We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mean staff-stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stay at this hotel about once a month. It is convenient to the airport for a quick stay. The hotel restaurant is ok but expensive. There are just a couple other places nearby to eat but do no walk there during the night.
The hotel has nice rooms with comfy beds. The staff however is not very accommodating. For all the inconvenience they caused me one day, they refused to pick up my $10 breakfast bill.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

The place is a dump. It's in definite need of a wrecking ball. Marriott's best option is to build a $100M hotel on this same site and start over.

Here's the problem...this place is packed nearly every night, and by making minimal strides at mediocre service they're able to look past their aging infrastructure.

Service is what you'd expect from the locals in Queens--it's decent, if you can put up with the attitude.

The room is beat up from wear and tear, but generally clean. The windows were absolutely filthy, but at least they opened up. The air conditioner is a joke. Most of the vents in the guest room are covered in dust and in serious need of duct cleaning.

Location to the airport is good, but worthless if you have to wait forever for the hotel shuttle, then give up and take a cab.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank IntegrityTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The LaGuardia Marriott is a typical airport hotel: if you need to stay at LaGuardia, it is fine, but it is very generic. I stayed there once in March and once in April. The service at the front desk and restaurant was prompt and friendly. The rooms were clean, but are lower-end Marriott rooms. The food was basic. It is next to the airport, but it is generally quiet. I thought it was expensive for what it was and parking was not free, but it is likely the best choice near the airport. Overall, it is fine, but it is a very bland hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I spent three days at the hotel before flying out west. The staff was wonderful. I was picked up at LGA by the shuttle. From there the staff instructed me how trip more to use the bus in surrounding Queens. I was familiar with the subway system and the knowledge I received made my trip more enjoyable !

The staff was very warm when asked questions and willing to go the extra mile ! I was provided information in regards to local eateries in Queens in case I did not want to go downtown NY.

My room was clean and the conceige lounge was neatly kept. I will definitey stay at this hotel again. it is a bargain comparied to 300-500 in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asirmans2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I stayed here overnight on my way back to Atlanta. The hotel is OK and won't be confused with one of Marriott's signature properties. With that said, the room was clean and I got a good night's sleep.

On the negative side, it took about 45 minutes for the hotel shuttle to pick me up at the Delta terminal for the three minute ride to the property, which is located across the Grand Central Parkway and thus not in walking distance to the airport. It appears they run just two shuttles for multiple terminals at LGA airport.

In addition, the pricing structure inside the hotel bar features the typical NYC gouge. For a Marriott Burger with fries and two draft beers, I paid $34 tip included. That's absolutely ridiculous.

My room rate for the night was $193.93, tax included....another gouge. If you are looking to save some money, you might try the nearby Courtyard or Hampton Inn, which I would think would offer lower rates.

Overall, no bugs and I slept well. The location is a three minute shuttle ride (complimentary) from LGA's terminals. But the pricing was out of line and I would look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaTalkinghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Our stay was 1 night, for a small family funeral nearby. What made our 24 hours there less sad was the amazing staff at this chain hotel. From the front desk, who pushed to get our rooms ready before the official check-in time, to everyone on the dining room staff, who accommodated 11 family members for meals even when the main dining room wasn't open - this group of employees couldn't have been more helpful and caring. It was a sold-out holiday weekend and yet we never felt rushed , ignored, or bothersome and in fact staff sought us out to discuss arrangements we'd inquired about. Our rooms were comfortable, location perfect for our needs but what really stands out here is staff training and service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milkmaid52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Best location if you need to stay near LaGuardia - about 2 minutes away on their shuttle that runs every ten or fifteen minutes starting at 4:30 in the morning. Pretty standard business hotel. No problems.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbklak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East Elmhurst hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn New York - LaGuardia Airport
0.2 mi away
Aloft New York LaGuardia Airport
Aloft New York LaGuardia Airport
#7 of 12 in East Elmhurst
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New York LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
LaGuardia Plaza Hotel - New York
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles New York Laguardia Airport
1 mi away
Comfort Inn LaGuardia Airport - 83rd St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott

Address: 10205 Ditmars Blvd, East Elmhurst, NY 11369-1327
Region: United States > New York > Queens > East Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in East Elmhurst
Price Range: £152 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location and a recently renovated lobby and fitness center, discover a leader among LaGuardia Airport hotels, New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott. Guests are assured a pleasant night's rest with our hotel's signature Marriott Revive bedding and double-paned soundproof windows. This hotel near LaGuardia Airport offers a unique plug-in panel in each room that allows guests to connect their digital devices to a large 32-inch flat-screen TV. As a convenient New York LaGuardia Airport hotel, we are just a short distance from Midtown Manhattan, Long Island and JFK International Airport. Surrounded by the hustle and bustle of New York City and boasting more than 15,000 square feet of renovated event space, our hotel is ideal for special events, corporate meetings and unforgettable wedding receptions. Additionally, all guests have access to a complimentary airport shuttle to LaGuardia Airport. Enjoy a spectacular New York City getaway during your stay at New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Laguardia Airport Marriott Hotel East Elmhurst
Marriott Hotel East Elmhurst
Marriott East Elmhurst
East Elmhurst Marriott
New York LaGuardia Airport Marriott East Elmhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing