We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience, top notch service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Baker House 1650
Ranked #6 of 11 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After staying in several B&Bs out East, this is easily my favorite! Great service, friendly non stuffy vibe, delicious food, comfy rooms with cozy fireplaces, excellent common areas, beautiful property and gardens. Grab the gardiner room if you can!

Room Tip: stay in the main house
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for The Baker House 1650
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

The Baker House is our home away from home in East Hampton. They make you feel like fabulous guests at a gorgeous old estate. We've stayed in the Gardiner Room - absolutely beautiful views of the gaden, fireplace and window seat. You're made to feel like an old friend, from the front desk staff, the incredible breakfasts, and the low-key honor bar. They really know how to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steenie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

If I could give more stars....I would! I can't say enough wonderful things about every element of The Baker House. The house is beautifully appointed, the staff is extremely warm and welcoming, our guest room was beautiful, comfortable, spacious, very quiet, with comfortable linens and Frette towels. While it's located just down the street from the heart of East Hampton, it's tucked away like a secret garden and the staff truly make you feel as though you're staying at a family friends home. The breakfast was incredibly delicious, with several fresh and creative choices daily, along with fresh juice, bagels, cream cheese, fresh fruit, coffee, etc. The spa was an even bigger treat. It's the most special and intimate spa experience I've ever experienced - (and I highly recommend Dawn and Christine!). In addition, the grounds are beautifully maintained, and the pool and lawn are so inviting. My fiancé and I will definitely be making a trip to the Baker house a new tradition! It is such a special place and I'm so glad we learned of it!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Gardiner room!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The house itself is very charming,the room was just ok.the noise level from the street is quite annoying but nothing like the pounding on the outside door for 15 minutes at 10:30pm. We were relaxing ,I thought that's what places like this was for! when I phoned the front desk to find out what raucous was about I was told it had something to do with service dogs? I never knew a dog that knocked instead of barking I found the apology weak & insincere. The bathrooms were very inconvenient, not enough space for any appliances etc. Old is charming, but an old distorted mirror is not!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hairguy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Baker House once again and we can't think of a better place. The Staff is most welcoming, our bedroom was wonderful with the best linens, wonderful bathroom and the breakfast is a simple treat. We have brought our family from Europe to visit and everyone had a wonderful stay. Don't miss the gorgeous indoor swimming pool, enjoy the best massage (have to book ahead of time) and have breakfast outdoors under the wisteria! Hamptons at its best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariaPashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a great weekend at the Baker House, the service, the design, the breakfast, the location, the architecture and attention to detail was perfect! My favorite part was (except the very comfortable beds) the Spa, with a steam shower, sauna, Jacuzzi, and massage facilities. There is no doubt that I am going back again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David82NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

we juat stayed for the president'.s weekend at the baker house for a romantic weekend away . the inn us impeccably kept - every attention to detail is paid . we were greeted by a lovely young woman who showed us around and took us to our room. the room was lovely but the tv was dissapointing and the bath room was beautiful but the bath tub looked like it had seen better days .
the drawing room with the roaring fire was beautiful warm and inviting . they had every magazine , newspaper that you could think of and available for their guests.

they had a beautiful and delicous breakfast complimentary for their guests. amazing omelettes , french toast , fresh fruit etc. the timing of breakfast was a little late at 8:30 but maybe it is beacuse my husband and i are early birds.

my husband had arranged for me to have a massage and a facial . the massage was fabulous - the baker house has a beautiful spa downstairs . the facial unfortunately i had an off putting experience. i asked her if she had frangrance free - the facialist got very defensive and made me feel uncomfortable . i was a little surprised when i spoke to the hotel - they too were defensive and not very caring about how to make the experience better .
i love getting services at the places we stay at - they can enhance the experience . the massage i adored but was surprised at the negative experience i had with getting the facial ( which ultimately did not happen)

i would highly recommend staying at the baker house - it is like vising an english country home .

Room Tip: ask about which rooms have flat screen tvs and updated bathtubs.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suelpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
6.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
245 reviews
5.8 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
114 reviews
1.4 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.1 mi away
The Maidstone Hotel
The Maidstone Hotel
#5 of 11 in East Hampton
132 reviews
6.8 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baker House 1650? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baker House 1650

Address: 181 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937 (Formerly J. Harper Poor Cottage)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range: £477 - £700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Baker House 1650 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Hampton Village's charming Baker House 1650 is regarded by critics and guests alike as the most exclusive and luxurious bed and breakfast in the Hamptons. From the ivy covered walls to the 200 year old wisteria and formal English gardens, the feel is distinctly European. Less expected are state of the art amenities such as flat screen high definition TV's with full cable and DVD players, Bose wave music systems with iPod docks and free wireless internet. The large, beautifully furnished rooms with wood burning fireplaces, William Morris wallpapers, and Frette linens delight visitors, and the lavish bathrooms are enhanced by whirlpools and L'Occitane products. The outdoor infinity-edge pool, with teak chaises for sunbathing, is ideal for unwinding, and the Baker Spa, featuring an endless pool, massage area, steam shower, Jacuzzi and sauna, provides unparalleled relaxation. In the summer, guests receive coveted East Hampton Village beach parking passes, as well as plush beach towels, umbrellas and chairs. The Baker Carriage House, located directly behind the main house, offers even more luxurious accommodations and suites, making it a purely indulgent retreat. The Baker House 1650 is ideally located on the historic village green, within walking distance to the ocean, as well as world-class shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Baker House 1650 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baker House 1650 Hotel East Hampton
The Baker House 1650 East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing