We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for”
Review of The Waldheim

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eagle Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Waldheim
NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This all-inclusive is just what we were looking for. Time was getting short and we were looking for a spot to meet up with family coming in from the other direction, 6 hours for us and 9 hours for them. We spent the long Columbus Day weekend arriving on Friday and leaving on Monday. Any other venues in the area I checked didn't have availability that weekend. We have stayed at many all-inclusive properties and like the concept of no worry once you're there and that's what we had at the Waldheim. Food and dining service was very good and the area was beautiful. Cabins appearance are rustic but very comfortable inside with a nice wood burning fireplace. Just be careful, you have to think about how to break down your tip as they give you a 15 and 20% break down but that's based on your total stay. That is to say if you had a great waitress at the dining hall the tip suggestion they give of 15% or 20% is based on your room too. You may want to break it up differently for the "wood boy", housekeeping and your waitress. All and all we had a wonderful time at a very nice place to stay. Old Forge, NY is 15 minutes away and a "touristy" town to visit.

Room Tip: We only seen our cabin from the inside but all the others have a similar location. Check online for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zlatnariba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our first visit to the Waldheim and the Adirondacks. The majority of the other guests were repeat visitors and it was family tradition to go year after year. The staff and other guests were extremely friendly. It was really nice to go without the TV, phone, internet, cell, etc. for the week. Our kids, 9, 7, 5 and 6 mos really enjoyed the trip as did my wife and I. The setting is beautiful. Due to the wet weather this year the bugs were awful, but I can't blame the Waldheim for that. We really enjoyed the American Plan that the Waldheim adheres to. The food at every meal was fantastic. We stayed in the Whipsaw cabin which is in the North Bay. It is further away from the dining hall, office, boat house, etc so you get to enjoy more tranquility. There are many nice hikes within a 10-20 minute drive. The lake was fantastic for swimming, fishing and kayaking. If you are new to the Waldheim you may want to ask about things like the Wednesday picnic, Friday night bonfire, ordering things that weren't on the menu for kids, etc. Were not the type to go to the same vacation spot year after year but the Waldheim might be an exception to this rule.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This was our first trip to the Waldheim, but it will not be our last. What a wonderful place - nice cabins on Big Moose Lake with a fire made for you everyday; full American plan; and lots of swimming, boating, hiking and relaxing. The guests and staff were very friendly - most of which have been at the Waldheim for decades. A truly unique and lovely place. Bring insect repellent and sun screen.

Room Tip: Cabins on North Bay are set away from the other cabins, which provides more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NY_Huns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our kind of place. Good clean fun in a family atmosphere where you get to know the other families in a meaningful way. We water ski, hike, tube, swim, and since it's private and in the Adirondacks, it always feels like our place. The food is great and 3 meals a day are included. And the proprietors have been there forever and no their kids have taken over. I could write a lot more but you get the picture.

Room Tip: We stay in the "Loft" beause it's the only one with Internet access. The other cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigershark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Waldheim is a rarity these days. Clean, comfortable cabins, full American Plan in a common dining room, wait service, cabin service, wood service, right on a beautiful lake. My family has been going for 29 years!

What's so special you ask?
It's rustic. This is not a 5-star hotel in a big city. Instead, The Waldheim gives you a beautiful place in the woods on a very special lake. The cabins range from 1-5 bedrooms. They all have a living room, a porch, a fireplace and refrigerator to store beverages. There is no radio, no TV, no telephone (except at the office) no internet (except at the office) and no cellular service. There is good lighting to read a book in the evening and a place to plug in your favorite music device. There is cabin service each day who come in to make the beds, clean the bathroom(s) and sweep up. There is wood service, too. Every morning, the fireplace is loaded up and started to take off the morning chill. Wood is kept fully stocked along with kindling, newspapers and matches for you to start it up again in the evening if it's cool. Someone comes around with a bell to wake you up in time so you don't miss breakfast.

What about the food?
Three meals a day are served in the common dining room. Breakfast is wonderful series of choices from fruit, home-made granola, oatmeal, pancakes or french toast (both served with real maple syrup). There are two choices of entrees at lunch and dinner. Overall, the food is always freshly prepared and high quality. You do have to arrive between 8 and 9 for breakfast, 1 and 2 for lunch and 6 and 7 for dinner. If you know you are planning a day hike or car trip the next day, the staff is happy to prepare a picnic for you to pickup at breakfast the next morning.

Is all you do is eat?
The lake offers good swimming, canoeing, kayaking, water skiing (if you have a boat - if you don't, there is a place you can rent one). Hiking trails abound within a half-hour drive. There are several docks. There are lots of places to sit and read or talk with people you've met. There's a volleyball net, badminton net and horseshoes. The only organized event is a camp picnic that goes to a local spot with a short hike to whet the appetite, and a fire-cooked lunch of steak, potatoes and pancakes for desert.

My family has met many wonderful people at The Waldheim, some of whom have remained friends for years.

See the pictures posted to get an idea of the beauty of this place.

Room Tip: All the cabins are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you want to vacation in New York's Adirondack Mountains, and stay on a pristine quiet lake, we highly recommend The Waldheim. It's a 10 minute drive from the nearest village; so no tourists will interrupt your relaxation. Their price includes 3 meals daily; an outstanding breakfast along with lunch and dinner. You'll have you own waterfront cabin; many of which were built over 100 years ago in the Adirondack style. The evenings can get cool; a cabin boy will start a wood fire in your fireplace before you awake each morning to take the chill off! Hiking is abundant and nearby; including two trails you can only access by boat. You can bring your own boat, rent one from the marina at the other end of the lake, or rent a kayak or canoe from the Waldheim's boat house.

Their season is short, from mid-June through Columbus Day. In the summer the lake water is warm enough, and in late September the leaves are turning their brillent red, orange, yellow and gold. We've been there twice this year, in July and over Labor Day weekend.

If you want to experience the outdoors of the Adirondacks, and are physically able, this is a great place for parents and older children. Also, since the cabins were built during the time when people rented by the room, not by the cabin, you can share a cabin with your friends. Each bedroom in your cabin is private; each cabin has its own living room, fireplace, bathroom and outdoor porch.

Room Tip: If someone in your group is physically challenged then Cozy might be the best cabin, no stairs. Ivy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SyracuseNYTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My husband and I have gone to the Waldheim for a weekend in the autumn for the last 4 years, and we have a cabin reserved for this coming Sept. Big Moose Lake is spectacular. We bring our canoe, and canoes and kayaks are also available to rent. We have a favorite cabin, which has a bedroom, bathroom, living room, and back porch facing the lake. There's a big stone fireplace. The Waldheim serves 3 meals a day in the beautiful rustic dining hall. The food is delicious (not great for vegetarians) and the servers are very friendly. The owners are very helpful. There are no phones in the cabins, or TVs or radios or cell phone service, and the quiet is just what we need. There are good hiking trails
nearby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SGG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Bay
5.0 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
6.5 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices

Been to The Waldheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waldheim

Property: The Waldheim
Address: 502 Martin Rd, Eagle Bay, NY 13331-2138
Region: United States > New York > Eagle Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Eagle Bay
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing