We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Healthy Food, Overpriced”
Review of Babette's

Babette's
Ranked #20 of 67 Restaurants in East Hampton
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
233 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Healthy Food, Overpriced”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was staying in East Hampton and Babette's was just around the corner.
Very nice and attentive service. It was crowded but they kept checking on me to make sure I was happy with everything and I was.

It is very pricey and sometimes very crowded but it is East Hampton.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magictravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    37
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Poor service, blah food, overpriced.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Now we live here in the Hamptons so we are used to the high prices and the scene.
Hadn't been to Babette's in quite awhile so tried it for lunch. The place was not yet filled, yet we waited for menus, we waited for our order to be taken, we waited for the waitress to return after telling us they didn't have what we ordered. And then we waited for our food, while noticing everyone who came in after us, had been served. When the food did finally come, no apologies, just plunked down on the table. $26 for chicken salad, which was just hot slices of chicken on a bed of wilted, sad greens. There are so many better options in East Hampton- Golden Pear, Citta Nova, Rowdy Hall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyAnn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, very overpriced”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very nice restaurant with simple and comfortable ambience and very nice staff. It just seems very overpriced for what you get. Some salad greens with about 15 tiny balls of fried tofu was $30 (and very bland). The roasted chicken with rosemary polenta fries was tasty, but there was one very small piece of chicken and three “fries” for $30. Another night we had the Dragon Bowl, which was a small bowl of some steamed vegetables over a very small amount of udon noodles. Also fairly bland and cost $30. I’m sure the rents on Newtown Lane are exorbitant and these prices are what you would expect at this location, but a a better value for the money for some of the dishes would be appreciated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XXNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Crowded but worth it”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Babettes is over-priced, but guess what, it's East Hampton. They take no reservations, so be prepared to wait and wait. the food is very good and health oriented. A place to see and be scene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Healthy and Delicious”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It is rare to find such great tasting food that is also good for you but that defines the food at Babettes. The prices are high but the portions are huge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgica14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babette's also viewed

East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Babette's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing