We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gem with fine attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 1770 House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1770 House
Ranked #4 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great gem with fine attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We found this charming inn to be full of wonderful attention to detail and warm friendly staff. Innkeeper Randye will make your stay memorable and has great suggestions on activities, maps and restaurants in the area. The rooms are appointed with the highest end products, from Moulton & Brown bath products to Frette sheets, towels and robes. You can tell when an Inn or hotel does the little things right, and 1770 House delivers. The room was lovely, and the Tavern for dinner was a cozy retreat with inventive dishes. You would not go wrong by staying at 1770 House. This is the B&B Inn experience that everyone should have.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderfully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770HouseManagement, General Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Your compliments of both the staff and The 1770 House are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    11
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
60
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

If you don't go to this wonderful Inn you will be making a mistake. It's the vert best in comfort , cuisine and historic luxury. Randye the Innkeeper is nothing short of amazing. I wanted to take her home I'm sure you will be reading many posts about this Inn It's just what the doctor ordered for rest and relaxation It's a true gem.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770HouseManagement, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Stephen,
Thank you for the kind words on Trip Advisor about The 1770 House and our innkeeper, Randye.
We are so pleased to read that you were well taken care of during your stay.
We hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I can't say enough about this inn. I took my wife of 36 years for something different. I have NEVER been a B & B person. Four seasons is more my style. I would probably never go in the summer (anti Hampton crowd) but I will definitely be back. The place is old, hence 1770 house, but our room was plenty for a loving couple. We were surrounded by snow but the gas fireplace in the room made for a very romantic 2 night stay. Breakfast was complimentary, great coffee, dinner in the main restaurant or the tavern downstairs. We had salmon, world renowned meatloaf, cod, chicken, pork roast and my favorite veggies. They wine list was pretty good. They took care of my car, had roses in the room at my request, Randye gave us maps, tips and sent us to a refuge where the deer and birds ate out of your hand. My wife couldn't stop smiling and it renewed that intense love we have held for 40 years together. It is perfect in the winter so go now because tomorrow never comes. Its not inexpensive but quite a relaxing and renewing experience.

Room Tip: Go off season and get the fireplace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truthintravel60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770HouseManagement, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor a wonderful review of your stay with us at The 1770 House.
Thank you for the compliments about the restaurant(s).
We hope you'll consider The 1770 House next time you're in East Hampton and we look forward to greeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

From start to finish dealing with Randye, the innkeeper, was a pure delight. Friendly, helpful and funny, she made us feel like old friends from the first phone call inquiry. When there was confusion regarding our reservation, she went out of her way to personally call from home-on her day off- to quickly clarify.
The location could not have been better. A 5 minute stroll to the town with its great shops and restaurants and a 1/2 mile walk through some of the most pristine neighborhoods to the beach.
Our immaculate room was lovely with soft pillows and linens, complimentary Frette robes and slippers and flat screen tv. The gorgeous marbled bath had the MOST decadent rain shower with great pressure and warmth. Complimentary Molten Brown bath products were also available.
One of the highlights was the delicious breakfast included in the rate. What a pleasure it was to relax with our choice of Sunday papers and steaming hot coffee and milk.
I would love to return to the inn in the very near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

My BFF since college, Leslie, and I decided to tack on a weekend getaway to "The Hamptons" at the end of a three day mini vaca to Manhattan. We took the Hampton Jitney with the locals to East Hampton and walked one long block to 1770. It definitely was worth Leslie's hours of research to rule out Mountak and settle on this sweet inn in East Hampton. She know's I am a BG girl and I like to shop. The inn is just a block or so away from Intermix, and the start of luxury boutiques on Main Street. It's also a 1/2 mile from the beach and those gorgeous homes! Besides, being Dutch, it didn't hurt to be across the street from an old windmill. The old addage--" location, location, location"-- is apt here.

The inn is charming with its fresh look, complete with new wicker chairs in the dining room and antiques. Our room was upstairs in the attic, and we loved the twin beds and decor.

This is a foodies' heaven, with a sumptuous complimentary made to order breakfast served in that delightful dining room. The Tavern downstairs is a must, and The Barefoot Contessa is right: who knew meatloaf could be so out of this world?

Most of all, Randye was wonderful. She gave us a ton of maps, directions, advice and sightseeing suggestions everyday. Adam and David, our waiters, also chatted endlessly with us about local wineries, Mountak's lighthouse and
those palatial estates. David graduated from St. John's with a philosophy degree and is destined for Yale Law School. The staff at the inn made our stay very memorable and special.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DebraBogaards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770HouseManagement, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
386 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I should start off by saying, I don't like small spaces. So with that said, some of the rooms here are larger than others, but most are fairly small. If you are an Inn goer, they are fine, but if you tend to not stay in Inn's get ready. Other than that, the quality, service, and food are excellent here. I doubt there is anywhere better to stay in East Hampton.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank App19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770HouseManagement, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
This beautiful old house was built in the 1640's and each room is unique in size and decor. We are happy to discuss the different rooms when you book by telephone or if you prefer to book online, the square footage of each room is on The 1770 House website.
Thank you for taking time in your day to write kind words about the quality, service and food at The 1770 House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My husband and I spent our Anniversary weekend at the 1770 House. We could not have hoped for a more perfect place to stay. Our room, with a private detached bath was absolutely perfect. It was bright, cheery and warm. The bed was oh so comfy. They supply robes and slippers as well. We also had a very large flat screen TV. The bath had luxurious Molten Brown bath products.
The complimentary breakfast that is included is spectacular. You order off a menu but are not limited to how many things you may order. Everything was hot, fresh and quite tasty. It is served in the same dining room as the 1770 House Restaurant. which is beautiful.
On our first day at breakfast, the Innkeeper, Randye, introduced herself and gave us many options of things to do, including passes and literature. It filled our 2 days quite nicely. She made sure that we experienced The Hamptons to its fullest. She was the perfect host.
The Inn is in the heart of East Hampton. We are already discussing when we will be able to return. This will always be our first go to when visiting The Hamptons.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CANDACE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1770HouseManagement, Manager at The 1770 House, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Such high praise! Thank you so much for taking the time to write.
We appreciate the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
11.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
5.9 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#2 of 12 in East Hampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1770 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1770 House

Property: The 1770 House
Address: 143 Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The 1770 House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, three-story house bordered by a white picket fence embodies traditional Colonial appeal. Built in the mid 1600's, some original architecture remains, especially in the lounge, with its beautiful wood paneling and ceiling beams.Rooms vary in size and each has a sitting area, some have a fireplace.The 1770 House has two fine restaurants. The Tavern, a favorite for Hamptons locals, has a tiny bar, fireplace, famous meatloaf and other casual fare. The main dining room is more elegant and sophisticated, serving a contemporary American menu with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The 1770 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 1770 House Hotel East Hampton
1770 Hotel
The 1770 House East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing