We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wholesome wonderful family environment and experience”
Review of Covewood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eagle Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Covewood Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eagle Bay
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I discovered Covewood on Big Moose Lake in the mid-80's. Took our children and their friends back summer after summer and now my children and their children return summer after summer with their friends and children. Year after year our kids who were adolescents for several of those years never wanted to leave. No telephone, TV or radio or cellphones and they still hated leaving. Covewood gets into your blood so that the year is measured by how close you are to returning for its bliss and beauty. Everyone I ever told about Covewood became as addicted to it as we were. The natural beauty of the woods and lake and the rustic cabins with all the conveniences necessary make the stay at Covewood idyllic. Kids learned to waterski at the patient hands of Major and Di Bowes. All the boating and recreational needs of any family are available to all. The smells, the scenery, the joy of everyone there, the animals from the chipmunks who we hand fed peanuts to, to the black bears that Major makes sure are well fed and safe from humans are all part of the Covewood experience. You meet up with friends that you've made over the years, be they staff, Bowes family or other vacationers. Covewood has provided this family with the most wonderful family times of our lives and we are always yearning to return. There is no better, more wholesome and rewarding vacation site than Covewood Lodge on Big Moose Lake.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuffaloRealestatepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Covewood Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2009

Covewood Lodge has been our family vacation for 5 years now and will continue to be for at least another 10. It is beautiful and the wildlife is amazing. The kids love the beach and feeding deer and chipmonks, in fact, we go through about 8 lbs. of peanuts packed for them each year. The staff is very friendly and helpful which really makes you feel at home, that is, if your home was in the middle of beatiful trees, ferns, deer lakes and bears.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BML2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Wonderful location on Big Moose Lake with very caring and hospitable owners and staff. Very family friendly with all sorts of waterfront activities. Comfortable cottages spread amongst a tree lined waterfront with gorgeous mountain and river views and evenings spent seeing and listening to the Loons that inhabit the lake. Few power boats/jet skis spoil the solitude of this special place. We have returned 4 years in a row with family and childrens friends and love it more each year. Spent 7/8 years as a youth here with my parents and siblings 34 years ago. If you are looking for a comfortable, quiet and relaxing time away from a hectic lifestyle this is the place. We all look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baze75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

2009 was our 3rd annual family trip to Covewood. We absolutely love this place. The people are wonderful, the accomadations are roomy and most of all the scenery is gorgeous.

Our kids (4/2) cry every time we leave and can't wait to go abck the following year.

The staff are always great and the other guests are very friendly.

Look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobduggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We were in the area for my wife's family reunion. The remainder of the family had stayed in other locations along the lake. The actual reunion was taking place at another lodge further down the lake. It was the only place in the area with room available and we sure could tell why. The other locations in the area (which were nicer, better kept, and above all CLEAN) were less costly that Covewood also. The only way to really describe the room is to compare it to a boarding house with Salvation Army furniture. Perfectly fine for a $40/night room but not for $135/night.

Travelers take warning...everything gets progressively worse the more time you are there. It is a beautiful area and breathtaking scenery greets you the entire trip to Covewood. Then you drive down the dirt road to get to the "lodge" and "cabins" (run down building and sheds) and you start thinking "...ok it is a lodge on the lake and it is $135/night so inside it must be nice". You park and walk in and see the common areas with the rips in the screens, dusty/dirty floors as well as any flat surfaces and the thoughts turn to "...hmmm hopefully the rooms are nice and the staff is really friendly". Then you get to the room and realize that ex-cons living in 1/2 way houses would ask to go back to jail if forced to live in a room such as the one we encountered. We were extremely thankful for indoor plumbing at this point. See the list below for the nightmare that was our room...

slide latch lock that barely kept the door closed never mind secure
broken hand held shower device that was encased in sediment deposits and discolored with rust
a toilet that had to be flushed 5 times when anything more than a sheet of toilet paper was in it
dressers with dust and dead bugs in every other drawer
cobwebs and dead bugs in the window sills and light fixtures.
the most uncomfortable mattresses you can imagine
linens probably from when the place was opened
no fans or source of air circulation at all

The next day when checking out the 2 women (which matched the title for this review) working the check-in/check-out desk made us stand there holding our bags while chatting away with each other not even acknowledging our presence. We tell them about the disgusting nature of the room and the reply is "...there is $13 tax on the room, will you be paying with cash?" It was at that point I decided I needed to warn everyone possible about this establishment.

BEWARE!!! THERE ARE REASONS THERE ARE NOT PICTURES OF THE ROOMS ON THEIR SITE. IF YOU SEE THEM AHEAD OF TIME YOU WILL LAUGH LOUDLY AND MOVE ON TO ONE OF THE DOZENS OF LODGES, HOTELS, AND MOTOR LODGES IN THE AREA!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shaftmastr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We have been Covewood "regulars" for 11 years. The beauty of Covewood is just that...the beauty. The lodging is rustic, and pretends to be nothing else. The serenity of the grounds, the breathtaking views of Big Moose Lake, the sound of loon calls at night, the early morning fog lifting from the water and sunny breezy afternoons make the Covewood experience what it is. Our time there is a real "time out" -- we unplug and refresh, and are never bored without our phones, tv's, computers. ( But for those who must Wifi is available in the main lodge.) Our kids meet other kids through the organized children's program, and are gone most of the day playing capture the flag, hiking, swimming, water-skiing, looking for frogs, making sand castles, swinging in the hammock. They come back with huge appetites and hit the pillow hard. They leave Covewood counting the days until they can return next year. Covewood is for people who love the outdoors, can enjoy the campy lodging, and are looking for an authentic Adirondack vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avocado13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Oh my god, if you are looking for a cozy little place that will warm you from the inside out then Covewood is the place for you. However if you are one of those big city little girls that can't stand to be out of the woods and have to be in a limo then get out of here. When i first arrived at Covewood i was struck by the natural beauty of the place and my wife had to literally wring the camera out of my hands to have me stop taking pictures. Once arrived the manager came out to greet us with a big high five and an even bigger smile. We arrived at our rooms to find a perfectly wonderful cottage complete with two bathrooms and three rooms. Sufficient to say our stay at Covewood was absolutely fabulous and I will vouch for it with my life. Also if you do not like Covewood then that is too bad because you are missing out on an absolutely wonderful experience. Though how you cannot like Covewood is an absolute mystery. Au revoir.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbnifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Bay
4.2 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
131 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#4 of 6 in Inlet
169 reviews
29.3 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
62 reviews
53.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covewood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covewood Lodge

Address: Eagle Bay, NY
Region: United States > New York > Eagle Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eagle Bay
Price Range: £74 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic Inn which offers year-round outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Covewood Hotel Eagle Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing