good comments about the Big Moose Inn while visiting the Old Forge visitors center. So, off we go 14 miles up the road to the Big Moose. Most of the 14 miles was a curvey, winding road. Interesting driving for a Floridian. While we were offered a room w/the bathroom down the hall, we opted for a (upcharge) room with the bathroom actually in the room. The rooms were ok, clean and tidy. The comfortable bed allow me a good nights sleep. Our room overlooked the lake which was an amazing sight early am. We slept w/the windows open as it was a cool night. We enjoyed the complementory breakfast and then a relaxing canoe ride on the river. while our companion couple enjoyed the paddle boat. One important note is there is no/ or little wifi/ wireless service at the Inn. and limited channels on the TV. Neither of which was of importance to me. Wish we could have stayed longer and explored more of the area.

Room Tip: aarp/aaa discounts. i believe all rooms are lakefront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimdeb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Big Moose Inn is an old Adirondack lodge pretty well stuck away from civilization. Our third floor room was large with a fantastic view of the lake. There were about half a dozen canoes and kayaks available, with paddles and PFDs in all sizes. No swimming beach to speak of. Large front porch, plenty of chairs, and a couple of gazebos on the lake. The continental breakfast had the usual ... pastries, juice, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt ... with real china and silverware. In short, the inn has everything you need to just kick back and relax.

We didn't eat in the dining room, but went out to a restaurant in Old Forge instead. Apparently that was a mistake -- everyone seems to rave about the food at the Inn. Next time we'll try it.

A couple of tips. This is an old building with no elevator and narrow staircases. Not the place where you want to bring several large suitcases. And we found out that the room rates quoted over the phone were less than on their website.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My husband and I were on a road trip and came across the Big Moose Inn. Where to start.....The location is fantastic. The staff was top notch in every way. I can't say enough about every person we dealt with. This is a very old building in need of repair. They are trying, but it was the little things that could have made a difference. There was broken glass on the deck (not from the same day), dried up plants under the benches and chairs on the porch (it looked as if someone had intentions of planting, but lost interest), moldy hummingbird feeders hanging, glass and cigarette butts in the fire pit, a broken screen in the dining room, a slimy shower curtain, and a coffee machine in need of a good cleaning in the morning. As I said, all of these things wouldn't take much of an effort. There is a huge difference from the lakeside rooms and the rooms across the hall. The lakeside rooms were roomy and quite nice, while we had a tiny room with a squeaky double bed at the rate of $150! Our room was clean. There was a metal piece hanging off the front of the heater and something had been spilled on it. The bathroom was clean aside from the slimy shower curtain. We had a very old, small claw foot tub and our shower surrounded the tub.
Our entree was great. The service was exceptional. We heard the party next to us complaing about cold side dishes. Our dinners arrived next and our beans were warm and our potato was stone cold in the middle. The problem should have been fixed. Again, our entree was terrific. Having said all of this would I go back? As strange as it may sound, probably yes. It is a unique and different property. We've stayed in many places such as this over the years so I certainly understand the "charm" of an old building. I wish them success - I can't imagine the undertaking of such a place. I hope they get it together to "spit shine" the property. My best advice? Book it and give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peggywestshokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Definitely needs updating....overhead fans for one! We just visited the Big Moose Inn and was definitely disappointed from the start. For the price, the rooms are very old, 2 beds put together to make a "king", TV had no remote, no coffee in the rooms, and no mention of no A/C until we arrived. We definitely came at a hot time of the year, but should have been told that there was no a/c. The managers were not very accommodating to the guests that were staying there; seemed to be more interested in the guests of the restaurant. The restaurant was very good, though and very busy.

Room Tip: Ask for the a/c rooms on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Advisor038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Had a lovely time at this charming hotel situated on the shore of the Big Moose Lake. The food was terrific (although breakfast is a little sparse). the view is priceless, but the best thing about this establishment is the superb service provided by the exceedingly professional staff. This is the new owners' first season and judging by the stay we experienced, they have a winner on their hands.

One thing to be aware of - some of the rooms with a lake view get a lot of noise from the dining area, both the restaurant and the outside deck, which can be a problem. When we asked if there was a quieter room available we were immediately accommodated, at no extra charge. Now that's impressive!

We definitely plan a return visit in the winter to try out the numerous snowshoe trails in the area. Can't wait to sit in the cozy lobby in front of a blazing fire.

Kudos to the new owners and good luck.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My partner is a retired 5 star chef, and for the first time in a very long time, even he was impressed with the food. We ate dinner 3 nights in a row, and were amazed each night at the quality of food and atmosphere. Our room was clean, and the Inn is run by the husband and wife team; wonderfully devoted young couple that are giving it their all. And it shows. A special treat was to have a doe and her fawn approach me very gracefully and take a piece of bread from my hand, and then lick my hand. She let me pet her nose, too. Beautiful, quiet, with docks, and boats for use. (And a marina right next door with bait and motor boat rentals at well). Tons of adirondack trails close by. What an absolutely great, wonderful time. I hope I get to eat like that again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saundeesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Bay
6.0 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#4 of 6 in Inlet
173 reviews
4.2 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
135 reviews
8.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
194 reviews
8.7 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
6.2 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Moose Inn

Address: 1510 Big Moose Rd, Eagle Bay, NY 13331-2107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Eagle Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eagle Bay
Price Range: £93 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Moose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Big Moose Inn is located on picturesque Big Moose Lake in the central Adirondacks. This peaceful and relaxing setting is a perfect summer getaway that allows you to feel at home without all of the extra stresses of your daily life. The Adirondack Mountains surrounding the Big Moose Inn offer great summer fun, especially on it's bountiful lakes mid-summer. After a day of hiking, horseback riding, boating or Adirondack fishing, kick off your boots and sit by the Big Moose Inn fireplace or wood-stove and enjoy the ambiance, the food, the ale and our Adirondack lake country inn. This peaceful and relaxing setting is the perfect Adirondack getaway that allows you to feel at home without all of the extra stresses of your daily life. Amenities: • Complimentary Continental Breakfast (typically includes baked goods, jam, fruit, and coffee) • Free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access • Complimentary use of Canoes, Kayaks • Complimentary Dock Space • Swim Beach • TV/DVD/Keurig Coffee Makers • Family Friendly • On site Lakefront Casual Fine Dining Restaurant and Tavern Sorry, no pets allowed. For boarding options please call. During the warm summer months you can cap off your day by relaxing on the porch in one of our rocking chairs. After the sun has set you can mingle with the other guests next to our bonfire and listen for the sounds of the loons on the lake. The Big Moose Inn offers free use of our canoes and kayaks to all of our overnight guests. If a game of checkers is more your speed, why not enjoy them on our floating gazebo dock, one of three docks the Big Moose Inn offers our guests. Check us out on Facebook for additional summers specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Big Moose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Moose Hotel Eagle Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing