We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our anniversary stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Moose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Big Moose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eagle Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our anniversary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We had an awesome stay, food was great, the spinach artichoke dip was very good. Our room was clean and cozy. Service was best of all, very friendly staff and laid-back. The inn's position on the lake is perfect for relaxing and taking canoes out for a paddle.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    47
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
24
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Champlain, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at big Moose the week before last. Very quiet, comfortable spot. Staff were friendly and dinner(s) were top notch. First stay with current owners. Certainly is improved. Great location to experience the "Adirondacks".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul3874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This inn is very special-- simple clean rooms-- some with nice lake views, a very good restaurant and a well stocked bar...and a quaint stone chapel with a fire place... right next door-- it is cozy, ADK mom and pop at its best... EASY and Convenient.. we were visiting for a wedding in Old Forge and wanted to stay a little bit out of the mainstream..

Visited after labor day--- you are paying for location and convenience-- good food good service-- rooms are ok-- location is ideal-- romantic get away potential-- outdoor rec potential is exceptional

Classic ADK Inn experience.. If you are lakeside, in season, the loons will wake you. Enjoy a simple continental breakfast-- do a little paddle boating, canoeing or bird watching and coffee on the deck overlooking the lake ...Take an easy 3 mile hike around Moss lake.. head back for a nap or make the drive to Inlet for some shopping or up to the Museum at Blue Mountain Lake.. Great location..! Quiet....

If you are a high maintenance guest looking for Marriott/Hilton with concierge and bellman ...this is not for you... If you want suitable, lakeside, friendly, congenial, clean and convenient ...with great food and cozy bar.... this is the place..

Room Tip: Third floor is a hike-- no elevator--- but rooms with a view in the trees.. great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosierbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Bays
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

There is a persistent smell that I couldn't identify in this very old inn who is not cheap at least.A dead moose maybe long time ago?Rooms are very basic ,with paper thin walls and the bathroom appliances are from the 1950-1960 era(-please don't jump inside rooms maybe you will end up on lower floor and rooms are shaking!)Breakfast is a JOKE-some children cereals,boiled eggs -hard stone,bagels from freezer ,some jam,some fruits from cans and something black close to coffee color but far from taste.Didn't try dinner -prices was in 28-35$ range for a plate and the smell was omnipresent from entrance to upper floor.(that dead moose I told you about)Rooms scream UPDATE,hotel scream UPDATE, the video posted on their website being a streaming live is a recording actually.The lake is much overcrowded everybody seems to take advantage from lake and has small business around so I imagine summer time is far from "rustic" maybe more " touristic"!There are much better options if you care about that lake if not the villages around have much much better accommodations and you can rent any type of boat you want.I never seen in my life so many unhappy client faces in this inn.If you are over 60 and you had an old grand-mother not very wealthy this place will remind you of her and you will feel great and "rustic" if you are below 50 ,40 or 30 do yourself a favor and find something better!You will find believe me! Staff is OK ,lake is OK too but the place itself needs a tear down and rebuild more likely!

Room Tip: My tip for finding a good room-try the villages around!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danico22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at Big Moose Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
It is most unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We read all comments and feedback from our guests and do our best to respond to all. Ideally we would hope that our guests make us aware of any issues or inconveniences while they are still on property, so we may have the opportunity to rectify any situation and ensure that enjoy their visit with us. We're sorry we did not get that chance with you.

Mark & Susan Mayer
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondack NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Not a fancy place but clean and very friendly staff. Had a great view from room 19 on 3 rd floor. Breakfast was continental but very adequate. The owner was very accommodating and is interested in making your stay a good one. Had use of canoes and kayaks which we love to do. The restaurant was excellent and our server was the best. We plan on returning to Big Moose Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purdymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I moved away from the Utica area 13 years ago and have not been back to enjoy the Adirondacks. My husband has never spent much time in this area of upstate NY and attending a wedding in Inlet was the perfect excuse to introduce him to Big Moose. The ownershipmhas changed in the past few years but not the rustic ambience, service, and personal attention. Do not expect Internet and cell phone coverage but local calls can be made on their house phone. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning but we chose to go into Inlet for a full,breakfast and stop at the donut shop on Rt 28 for hot cinnamon donuts. Our room was on the third floor and a bit of a climb. But we had a great view of the lake and even though the room was air conditioned, we had beautiful weather and enjoyed having the windows open to hear the loons every morning. The bathroom is small and serviceable. Nothing fancy and the decor could use some upgrading. But it is The Aderondacks and fancy is not the fare. We missed the Sat afternoon water skiing show out on the lake. Did not have a chance to eat in the dining room. My husband was impressed with their selection of first rate Scotch Whiskey behind the bar. I am sure this is still the place to be while taking a break from snowmobiling in the winter. It was great to be back in the Aderondacks.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the third floor overlooking the lake. The corner room would be my first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMac28046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a great view of the lake from our room. We were on the third floor, no elevator so a lot of steps to carry luggage up. The inn is old, but in great shape considering. They had canoes and kayaks available for your use. The restaurant had very good food. Breakfast buffet was okay. No cell service but they allowed us to use their phone as needed. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Bay
9.9 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
6.2 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Moose Inn

Property: Big Moose Inn
Address: 1510 Big Moose Rd, Eagle Bay, NY 13331-2107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Eagle Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eagle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Moose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Big Moose Inn is located on picturesque Big Moose Lake in the central Adirondacks. This peaceful and relaxing setting is a perfect summer getaway that allows you to feel at home without all of the extra stresses of your daily life. The Adirondack Mountains surrounding the Big Moose Inn offer great summer fun, especially on it's bountiful lakes mid-summer. After a day of hiking, horseback riding, boating or Adirondack fishing, kick off your boots and sit by the Big Moose Inn fireplace or wood-stove and enjoy the ambiance, the food, the ale and our Adirondack lake country inn. This peaceful and relaxing setting is the perfect Adirondack getaway that allows you to feel at home without all of the extra stresses of your daily life. Amenities: • Complimentary Continental Breakfast (typically includes baked goods, jam, fruit, and coffee) • Free Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access • Complimentary use of Canoes, Kayaks • Complimentary Dock Space • Swim Beach • TV/DVD/Keurig Coffee Makers • Family Friendly • On site Lakefront Casual Fine Dining Restaurant and Tavern Sorry, no pets allowed. For boarding options please call. During the warm summer months you can cap off your day by relaxing on the porch in one of our rocking chairs. After the sun has set you can mingle with the other guests next to our bonfire and listen for the sounds of the loons on the lake. The Big Moose Inn offers free use of our canoes and kayaks to all of our overnight guests. If a game of checkers is more your speed, why not enjoy them on our floating gazebo dock, one of three docks the Big Moose Inn offers our guests. Check us out on Facebook for additional summers specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Big Moose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Moose Hotel Eagle Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing