We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecclectic charm at a perfect location”
Review of Bassett House Inn

Bassett House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Hampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bassett House Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
east coast, usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ecclectic charm at a perfect location”
Reviewed 5 July 2009

It's all relative. We booked the weekend at Basset House after discovering that most other accommodations in EH charge 600+ per night, unless they are a roadside motel. So - though an admittedly high priced B&B at almost 300 per night, it was preferable (to us) to a motel. We appreciated the particular laid-back atmosphere and quirky charm, but perhaps this place is not for everyone. It is a classic colonial that is a bit rough around the edges for wear. Old growth trees surround the house located on a beautifully verdant lawn with abundant flowers and lounge chairs. The house is crammed with flea market treasures and antiques curios, so it is a bit like stumbling into a magical attic.
The rooms are likewise so furnished and slightly funky - but not filthy. We did need to move a few light bulbs around in our room, but it was a happy stay and that detail did not particularly disturb us. It was an experience akin to being in a comfortable old country house of an eccentric friend in the days before Martha Stewart raised the bar.
Michael was very friendly, had many stories and helped us with directions and all inquiries. We bought an antique fireplace broom (from our room) from him that we fell in love with, and took home a cutting of a plant from his garden that he dug up for us b/c we had admired it. Summary: If you are looking for top drawer in EH - then you will really have to pay for it. This is no gilded-lily, over-decorated, fake perfumed, 4 course gourmet breakfast inn. But it was a lovely experience and we enjoyed Michael very much. Final notes: If you do not like to share a bath, then do not reserve a room here on those conditions in the first place. It seems a simple choice. Security was like a house in the country, our room door had a hook on it. We were okay as we carried no particular valuables, and he offered to secure them for us if we had.
The driveway entrance is a bit tricky b/c of heavy summer traffic on the highway. Michael provides beach passes to guests, and the nearby beaches are very lovely.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cprojex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    4
    0
    22
See reviews for
8
17
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed at the Bassett House Inn on Memorial Day weekend. Without a reservation, Michael, the innkeeper was very accomodating. He had a room for us with wonderful country trimmings. The grounds were beautiful with a multitude of flowers. A relaxing backyard with BarBQ and solitude. After fishing from the beach, Michael allowed me to wash the salt from my truck without hesitation. The Innkeeper (Mike) was a wealth of local knowledge and had great recommendations for the best local cuisine. A beach pass was supplied to us just for the local beaches which was wonderful. If you want a relaxing inn with a fabulous location, the Bassett House Inn is for you. Would definetly return to this place. Thanks again Michael

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mako63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

i never write reviews. i still cant get over my experience and 9 months have gone by so i am wrtiting this review. STAY AWAY. Its ridiculously overpriced and a horrendous stay. The room was over $400 and the bathroom didnt work. there was hot water and not cold. the room was dirty. there was pubic hair in the bed when we arrived. the place smelled. and everything in the room looked like it had come from the salvation army. i wouldnt stay there again if it were free. and because i had made my deposit by check i couldnt get my money back.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glowken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Hampton hotels

NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

As far as your Bed and Breakfast was concerned, we understand that you could not get up so early in the morning to fix breakfast. However, I am sure you do not prepare the muffins, or bake your bread the day of the breakfast..., so it did not cost you anything to prepare a plate of these for self service in the morning.

$275.00 for a night should give the guest some comforts that were absent at the Basset. One bathroom in the hallway for eight
bedrooms, i-e 16 guests, YOUR guests would have to get up early to get to the bathroom before the others in order to get to your breakfast on time. The rooms were small and far from being clean or comfortable: small twin beds, with ugly linens and ugly bed spreads, dirty carpets, run down house and the owner complaining about all the work he had to do for 20 guest etc., etc. If 20 guests were too many for him to handle, at the price of the room he could hire someone to help or rent to fewer people.

In resume, we were totally embarrassed in front of our guests from Brazil and from Canada for our poor choice. Never again!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Owner who kept complaining about all the work with so many guests!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Oh my god - I can not say enough things about this B&B to make you stay away. Do not stay here, can not be more blunt.

What was wrong with this place, apart from everything:

1) Really grumpy and rude owner. Not pleasant ever

2) $275 per night - BEFORE tax - totally overpriced and worst $300 I have ever spent

3) Not clean

4) Ancient bed, must have been from the 1920s with the worst mattress I have slept in for a long time.

5) Check out time was 11.30 am and the maids started cleaning our bathroom at 9.30 am and before we had checked out.

6) We didn't have breakfast as the area it was served in was unclean and just really was not appetizing in any way

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything, Absolutely AWFUL
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hoboken Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Terrible experience. Dirty, hot, unorganized, run down. I paid almost $300 a night for a room with twin beds with a shared bathroom down the hall and had no air conditioning in 90 degree humid weather. I left at 11:00pm just to get away.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank senna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2008

I recently had the opportunity to spend two nights at the Bassett House Inn on the Montauk Highway in East Hampton, New York. This was definitely a delightful visit for my friend from Washing State and myself. We were greeted by the owner, Michael, who made us feel immediately comfortable and right at home. The inn has numerous collectibles that the owner, himself, found over the course of almost thirty years. Such Charm!! Michael was always ready to offer information about places to see and go and how to get there. I would highly recommend the Bassett House Inn in Est Hampton to anyone who wants a comfortable, delightful, down to earth place to stay. I will return again this summer. I also wrote to the Chamber of Commerce about this Inn--/So Very Nice. Pat P. June '08

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pattyp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
12.5 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
4.5 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
110 reviews
2.7 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
231 reviews
1.9 mi away
380 Inn
380 Inn
#1 of 2 in Wainscott
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
The 1770 House
The 1770 House
#4 of 12 in East Hampton
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett House Inn

Property: Bassett House Inn
Address: 128 Montauk Hwy, East Hampton, NY 11937-2811
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Bassett House Hotel East Hampton
Bassett House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing