We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the very best!”
Review of The Hedges Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hedges Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The inn is gorgeous, perfect location to town and beach. Ann Clarke's breakfast is delicious; she is a gracious, wonderful hostess. All the staff are genuinely concerned about the best interests of the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Ginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

So nice to have a houseful of kind people...makes us always want to do more and be better with people like you in the house! Thank you for being here, please make us your home here in the Hamptons and we hope you do come back again next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Staying at the Hedges was such a wonderful experience. Ann Clarke really out did herself to make us feel comfortable. The Inn is beautifully decorated and the food is amazing! I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessdekerillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Sweet Miss J! Thank you for writing in about us! I know how busy you are and it is greatly appreciated. You are always a welcome sight at The Hedges Inn! All my best, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and i stayed at Hedges Inn this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it!!!

The rooms are one of the cleanest we have ever stayed in, the bedding is of such a high standard.

I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts over the world and this is one of he best.

The Inn is situated close to the beach and the centre of town, the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galaxy5030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Our discussion of the differences of a bed and breakfast and a resort worldwide were interesting It is always wonderful to have experienced B&B guests in the house. The easy flow of everyone making their way 'home' from the beach and out to dinner and such...strangers having casual and kind conversations over coffee or on the front porch is so rewarding to witness as an innkeeper!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Some hotels put on a show, and often a good one. What struck me about Hedges Inn right away was the warmth and sincere spirit of invitation from the proprietress, Ann. A pair of weary pilot travelers showed up late one night and it was not just an open door but an open heart. Refreshing indeed.
Then came the breakfast. Wow. Selection, portion sizes, fresh and taste-balanced are some descriptors. How about Black Angus Sliders topped with egg and a side of Asparagus. Back up the spirit with tangibles. Not just clean rooms...spotless. Excellent service.
My only regret is that I could not stay longer. The Hedges Inn has my superlative recommendation!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamH732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Such a delight to have you both in the house. Some great conversation and laughter with in house guests makes the innkeeper happy! Serving breakfast to people who enjoy food always makes the early morning effort... effortless! Thank you for being here. Safe travels always and point those planes back to EH before too long please!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We highly recommend The Hedges Inn. Our 3-night stay was delightful. Anne's hospitality is tops and her staff is polite and helpful. Her breakfasts are amazing - both delicious and beautifully presented. The common areas of the Inn are decorated tastefully in a relaxed, elegant style. The outdoor patios and gardens are lovely, and the porch rocking chairs make a pleasant spot to rest for a bit. The bedrooms are attractive, in excellent condition, and kept spotless; the thoughtful details put into the design and comfort of them were evident: high-quality linens, bedside light dimmer, great shower head and water pressure, quiet and fully adjustable air conditioning, magnifying mirror, Bulgari green tea bath products, etc. The toffee almonds were a treat. We also appreciated the beach tote basket, towels, chairs, and umbrella. We found the location perfect, as it's a 15-minute walk either to town or the beach. We hope to return!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank spk101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

My goodness - was there anything you left out? Thank you so very much. I discuss all of our reviews with staff and M. in housekeeping beams when she hears guest say how spotless the rooms are! Everyone here at The Hedges take great pride in being a oart of this Hampton landmark and we are so happy you enjoy it all! Thank you so much, as M. always says, thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

As a frequent traveler, my stay at The Hedges was on par with many of the top hotels around the world. The highly attentive and service-oriented staff made my stay a wonderful experience. The Innkeeper was fantastic, friendly and professional and the food at the Inn was outstanding - noteworthy were the poached eggs on the breakfast selections. The Hedges posses a unique beauty and tranquility which made it very easy to relax and unwind. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to the Hamptons.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Heartfelt thanks for the review A.! It was terrific taking care of your group and we are sincerely delighted everyone enjoyed their stay so much. Thank you for the lovely bottle of wine you sent! Very thoughtful indeed and made my day! All my best, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Before we arrived I inquired about where to have dinner. I was told a few places to try, but was not offered any help to try to obtain reservations. You would think they would have a little pull, more than I would. I happened to notice on the table in the lobby menus and a note that they would be happy to make a reservation for you. Maybe the staff should read that. When we arrived we checked in and the young man behind the desk(aka small pony tail boy as we named him) did not even offer to help with the luggage. Be aware you have to lug from the parking lot up two to three flights of stairs. The room was very clean and nice, just fine for a weekend. They do provide water in the room, but you keep the same old bottle for three nights We asked the same young man if he could get us a taxi for dinner. When we came down the place was locked up tight and we were on our own. The walls are thin and you can hear everyone coming and going(doors slamming) but it is an old hotel. Unfortunately for us we had the same young man for our waiter for breakfast. As others have said there is no choice for breakfasst We asked if we could just have a plain egg and was told no. The gourmet meal they were offering was way too heavy for breakfast. We ended up with the fruit. I am glad I brought my own tea as the selection in the dining room was never refilled. This may seem nitpicky but for 800.00 a night you have some expectations. We heard rumors of the famous Ann but did not meet her until the last day. To her defense she said she was out sick a few days. When we did go to breakfast the next day she made us plain eggs. Seems if she is not there things dont go as smoothly. The location is great, one way town, one way beach and they do have beach towels in the room. Overall a few tweaks and this place would rate at the top.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THECURCIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Our morning breakfast buffet of chilled juices, fresh cut fruit, Greek yogurt, homemade granola, fresh garden berries, pastries, muffins and fresh breads usually offers something for most all of our guests not interested in trying our special breakfast of the day. We are not a restaurant but a special bed and breakfast taking breakfast a notch above the ordinary fare that can be had at any place, anytime. I am happy after contacting you personally that you wrote back to me "we were not that unhappy with our stay" as I thought you review implied otherwise. New water bottles are placed in the rooms daily but being aware of the environment our housekeeping staff is instructed not to toss out personal closed water bottles that are left bedside if they are more than half full. In addressing the door slamming all I can say is that it is not a reflection of the inn but of an inconsiderate guest down the hall. Thank you for your email of kind words and we do look forward to your return to The Hedges Inn. All the best, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
11.6 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
309 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
260 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
169 reviews
1 mi away
Mill House Inn
Mill House Inn
#1 of 11 in East Hampton
326 reviews
7.1 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Inn

Address: 74 James Ln, East Hampton, NY 11937-2722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range: £173 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hedges Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful village pond The Hedges Inn is an East Hampton, New York landmark. Home to the famous swans that, like our special guests, return year after year. This exclusive enclave is around the corner from world-class beaches, nestled among East Hampton's legendary estates and just steps from the Village. Built in the 1800’s and recently renovated to the highest standards, The Hedges Inn strikes the perfect balance between sophisticated luxury and unpretentious seaside charm. We invite you to enjoy not just the intimacy of your rooms, but to take advantage of our entire house as if it was your own. The Hedges Inn. "Your home in the Hampton's." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hedges Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel East Hampton
Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing