We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Heavenly Experience"”
Review of The Deer Watch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Deer Watch Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We look forward to our stays many times throughout the year at The Deer Watch Inn, located in the Northern Catskills in Greene County, NY. At the entrance to the Inn, we are already overwhelmed by the spectacular scenery. We receive a warm welcome from Hosts JoAnn and Jack Rascoe, at whcih time we are taken to an impeccably clean room with breath-taking scenery from each window. Our Hosts are most informative as to the dining and local entertainment. We relax in luxuious beddding in a relaxed atmosphere. In the mornings the aroma of a home-cooked breakfast is a good start to a perfect day. We are again greeted with a welcoming "Good Morning", by our hosts, as we enjoy a scrumptious breakfast, as well as unsurpassed scenery from all of the dining room windows. A perfect start to an enjoyable day. We feel very fortunate to have found this beautiful Inn and find it much more enjoyable in every way than some of the other Inns we have stayed in, including some avertised on TV.

Pictures of the Inn on the Internet are an Understatement, and do not fully show the beauty of this Gem. We wanted to share our "Heavenly Experience."

Tom and Kathleen McCormack,
Yorktown Heights, NY

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanceYorktownHts_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for The Deer Watch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

Thanks to Jo-Ann and Jack for a wonderful stay. They have a beautiful home that is very comfortable and relaxing. I grew up in the country but now live in the city and a visit to their front porch to sit in a rocker and just watch the world go by brought back some great memories. Be advised – you may not want to leave!

Our room was very comfortable and unbelievably quiet. In the morning the coffee was ready and the smell of fresh baked bread was to die for! Breakfast was amazing and set the tone for the day.

All in all a wonderful place to stay. Thanks a million – we hope to be back some day.
Gray and Michele

Room Tip: Call ahead
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgmartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I am "reluctantly " writing this review of THE DEER WATCH INN in EAST DURHAM, NY . I say "RELUCTANTLY " because I like knowing that when I call there I get a RESERVATION NO PROBLEM. MY wife and I love it there and if too many people find out about this B & B then maybe when I call againto come again there might not be any vacancies AND THAT WOULD SADDEN ME GREATLY. JOANNE and JACK , the owners run and keep A BEAUTIFUL homestead AND TAKE GREAT PRIDE in their home which they share with their guests. It is by far the best place to stay in EAST DURHAM !!! I am a Tough Grader but THE DEER WATCH gets an A + . My wife and I will continue to be happy and loyal customers and plan on being so for years to come.. DON AND NANCY FROM NJ

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnylion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We booked four of their five rooms for a nearby family wedding. Not knowing the area, and traveling with children and seniors, I was nervous. Each of our rooms was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Innkeeper Jo-Ann made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfasts were different each morning, and delicious.. The property was beautiful and the children enjoyed feeding the pond koi and use of the owners paddleboats. We definitely hope to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adopt4paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Durham
8.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
7.9 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
506 reviews
4.6 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
4.3 mi away
Acra Manor Resort & Hotel
15.5 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Deer Watch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Deer Watch Inn

Address: 76 Route 27, East Durham, Durham, NY 12423-1127
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > East Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Durham
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 5 bedroom inn nestled in the Durham Valley with spectacular views of the Northern Catskill Mountains. We specialize in old fashioned hospitality and ambiance. Wrap around porch, large koi pond, gardens, sun room with wood stove and crackling fire on chilly nights, old fashioned board games, AC and Wi-Fi. Full multi-course breakfast with fresh fruit, juice, homemade breads and muffins, entree and plenty of coffee or tea. We're eco friendly and utilize solar panels, line dry our linens, recycle and compost. Near water park, scenic byway, hiking, fishing, antique shops, local swimming hole, Irish and blue grass festivals. There's as much or little as you'd like to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing