We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chilled Out New Year”
other travellers have booked this property
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green First floor lounge room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
The front of Old Smithy situated in the village centre on the village green
The view of the house from the village green
First floor lounge room
First floor lounge room with open fire and wooden floors
First floor lounge room stairs to second floor external door leading to stone steps
First floor lounge room seating for eight
Ground  floor living area beamed ceiling
Ground floor living area multi-fuel stove
Ground floor living and dining area
Ground floor dining and open plan kitchen
Ground floor open plan kitchen, dining and living area
First floor double bedroom door leading to bathroom
First floor double bedroom
Second floor landing area and twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor twin bedroom
Second floor additional single bed on landing area
Second floor double bedroom
Second floor double bedroom
Ground floor double bedroom en-suite shower room
Ground floor ensuite shower room
First floor bathroom, bath and overhead shower
First floor bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Garrigill, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dheaton6
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled Out New Year”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great break just after Christmas and for New Year. Perfect place for us a real homely cottage with loads of space for seven adults and with everything you need to hand for staying in and good eating places a very short drive away or walk if your feeling adventurous. Would definatley recommend and will be visiting again very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Thanks Nicola, glad you enjoyed it.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vikki R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty village”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights-family of 8 ranging from 3-43. For us it was what we needed location wise, village is beautiful, Tiny shop for newspapers, into next town for bigger shop! House was tidy, a bit grubby, but with muddy boots and kids wasn’t too bad. Beds are ok, need some new pillows/bedding- all a bit grubby/old. Our issue was the shower/hot water. House has a tiny water tank, so one bath/one lot of washing up and it’s all gone- upstairs shower makes ALOT of noise when running, isn’t very warm, and isn’t very pleasant. So that meant we were all using the one shower downstairs, which is built into a cupboard in the bedroom. With all of us returning from walks muddy and cold it was a bit of a downer! House is ideal for a short break when there is 8 of you!! I couldn’t imagine staying longer. Would be easier for a smaller group. The location would get 5*. Just feels like house needs a little bit of love, which I appreciate is expensive, but think I was expecting a little more than we found there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2017
Thanks for the review, we are continually updating as we go along and have just completed a kitchen update and added a dishwasher. We also replaced the shower with an electric one so there is now continuous hot showers in the bathroom and also the shower downstairs. We update bedding, duvets and pillows periodically and think that for a group of 8 paying less than £15 per person per night is terrific value.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria ele...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely and confortable place”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

we have spent 3 days in the house and the north. house was really comfortable and big enough for a family of 5. just some of the kitchen tools were not proper clean and some bulbs broken.. but in any case i would recommend it for families that loves countryside and a quite place to forget stressful life in the city! looking forward to see you again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay, we will be updating very shortly and rectifying things like bulbs, thanks for the feedback and see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dream6724...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Old Smithy”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks. 3 adults and 4 children from 6 months to 12yrs old. Accomodation was fine, however the stairs were a bit steep for young children. Some of the fixtures looked a bit tired and the beds were not very comfortable. However the location was lovely and the locals were really helpful and kind. On the whole a good price and adequate accomodation. We didnt meet the owners but Paul was polite and helpful with queries about the rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks for the review, we are updating the property all the time, most of the beds have new mattresses this year, so it could just be they are not comfortable compared to your own bed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Aug 2017
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed it.
Thanks Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DamiWish
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, spacious house for a large group!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Old Smithy is in the centre of petite and tranquil village full of friendly people. We were a party of 10 Sri Lankans and had all the room and amenities we required. Our four kids had ample space to run and play all day long.There is so much to explore in the surrounds it doesn't get even a little bit boring.We really enjoyed the 1 hour drive to Lake District in treacherous roads covered in mist. Lovely relaxing stay, able to cook our own food and loved the quiet setting. Paul is a great host and very helpful. I highly recommend this venue to all families who are looking for a pleasurable, entertaining and restful place to holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thanks for the review and I am so glad you enjoyed it.
Paul and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing