We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something has been changed and not for the better”

Michaels' at Maidstone Beach
Ranked #25 of 67 Restaurants in East Hampton
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something has been changed and not for the better”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have been renters and owners in the area for over 30 years, and Michael's has generally been one of our reliable go-to restaurants. It has had ownership and menu changes, but the atmosphere was always convivial, the food ranged from good to excellent (depending on the night and era), and we considered it an excellent value. This was our first visit in 2 summers, and even though the welcome was warm, the food nicely prepared, the usual crowd of locals was missing from the bar. Also missing was the early dinner special we used to love on Sundays, and no sign of a bargain lobster night. We left the restaurant full, and smiling, but not as broadly as we had before. Ownership? Management? Chef? I don't know, but at this time there are better food, values, and ambience to be had in the East Hampton/Montauk area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanA2139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We walked into Michael's and imagined that we'd found the great "hidden" East End spot. The truth: nice enough atmosphere and refreshing to have a place with fewer of the E. Hampton crowd. That said, aside from a nice selection of wines by the glass, our dinner from start to finish was mediocre at best.

Flat beer on tap.
Caesar Salad that was fine but what with a dressing that had no defining flavor.
"Wasabi" dipping sauce that tasted like tartar sauce for the calamari.

We hoped that the main courses would be better and in some ways they were. The sides that came with our two fish entrees included a nice mound of jasmine rice and delicious spinach. The coating for the salmon was heavy-handed ginger and soy and the fried flounder was fine. The medium rare steak, however, was fatty and charred.

We tried three desserts: a brownie with ice cream, a key lime pie, and cheese cake. All plates came decorated with a stripe of chocolate and berry coulis and strange tasting whipped cream. The brownie was the best. The key lime was way too sweet.

Service was fine. Sad to say, we did not discover the great hidden gem and only wished that we had gone to one of our regular haunts or cooked at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TCATHudsonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We are once a weekend-ers! LOVE THIS PLACE!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

2 minutes from my house! Thank you Michaels for restoring yourself to your former glory! Years ago, we ate at Michaels and had 100's of ants crawling all over our table... since that happened, we used to pass on the way to the beach and cringe. Over the last few years, the place has done a 180. All cleaned up - with excellent food on the menu! LOVE THIS PLACE!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, unfortunately no patio/ veranda”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Went to Michaels' during our one-week-stay in East Hampton Spring (my wife and I, plus 2 friends).
We all went for the 3-course-inner that offered great value. We found the starters to be really good (salads and asian mussels). For the main course we had the steames lobster, which was pretty good, but if I could choose again, I'd rather go for the black angus steak, that my mate had. Very tender and great quality beef, good sides (baked potatoe and green beans).
Desserts were also delicious: flowerless chocolate cake, apple or rhubarb crumble .. forgot about the rest.
Only reason not to give a "5-star-rating" is that on such a nice evening we had to sit inside, as there is no outside seating available at all.
Still, we'd go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No red rope/no secret password required”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

There are so many wonderful restaurants in East Hampton but Michaels' is the one that I return to most often. Excellent food and a warm and wonderful, fun environment that's a refreshing change from some of the trendier restaurants in town. The food is always fresh and beautifully prepared, and the bar is outstanding. While I never eaten in the bar area, it is always busy and many people do. It's all the same great food! The seafood is a standout, especially the lobster, and oddly enough, they serve a simple salad that is totally off the charts and, IMO, enough for two. After a day at the beach or a drive about town, I can think of no better way than to end my day at Michaels' near Maidstone Beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Carreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michaels' at Maidstone Beach also viewed

 
East Hampton, Hamptons
 
East Hampton, Hamptons
East Hampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Michaels' at Maidstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing