We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Taken across the farmyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Taken across the farmyard.
The front of Swallow Cottage. THE FITTED KITCHEN IN SWALLOW COTTAGE.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Taken across the farmyard.
The front of Swallow Cottage.
THE FITTED KITCHEN IN SWALLOW COTTAGE.
THE LOUNGE IN SWALLOW COTTAGE,VERY COMFORTABLE
THE LOUNGE AGAIN.
THE DOUBLE BEDROOM.
THE BATHROOM.
THE RELAXING BENCH TO SIT,SMOKE,AND DAYDREAM.
THIS IS THE MAIDEN TRIP FOR 'THE DUKE OF GLOUCESTER 'ON THE HERITAGE RAILWAY  LINE.certain
THE ENTRANCE TO THE COTTAGE.
ELLIOTT SHARING A JOKE WITH A CUSTOMER.
THE VIEW ACROSS THE FARMYARD.
THE VIEW FROM THE PICNIC AREA.
THE ENTRANCE TO THE PLAY-SAFE FIELD AND PICNIC AREA.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Winkhill, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lyndak1
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Excellent place to stay ,ideal if visiting alton towers ,clean cottage and owners very friendly will be visiting again

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etrudell
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peace in the eye of a storm.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had an excellent stay at Swallow Cottage and would definitely recommend it for someone with teenagers (especially boys) that still needed to run off steam after a day at Alton Towers as there was a field that they could go and play some football until the sun went down. Graham the owner was wonderful in both helping show the property and with his patience with the 4 boys and their energy that went with me. The place was clean and tidy along with it being comfortable to just relax and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How close it was to Alton Towers and the quiet after the visit to Alton Towers
Liked least: Would have liked having a shower instead of a bath.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llllollla
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cute Cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely stay with our sons and dog Lola in the cottage. Graham was very accommodating, great walks, safe area for kids to play. Clean cottage and lovely all round.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciara S
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
“Welcoming and a pleasure to deal with”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Graham was a pleasure to deal with from the very beginning.He and his family were very welcoming and went out of their way to help us in any way they could.The house is very clean and convenient for Alton Towers and after a long day in Alton towers the beds were very comfortable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J_Hope_24...
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic, beautiful property and facilities were just right”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed in this cottage and one next to it with a group of 14 students. We decided to go for a weekend away from Manchester, to get some fresh air and relax before exam season and these cottages were perfect for this, they were immaculately clean, had all the facilities we needed (cooking facilities and space, bathrooms, space to relax). They were also very isolated, which was perfect, meaning we were really away from everything and could properly forget about work! Beautiful views all around the cottages, and lots of places to walk, just a short (20 mins) walk from a bigger town, Waterhouses, with a lovely fish and chips shop (there were other shops, but we just went in the fish and chip shop) Meaning we didn't have to cook every night. The owner was lovely and friendly and I would highly recommend the cottages to anyone!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seraphina...
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cosy cottage, friendly owners”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I stayed at the cottage with my adult children for two days whilst visiting family who live near by. We found the cottage to be very comfortable, cosy, immaculately clean and in a lovely rural setting. The owners were friendly and welcoming and happy for my dad and sister to visit for a couple of hours one evening. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend swallow cottage for anybody looking for a place to stay in the Peak District.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificant”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

4 miles from alton towers, beautiful scenery, extremely safe, true value for money, comfortable, affordable, stayed for the weekend due to daughters 15th birthday @ Alton towers, quite late when arrived but greeted with hospitatilty and reassurance. I have reccommended all cottages at this location to friends & family and am in no doubt this is where i will stay next year, A true winner

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing