We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Pollock-Krasner House and Study Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The house, and its adjacent studio, give visitors a glimpse of how artists Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner lived and worked. A National Historic Landmark. Open from May through October.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Not a single Pollock painting in sight. Perhaps one of the worst museum's I've visited. Save the $5 entry fee!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen760, Director at Pollock-Krasner House and Study Center, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. Evidently you somehow missed seeing the several works on paper by Pollock, as well as the original painting by him that's on permanent display. I hope you'll come back and look again. I'd be happy to give you a personal tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really interesting and worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I had low expectations about the tour at the Jackson Pollock-Krasner house, as I am not a fan of abstract art. I was truly educated by what I saw and heard. I am so glad I visited this historic site. My perspective was broadened and enriched!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PietervonHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Art Lover's Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you are a true art lover a visit to the Pollack-Krasner house is a must see. You will visit Pollack's studio which is virtually untouched since his death. It's a very special place that is well worth a visit. Call ahead to check on hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatsDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I loved getting the chance to walk in the studio in which Jackson painted. To actually see the floor of the studio where he did his drip paintings See picture attached! It was wonderful to go back in time when the very influential artists of the 20th century lived in this East Hampton community. The view of the water from Lee Krazner studio is just breath taking.

It was a lovely one hour tour of 12 people.

We came from the North fork and took two ferries over to the south fork. That was part of the fun of getting to the house. Had a great meal down the road so it was a lovely day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaVickroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely, peaceful, and interesting stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place was an unexpected treat. They have left it pretty much as it was when lived and worked in. The staff is very helpful and helped guide me to the nearby graveyard where many artists are buried. Worth the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ksiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pollock-Krasner House and Study Center also viewed

 
East Hampton, Hamptons
Water Mill, Hamptons
 

Been to Pollock-Krasner House and Study Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing