We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bostwicks Chowder House , A Sea Food Eaters Delight”

Bostwick's Chowder House
Ranked #2 of 67 Restaurants in East Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bostwicks Chowder House , A Sea Food Eaters Delight”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been going to Bostwicks for Many, Many Years, introducing what was a Little known Restaurant into the Favorite to everyone who loved Lobster Dinners, Great New England Clam Chowder, and every other Fish Dish, Pasta, Chicken, and a Great Bar.......as once upon a time overlooking the Sunset over the Bay........and then it was forced to Move to a small location on Rt 27 .....Main Street going through East Hampton......still the same food, Great Menu and Good Bar, but No Sunset View over the Bay, No Real Table Wear or Glasses......just paper alternatives, as No Dishwasher was permitted to exist, as per town Regulations for that Facility.....
so bring your own plates, fork & Knife, and Glass or Cups, And then Enjoy some Great Food.
Seafood & Lobster Diners ate Better than The Palm, and half the Price.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    84
    27
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Smethport, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Chowder”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

3rd visit for us to Bostwicks, as always they were packed because the foods great. Highly recommend the Seafood pasta or the Arugala Salad. The Lobster roll is great BUT.... this is why the 4star and not 5 star rating. Please please put this in something other than a Martins Potatoes hot dog bun!!!! We'll be back tho.

Helpful?
2 Thank Riki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fun & fresh”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

as good as it gets, as fresh as it gets, as nice as it gets.
no reservations, noisy, just great food and everyone is
treated equally.
delicious lobster, steamers, clam bellies, grilled tuna, sword
fish.
a treat for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duck1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great lobster”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stopped here in the qwest for the best lobster. It was very good, very photogenic -the lobsters looked neat on their plates- and the price was very reasonable.

Note that although the place shows up on the "lobster sack" lists, this is a real, comfortable restaurant. Even a full bar is available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spanish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh and Fabulous!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

For several years, Bostwick's was known for location, location and good food. Then two or three years ago Bostwick's gave up the water view for a smaller place on Route 27/ Montauk Hwy./Pantigo Road. It is housed in what we all affectionately knew as the Creme Queen or Snowflake. Haven't thought about it for a while and last night my husband and I decided to try it and am I glad we did! We had the best dinner consisting of Lobster Fritters and Baked Stuffed Clams for a starter. Boy, did we make good choices there! Then we both had the Grilled Swordfish special which was served with fingerling potatoes and fresh green beans with cherry tomatoes. Absolutely delicious! And they serve a good vodka and tonic as well as draft beer. I highly recommend this restaurant. The wait staff is friendly and courteous ... It is a casual place ... And everything is served on paper plates and the utensils are plastic as the the drink cups. So, if you don't mind giving up the good china, you are in for a real treat. Weekends are very crowded ... Must get there early or late.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJSchenck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bostwick's Chowder House also viewed

 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Bostwick's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing