We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hedges Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
East Hampton House(East Hampton)
US$270
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topping Rose House(Bridgehampton)(Great Value!)
US$333
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baron's Cove(Sag Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$298
US$175
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Resort(Amagansett)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club(Amagansett)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Hermitage at Napeague(Amagansett)(Great Value!)
US$276
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest on the Ocean(Amagansett)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood on the Ocean(Montauk)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Vista Resort(Amagansett)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
227
12
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
12
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain beachmy husband and ib bat homefamily weddingbeach bag with towelsparking passeach morningperfect locationcan't wait to come backan umbrellacup of coffeewalking distance to towncomfortable roomswonderful experiencebeach chairscommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We originally booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at The Hedges Inn, but by the 2nd morning had decided we wanted to stay longer! Ann quickly shuffled her reservations book a little and was able to accommodate us, apologising that we would have to move rooms for our final night, but that wasn't a problem for us at all. We were just happy that we could enjoy an extended stay at this lovely inn, and see more of this great area! The rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable, modern and kept spotlessly clean. Nothing stuffy like some B&B Inn rooms can be. The common areas indoors and out are equally inviting to relax with a book and cup of coffee, and they even provide an early evening bar service for pre-dinner cocktails. The staff are professional but very friendly and approachable, and we enjoyed our chats with Ann and Jenn, and also appreciated the recommendations they made for good local restaurants and places to visit. Daily breakfast is a treat! The buffet table is stocked with fresh cut fruits, juices, yogurts, muffins and pastries, etc. (all or mostly home baked, I believe) however, in addition to this, there is a '3 course chalkboard special' which offered up such choices as Tuscan Eggs or Poached Egg with spinach over Summer corn pudding (my favourite!). East Hampton is delightful and The Hedges is in a lovely location just about halfway between Main Beach and town center. We walked everywhere and saved our hire car for days out exploring other towns and areas. We enjoyed Bridgehampton, Montauk, Sag Harbor (take the short ferry ride to Shelter Island) and The Wolffer Estate Vineyard. All in all we had a great stay at The Hedges and can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

When you asked if you could extend your stay - well nothing sounds sweeter than a guest asking that question! We appreciate how far you traveled to be with us, how sincerely happy you were to be here and well we thought we were the lucky ones to have you at The Hedges Inn even longer. Please know you are always welcome and we wish you double what you wish for us. Thank you being here…Fondly, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I wanted to visit the Hamptons and had no idea where to stay. I found The Hedges on the internet and thought it looked quite nice so took a chance and booked it. It turned out to be a delightful place in an excellent location with a very friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The inn is spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, and on beautiful grounds. As a bonus, and maybe a reason to stay there in the first place, they serve a wonderful breakfast. They also have a cocktail hour which we missed because of our dinner reservations. I highly recommend The Hedges for a stay in East Hampton.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Margiewiffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

An unexpected find! What a wonderful description for us! Thank you for being here and saying such lovely things for all the world to see. There is so very much that goes on here at the inn 'behind the scenes' to try ti make certain our guests enjoy their stay and guests like you make it all worthwhile. Travel safely and we have noted your file that we will be hoping you return soon!
Take care.

Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were very impressed with our experience at the Hedges Inn and can't wait to go back. The location was great being so close to both the beach and the shops. We loved that we were in walking distance of both. Our rooms and common areas were clean and comfortable. Ann and the staff were very accommodating and provided great recommendations of where to eat. The three course breakfast was so impressive and everything was delicious and beautifully presented. They even accommodated my daughter's selective food choices. This experience far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

What a wonderful confirmation of The Hedges Inn outstanding location! We love that you can go out the front door and turn left for the beach and right for the Village! I would especially like to thank you for your kind words about the staff. We have an especially great team this year made up of newbies and Hedges staples and it makes for a terrific mix and we all love food so we are never short on recommendations. If we exceeded your expectations I am one happy manager. Thank you saying so!

All my best,

Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the Hedges Inn with our daughter. Yea, I know probably not the best idea for a baby but it was worth it given the convenience being in East Hampton! We loved the old home and the recent renovations. I felt this place was clean, well kept and not crusty like some old B&Bs. The bathrooms are white with modern tiles and clear glass shower doors. There is a nice sun porch with a large covered awning, hammock on the lawn and a gazebo. The bar has a great cocktail list and small wine offering. It has limited hours.

Breakfast was a show every morning... granola, corn muffins with honey baked into a honeycomb shape, croissants, fresh grapefruit juice and orange juice. They also offered a three course brunch in addition to the spread of typical baked goods and fruit. Every day there is a new 3 course special. Do not miss this, especially since it's the only meal they offer. They do have various snacks, candies and cookies set out in the afternoon.

I had a chance to peek at the kitchen from a distance since they do not allow guests here, which I completely understand. It was immaculate, clean and well managed.

Given that we are feeding a 4 month old, the bottle situation was very difficult without a microwave or a mini-fridge. You are not allowed to bring your own beer to put in the community fridge either. If you have medicine, you cannot keep it in the fridge. So if you have specific needs such as these, this may not be the best place for you. There is a bag drop out front and with a baby, there is a lot to carry. After being parked out there for 30 minutes, we were already reminded to move. There is a sign that reads "bag drop" and we weren't planning on abusing the privilege. Given the amount of money we paid to spend three nights here, this was a little disheartening.

The staff was very friendly. They run a very tight ship here but could stand to loosen the reigns a bit to better accommodate their guests needs..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cmhellwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We did enjoy having you and your darling baby. As we are not a major chain or large hotel it is not the same traveling experience with wee ones as you readily admitted. I was a bit surprised by your comments since you were permitted (on a daily basis) to the inn's kitchen (unaccompanied even) to do daily sterilization of the babies bottles, plus, we did store the babies milk in the refrigerator for you! For the record I must be clear: we store ANY medications that require refrigeration, for any guest, at any time and have always done so! Like any establishment that sells beer we do not offer 'bring your own', it is actually against the state regulations of the full liquor license permit. You could have an ice cold beer, right from our little Bar None just as most people would not walk in a restaurant with their own bottle of wine or soda. As the GM I greatly appreciated your comments on the renovations, cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff, we strive to make a Hedges Inn stay memorable for all the best reasons. As the chef I most appreciated you calling The Hedges Inn breakfast a "show' - what a delightful commentary on our specialty breakfast included in every stay.

Thank you for being with us and for taking the time to write a review.

All my best,

Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I spent Memorial Day weekend at The Hedges Inn. We stayed in the Skysail Room and found it to be cozy and romantic. We had a fantastic time and everything exceeded our expectations. Our first morning, we were greeted by Jenn and Ann at breakfast and to our surprise, were offered a three course, gourmet meal in addition to the delicious buffet spread. Originally, we had planned to rent bicycles, but were pleasantly surprised to find quality, hybrid bikes, with baskets and bike locks available for our use. We returned from our bike ride and were warmly welcomed with an array of sweets and beverages. The next day, we decided to head to the beach and were provided with towels, a beach bag, and beach chairs.

We did not have a car, and found the Inn's location to be ideally situated between Main Beach and the center of town.

It's the little things, in our opinion, that make an experience what it is. The Hedges Inn team's warm and friendly personalities truly made us feel at home and sad to leave. Throughout our time in East Hampton, they had plenty of great activity and restaurant suggestions. We felt truly catered to! We are already scanning our calendars for another weekend at The Hedges Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellewrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHedgesInn, General Manager at The Hedges Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

It is always wonderful to read how much a guest enjoyed their room, our multi course specialty breakfast, the bikes and all the beach goodies we keep on hand! You are savvy travelers and seem to soak in all the best parts of what it means to be in The Hamptons. We are definitely expecting you back! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.

Safe travels always,

Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews