We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Outdoorsy Family Vacation”
Review of Covewood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eagle Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Covewood Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eagle Bay
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Outdoorsy Family Vacation”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We have been Covewood "regulars" for 11 years. The beauty of Covewood is just that...the beauty. The lodging is rustic, and pretends to be nothing else. The serenity of the grounds, the breathtaking views of Big Moose Lake, the sound of loon calls at night, the early morning fog lifting from the water and sunny breezy afternoons make the Covewood experience what it is. Our time there is a real "time out" -- we unplug and refresh, and are never bored without our phones, tv's, computers. ( But for those who must Wifi is available in the main lodge.) Our kids meet other kids through the organized children's program, and are gone most of the day playing capture the flag, hiking, swimming, water-skiing, looking for frogs, making sand castles, swinging in the hammock. They come back with huge appetites and hit the pillow hard. They leave Covewood counting the days until they can return next year. Covewood is for people who love the outdoors, can enjoy the campy lodging, and are looking for an authentic Adirondack vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avocado13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    4
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
32
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Oh my god, if you are looking for a cozy little place that will warm you from the inside out then Covewood is the place for you. However if you are one of those big city little girls that can't stand to be out of the woods and have to be in a limo then get out of here. When i first arrived at Covewood i was struck by the natural beauty of the place and my wife had to literally wring the camera out of my hands to have me stop taking pictures. Once arrived the manager came out to greet us with a big high five and an even bigger smile. We arrived at our rooms to find a perfectly wonderful cottage complete with two bathrooms and three rooms. Sufficient to say our stay at Covewood was absolutely fabulous and I will vouch for it with my life. Also if you do not like Covewood then that is too bad because you are missing out on an absolutely wonderful experience. Though how you cannot like Covewood is an absolute mystery. Au revoir.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbnifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I've been going to Covewood since I was a child, and now bring my own kids there. The setting could not be more beautiful. The lake and the mountains and the woods are fantastic. It's incredibly peaceful, with lots of fun outdoor activities, and a great kids' program. The lodge and the cabins are rustic, but comfortable. Like the daughter of the person who posted below, I've traveled quite a bit, and Covewood is one of my favorite places in the world. If you're looking to stay in a generic room surrounded by malls, you won't like it here. But if you love nature and getting outdoors, you'll love it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cobblehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This was our first year at Covewood - of what we hope to be many more!! We have stayed at other accomadations in the area and at other lakes and resorts for more than 10 years searching for the perfect spot...this is IT!
The lodge is beautiful and the views are wonderul. Our cottage was comfortable and more than adequate.
The staff was wonderful! Our kids had such a great time and cannot wait to return.
The lodge and grounds have so much to do that I think the list of what we didn't have time to do is longer than the list of things we did do.
The peace and relaxation was amazing!! No cell service, no TV, no phone in our cottage meant that we kept busy with the outdoors and each other and never missed these things - - something I wish we could do more often.
This is not a resort with every bell & whistle that you have at home but it does have everything you need for a wonderful time with your family in a beautiful natural setting.
I have recommended it to many friends in the short time since we have returned home.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hallmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Metro, MI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Though very quaint, appearances were deceiving. I should have been wary by the lack of pictures and descriptions of the rooms. The "convertible bed" turned out to be an older, folded futon-style couch that when unfolded was approx. a double sized mattress on the floor. My husband and I tried this as an alternative to the twin beds which were very hard. We tried lying on it both ways and neither would have been suitable for sleeping. I imagine that only small children would be content to sleep on this "convertible bed". In the bathroom, the hand-held shower device was broken at the faucet and could not be used. Even though there were several windows in the room, there was no air circulation when they were all opened. This made for a very stuffy room. An oscillating fan could have helped. We both woke up sweaty and stiff and very unhappy. When we mentioned these issues with the inn-keeper, she was very dismissive and rather rude, and did not offer any apology or reparation. Needless to say, we will not be staying at the Covewood Lodge again, and will advise friends and family to avoid it also. How unfortunate when taking into consideration the absolutely beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecovey, owner at Covewood Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2009
In response to this reviewer's comments I would first like to say that our customer's comfort is of primary importance to us. All of the issues mentioned would have been corrected within minutes if we had been informed of the problem and if fact were corrected immediately. The comment about rudeness is absolutely not true. I was standing at the front desk when the guest checked out and the front desk manager was very apologetic and tried to say that we would have gladly taken care of any of these issues had we been informed. The guest did not give the clerk time to apologize and in fact threw the money at her and stomped out. As many reviewers state Covewood is not for everyone, but given a chance we feel we can offer a unique and special vacation experience to those who are looking for something other than the generic and sterile atmosphere of a ordinary motel. Since 95% of our business is repeat and we have been in business for over 50 years,we must be doing something right --sink stoppers aside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We recently had a family reunion at Big Moose Lake and the lodge we stayed at didn't have enough rooms for everyone, so I arranged for my daughter and her husband to stay at the nearby Covewood. WHAT A MISTAKE THAT WAS! The bed was terrible, the worst ever according to my daughter who has travelled all over the world. The hand -held shower device was rusted and fell off in her hand. When they complained about the situation, the clerk was VERY arrogant and abrupt with them. I would NOT advise staying there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michail99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quahog, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Covewood is not for everyone, which is why you have to get on a waiting list to get some of the bookings for the busiest summer weeks. Quite frankly, Covewood is not the place for you if you are looking for a "hotel" experience. It is rustic and outdated in many ways. Many things are worn out and year after year people tell the owners not to change a thing, because those of us who have been coming up to Covewood for years love it that way. I can see how it might put you off if you are not accustomed to it. It is a special place run by special people! It is like staying at a friends house, you take what they offer and you grow to appreciate it. The charm of the place is the setting on the lake and the truely wonderful personalities of the owners and staff. If you are looking for a place where life seems to slow down a bit and families recharge their batteries and actually spend time doing things together, where you are close to nature (bear and deer walk by the back porch nearly every night) and you don't have to tell the kids to turn off the tv or get off their cell phone (no tv's in the cottages or lodge rooms and no cell service) then this is your vacation. My family has been going to Covewood for 30 years and we barely miss a summer. If you want the feeling of owning your own log cabin on a lake, fresh doughnuts delivered to your cabin twice a week and checking out ice cream from the freezer on "the honor system" (in this day and age no less) Covewood is your place, It is our home away from home. It is not like staying at a hotel, the owners and staff become your friends, they call you by first name and you do the same. The other families who share the week with you typically "get it" or they don't get the Christmas letter inviting them back for the upcoming summer. So bring your bug spray and get ready for the weekly campfire (only if you want to sing along or tell stories) bring a dish to pass for the weekly pot luck "Covewood Picnic" and grab a comfortable chair on the porch to read a good book. If that is not what you are looking for, Covewood is not your place, but it is a place for families, couples and outdoor/nature lovers and hopefully will continue for years to come! If you want a five star experience, stay in the city, or go to a sanitized resort setting, it's ok, you just aren't ready for the "Covewood Experience" Oh yeah, in regards to the "fitness center" question below ...with hundreds of miles of hiking trails and a lake at your door step to swim, canoe, waterski or kayak in...Who needs a fitness center?

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RIfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Bay
0.0 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covewood Lodge

Property: Covewood Lodge
Address: Eagle Bay, NY
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Eagle Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eagle Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic Inn which offers year-round outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Covewood Hotel Eagle Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing