We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property
This photo is taken from the farmyard opposite Meadow Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This photo is taken from the farmyard opposite Meadow Cottage
ANOTHER FRONTAL VIEW OF MEADOW COTTAGE. THIS IS THE LOUNGE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This photo is taken from the farmyard opposite Meadow Cottage
ANOTHER FRONTAL VIEW OF MEADOW COTTAGE.
THIS IS THE LOUNGE
THIS PHOTO IS OF THE  KITCHEN
SAME AS ABOVE DIFFERENT ANGLE.
THIS IS THE ENTRANCE TO THE 2 ACRE PLAYSAFE FIELD AND PICNIC AREA.
ANOTHER VIEW OF THE KITCHEN.
THE MAIN ENTRANCE TO THE FARMYARD.
THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE DOUBLE BEDROOM OVERLOOKING THE PEAK DISTRICT.
THIS IS A PHOTO OF THE FAMILY ROOM.
THIS IS [ELLIOTT] SHARING A JOKE WITH A CUSTOMER.
THIS IS A PHOTO TAKEN FROM THE LOUNGE OVERLOOKING THE MEADOW AND BEYOND TO THE PEAK DISTRICT
THIS IS THE FULL SIZE BATHROOM.[BATH WITH SHOWER,TOILET WASH HAND BASIN]
THIS IS THE BENCH THAT OVERLOOK'S THE COUNTRYSIDE.
THIS IS A VIEW OF THE 2 ACRE PLAY-SAFE FIELD.
THIS IS THE FARM GARDEN VIEW.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Winkhill, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
semcneill...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well furnished and equipped cottage. A really beautiful area with lots of walks nearby. Also great location for Alton Towers. The owners are lovely and are on site if you need anything.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_Hope_24...
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just come back from staying here for the third year in a row.
The cottages are lovely, well equipped, and perfect for a short countryside getaway. Graham is a very welcoming and friendly host! The countryside around is stunning and you can go on lots of nice walks directly from the cottages or drive for a few minutes for even more walks and things to do.
The cottages have a big field in which you can kick a ball or throw a frisbee around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
thanks for your lovely review so glad you all enjoyed yourselves welcome back anytime regards graham.joyce and amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is the second time I had the chance to enjoy this cottage with a group of friends and I can say on behalf of everyone that we had an amazing stay with some of the nicest nights of the year in this quaint setting. I am very confident that the meadow cottage is the best place to stay in the Staffordshire area and i look forward to returning in the near future! Graham and his family are so helpful and great people to stay next door to even if its just for the night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden area and friendly owners.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow wow wow ”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely stunning peaceful cottage right in the heart of so many different wonderful places and things to do. Graham and Amanda were fantastic hosts (and Elliott the pony) from the moment we arrived to the moment we left helpful but not intrusive. We went with our three children ( 6,5 and 3) and had a wonderful family holiday. Highly recommend and will certainly be going back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhianna D
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful place, lovely owners”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Including myself there were 7 of us who stayed at Meadow Cottage and we all absolutely adored our stay there. We booked for 3 nights but unfortunately had to leave after the second night for personal reasons - Graham was very understanding and it caused no problems.

Graham met us all on our first day with tea and was extremely welcoming and helpful in pointing us to a takeaway as we didn't want to cook that evening. The cottage was clean and stocked with the essentials as well as being very homely. We spent our days and nights in the cottage, having no reason to leave since we'd brought board games (and some were provided too!) and Graham kindly lent us a ball and some cricket equipment to use on the Play Safe Field.

Graham was a wonderful and gracious host and we all really enjoyed our stay. Our only problems were getting signal on our mobiles - though that is of course not Graham's fault! - and using the WiFi, which could be a bit tempermental.

Overall had a fantastic time and would go back! Thank you, Graham!:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess A
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and amazing value”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I have stayed at Broomyshaw cottages 3 times now with different groups of friends. I have stayed in meadow and stable cottages and my friends have stayed in swallow cottage. We absolutely love it here and will definitely be coming back next year for a 4th visit. Graham and his family make you feel very welcome and the cottages are really comfortable and cosy. The prices are great value and the location is amazing, beautiful walks and scenery on the doorstep and Alton towers is a 10 minute drive for those who want a bit more excitement!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainag
1 review
“Great location and very good value.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Owners next door are lovely and even waited up for us arriving at 01:30am.
Thank you Graham!
Location is superb and cottage well equipped although you will need to bring your own towels

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing