We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Gorgeous”

Eastview Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eastview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Garrigill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here in April and absolutely loved it. such a nice welcome and the house is so gorgeous a proper country feel to it and all original features.
Lana the owner was lovely and the village is so nice I will definitely stay there again. I had a great night sleep I did not want to leave. next time I will book for longer than one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Eastview Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

This cosy little B&B on the C2C route provided everything we needed for our overnight stop on our second day. Unfortunately the pub in the village has closed but our three course evening meal was pre-ordered and catered for by a neighbour which was delicious.

The owner, Lana, was so kind and helpful and made us feel at home. It was more like renting a cottage than staying in a B&B and after dinner we watched a DVD in the very comfortable lounge. Lana even picked us up some energy drinks from Alston the next morning and provided our packed lunch for the day. Our bikes were securely stored overnight and there was plenty of hot water which meant we could have a good long soak in the bath to soothe aching muscles. The climb out of Garrigill wasn’t that bad (!) so I totally recommend sticking to the C2C route and going via Garrigill rather than Alston.

On the way to Garrigill we stopped for lunch at The Watermill in Little Salkeld. Although the menu is limited it shows off all the fabulous baked goods the Mill produces and the bread was out of this world. It was interesting to see the working water wheel and there’s also a shop selling the flour that’s ground there. The Mill is well worth a visit for a day out or to join one of the bread making or flour milling courses. It’s in a very picturesque setting and the terracotta walls and blue window surrounds make you feel as if you’re in the Med. Wonderful.

Room Tip: The back room which is a double en-suite has the best views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpernickelYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Wet. Dirty. Tired.
After a long day on a bicycle (doing the magnificent C2C route), the owner knew exactly how to look after my son and I. Clothes hung to dry, bikes locked away, hot bath.
Comfortable night. Delicious breakfast. Perfect
I then made a complete horlicks of having not enough cash to pay our bill......and no cashpoint for miles....and no mobile reception.....and the village having a rare (pre-agreed) power cut... the owner let me ride off this morning with a request to pay her by Paypal when convenient (which I did that same evening)
Wonderful hospitality. Wonderful stop for the night. Wonderful good nature.
Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I arrived early after a long walk over Cross Fell and my welcome was perfunctory to say the least. However, the room (no. 1, overlooking the village green) was lovely, as was the bathroom. An early breakfast was everything I had asked for so no complaints there either.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juneau0_0, Owner at Eastview Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

You are quite right I wasn't at my best when you arrived, unfortunately I had broken my toe a week earlier and was feeling a little worn down with the pain killers, I was hoping It wouldn't be noticed and embarrassed that it was, I am glad you liked the room and my breakfast though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It is impossible not to repeat the praise of other reviewers: a friendly welcome, beautiful house, comfortable and homely accommodation, an excellent breakfast – all so true. We found the village of Garrigill a welcome place to relax after the initial hills, and in retrospect, it was an oasis of calm before the next lots of exertion, although until you start the long climb (push) out of the village, you are blissfully unaware! We enjoyed a meal in the convivial pub and I sat briefly in the living room at EastView afterwards but it is all too comfortable, and I had to retire upstairs before falling asleep by the fire! Lana made us feel so welcome, and staying here was a highlight of our trip. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trytobekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stopped in Garrigill after the walk over Cross Fell from Dufton and were given a very comfortable room with tea and coffee making facilities, a view of the moor behind, a great shower with a large overhead water feature. The lounge is very comfortable with a large screen TV and they have free wifi. The breakfast was the best we have had on the Pennine Way so far and all in all it was excellent value. There is also a great pub a few yards away which does good beer and food.

Room Tip: Choose the room at the back but watch your head on the bathroom door!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here during the July 2013 heatwave arriving after a few hours cycling over the moors. The rooms are super cosy, the owners very welcoming and the pub is just across the village green. So nice to stay in a really quiet village. The pub was reasonably busy and the food was fine. I guess that most people go via Alston which avoids the very steep climb out of Garrigill, but my recommendation would be to come this way. The route to Garrigill is lovely and quiet and you'll feel much prouder to have stuck to the proper route. And I'm a golf fan, so to have Sky HD to watch the Open golf was a real joy. And finally, after we left the pub we were able to sit on the gorgeous B&B lounge relaxing with a final drink. Almost forgot, the owner even washed our cycling clothes for us. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bheald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garrigill
3.5 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
St Johns House
St Johns House
#1 of 1 in Garrigill
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#10 of 14 in Alston
44 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 14 in Alston
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastview Bed and Breakfast

Address: Garrigill, Garrigill CA9 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Garrigill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Garrigill
Price Range: £66 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastview Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastview is a 300 year old stone built cottage set on the edge of the green in the pretty village of Garrigill. It is on the route for the Pennine way walk and the C2C cycle way. There are three bedrooms with one being an en-suite double room. All rooms have TV freesat, tea/coffee making facilities fully central heated. There is also a guest lounge with books, DVDs and games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Eastview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing