We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Homey”
Review of Bassett House Inn

Bassett House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bassett House Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My friend and I spent 2 nights in East Hampton at Bassett House Inn, and loved its quaint and homestyle atmosphere. I read the negative and positive reviews, but I used to be a travel agent, and know that some people are just chronic complainers. We went with an open mind, and felt very relaxed. The owner, Mike, is so accommodating and unpretentious. He knows about the area and its history. It's not a fancy or pricey place, but we enjoyed ourselves, and the breakfast was great. thanks Mike
Kalena L

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kool333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Bassett House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had a wonderful time at the inn. We were properly guided, i did not have to go to the visitor's bureau. Mr. Mike, the owner was very helpful to us.
We stayedonly for one night because of my daughter's appointments in the city. hadn't it been for that, we could have stayed for another night.

Room Tip: Plan early
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This place is filthy, cluttered, in disrepair, the owner is rude and a terrible host.
read further down to see the negative reviews and after reviewing them I agree they are all true.
The glowing reviews must have been planted here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MBATech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Bassett House Inn for one night over July 4th weekend.
It's easy to access the Inn: Just a five-minute ride from East Hapmton station.
Michael, inn-owner, a sweet and happy guy, helped and took care of us as much as he can upon our requests.
The Inn has cozy space with collectables from all over the world.
It is so lucky to find the lovely and warm Inn offering fair price in the Hapmptons.
I'll definitely return the Inn in the near future!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYDowntownGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My triplet boys and I had the pleasure of staying in this Country Home..Michael the innkeeper is a real doll.. The house tells a story with knick knack galore.. I told him he should make it an antique store.. He was friendly , kind and very accomodating to my family. A great little vacation:)!!! Kudos Michael

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebO97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My friends and I stayed here for one night in the Hamptons over Memorial Day Weekend and were pleasantly surprised. Mike was so nice from the get go and was very helpful and accommodating. I have stayed at many hotels over the country and have never received service like I have here. It's not about perfection, the house is warm and inviting, it feels like you are staying with family or friends rather than a stuffy hotel. His rates are the best in town, and he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. He is a sweet guy, and reviews can't do him justice. You just have to see for yourself!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nygirl2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

A lovely place to stay with a beautiful garden and outdoor area in general. We wanted to just sleep under the stars (and we did, for a little while at least)! Michael, the innkeeper, was a kind soul who treated us with care and generosity. We were just 4 kids (well in our 20's and 30's) needing some tender, loving, care... a bit lost and without a place to stay in Montauk and he offered us a space and such hospitality at the Bassett Inn. We would and will return very soon, our next trip east, to stay again.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CeciliacSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
2.7 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
107 reviews
4.5 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mill House Inn
Mill House Inn
#2 of 12 in East Hampton
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
247 reviews
1.9 mi away
380 Inn
380 Inn
#1 of 2 in Wainscott
41 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Maidstone Hotel
The Maidstone Hotel
#5 of 12 in East Hampton
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett House Inn

Address: 128 Montauk Hwy, East Hampton, NY 11937-2811
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range: £85 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Bassett House Hotel East Hampton
Bassett House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing