We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art and Gardens”
Review of LongHouse Reserve

LongHouse Reserve
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in beautiful East Hampton, New York, LongHouse Reserve is a sixteen acre garden with established lawns, ornamental borders, plant collections and outdoor sculpture, planned by the internationally recognized textile designer, Jack Lenor Larsen. Mr. Larsen, along with the recommendations of the LHR Art Committee, has assembled a collection of over 70 sculptures for the gardens. LongHouse Reserve was established in 1991 and reflects founder Jack Lenor Larsen's desire to encourage creativity in gardening and in collecting and every day living with art. LongHouse gardens are open to the public Wednesdays and Saturdays, through Sept 30, 2017, 2-5pm. Open Saturdays, October 7 - November 25 2017, 12-3pm.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a must visit in East Hampton.Jack Lenor Larson's beautiful, pristine gardens filled with artwork and a magnificent lilly pond. It will restore your soul.

1  Thank NC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for LongHouse Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was proud to be the escort of a group of Wellesley alumnae, Class of 1966, on July 31. The combination of imaginative landscaping, startling sculptures and endlessly changing varieties of perennial plantings added up to a great setting for renewing friendships and making new friends. Among the sculptures, the story behind Yoko Ono's colors-be-damned life-size chess set was particularly inspiring. There were countless different forms of seating. The group was privileged to be allowed inside the main house to see the unusual collection of fabrics, furniture and ceramics - the house's architecture was inspired by the sustainable Imperial Temple in Ise, Japan. Don't miss this gem in East Hampton if you haven't lost your ability to magic when it stares you in the face.

1  Thank JohnTepperMarlin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I saw this attraction on my Trip Advisor app and it was also recommended by the Innkeeper at the B&B we were staying after I stated we love history. Well, when we entered this place after paying $20, our jaws dropped at the amazement of how this could possibly be rated so high. After 20 minutes, my husband and I left so disappointed that we took the drive here and actually paid money to enter this place. All we got out of it were areas of different plants and flowers and occasional statues. This art is not our taste at all and it wasn't even well manicured, as there were weeds and no real beauty or charm. We just didn't get what they were trying to demonstrate here. There is no history at all, in fact it's more modern than anything else...again not our taste. Extremely disappointed. The volunteer who took our money upon entering didn't even offer any information on this when we asked her...she simply said to hit the bong and start your Zen moment. This by far was the biggest attraction disappointment we've EVER experienced anywhere.

3  Thank danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHR L, General Manager at LongHouse Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Danielle,
We are sorry that you were disappointed in the recommendation you received about LongHouse Reserve. We are not a historical site, nor do we bill ourselves as such. We are an outdoor art museum with 16 acres of grounds filled with many varieties of trees, plants and flowers that intersect with numerous works of art, by artists as varied as Willem DeKooning and Eric Fischl. There are many historical museums in East Hampton and we hope that you were able to visit them during your stay.
Sincerely
Matko Tomicic
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A must do for every visitor to East Hampton. Even in mid summer the gardens were cool and with fabulous sculptures, interesting planting schemes and avant garde outdoor furniture there was something for everyone to admire!

Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was an amazing experience - the art, the lush green gardens and the love! The grounds are beautifully cultivated with artwork/sculptures throughout. The Chihuly installation is beautiful. The pools are amazing. A true oasis for art and garden lovers alike.

1  Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LongHouse Reserve also viewed

 

Been to LongHouse Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing