We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Unique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill House Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

What an amazing place for my first trip to the Hamptons! I took my family here to "get away." Everyone LOVED IT! I chose this place because the website was cool and the rooms looked cozy. I didn't expect to get all of the extras that go along with this place! 5 Star breakfast EVERY MORNING - cookies, coffee, tea, snacks any time of the day - SAUNA in the bathroom - and most importantly, the most tentative and friendly staff I have ever encountered. My parents went out and bought a package of ice cream and took it back to their room. Moments later, they were greeted by chilled ice cream bowls from a staff member who noticed them come in!! Who does that?! It was raining a couple of days we were there -- there was a basket of umbrellas -- one for each member of my family -- waiting for us at each departure. The list goes on and on, but most importantly is the feeling of home. We felt like we truly belonged there and were appreciated. I couldn't even think of anything to improve upon because to me, this place was perfect. (Thank you J and Courtney and Chloe and the rest of the crew!!)

Room Tip: If you have a chance... get the suite!!! You'll enjoy the room, fireplace and sauna! Soooooo wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "Truly Unique"

Hi Rosemary

Thank you for the rave review. The whole team appreciates your words, and most important - we care about you! It is at the core of our Art of Hospitality that we do everything possible to make you the hero of your trip. We are so glad the whole family was happy with your choice for your “get away."

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. And yes, you do belong here - please come back soon! ~ Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    17
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
45
161
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I spent my 50th birthday here in May 2013 with 3 friends after recommendations for the Hamptons.

Outstanding place to stay, in beautiful surroundings.

Service was absolutely perfect, everyone was so lovely and helpful,

Breakfast is fantastic - loved all the fresh juices!

Thank you and I look forward to returning soon!

The perfect way to spend a special birthday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "Absolutely perfect"

Hi Kate,
Thank You for all the compliments, everyone on the team is smiling. We are thrilled that we gave you a perfect birthday.
So, we are coming up on your birthday again… We miss you! Are you coming back soon? After all, every birthday is special and we have so much more to share with you.

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn!

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. Since you were here Carolyn Stec became our Executive Chef and breakfast is even better. Her idea of "Farm to Table" is to ride her bicycle to the local farms and see what’s special for her kitchen. ~ Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Amazing, amazing place to stay, not only the beautiful accommodation, and the excellent food (which was available all the time) but most of all the incredible service, thank you, thank you, this place is truly "heaven on earth" don't change a thing J and Courtney! : ) : )

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "What a gem!!!"

Hi Janet,
Thanks for the superlatives... "Amazing, beautiful, excellent, incredible, & heaven on earth" Very Seriously, Thank You!

OK, so we did change something… Since you were here Carolyn Stec has become our Executive Chef and the food is even better than before! Carolyn has been my best friend forever, we roomed together at Johnson & Wales and we are thrilled to have her onboard. ~ Courtney

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. We hope your Cory dog has adapted well to life in Australia and that you have “paid forward” the love shown to you from Lynn and John. ~ Sylvia

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. We hope your Cory dog has adapted well to life in Australia and that you have “paid forward” the love shown to you from Lynn and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We just returned from an absolutely perfect stay at the Mill House. This was our first trip to the East Hampton but it will surely not be our last. The staff was welcoming and friendly! The rooms were well appointed and comfortable..... and did I mention the food? The breakfast is amazing, the snacks, delicious and satisfying.I cannot imagine are more blissful experience than this!Thank you to all who work so hard to make this a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "Amazing"

Hi Sharon
Thanks a bunch! It’s such boost to get a review like this. Our staff always strives to give you a warm and friendly welcome. And the food - since you stayed with us our new Executive Chef Carolyn Stec has raised the bar! We can’t wait to have you try some of her amazing ‘Nacks. And J has taken over the Caffeine Culture. OMG!

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. As Gary has said before - the memories go both ways. We relish the memories of each and every guest and we can’t wait for you to come back so we can treat you even better. ~ Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We spent a night here just after Easter, and had exactly what we needed...rest, relaxation and pampering. Arrived in the early afternoon, without having eaten lunch and were able to check in early. The wide range of snacks turned out to be enough for lunch, and the room (The America's Cup Suite) was gorgeous. It was our anniversary and this turned out to be a perfect place to spend it. Breakfast in our room the next morning included an awesome lobster fritatta, and lots of other yummy touches. On the whole, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "Great for a post-Easter getaway"

Hi ACTA

Thanks for the wonderful words, it's always a pleasure to check you in early and create a WOW breakfast in bed! ~ Gary

Happy anniversary! How quickly time flies… And although we already missed Easter this year, the lobster Frittata is awaiting your return. If you can come this week we are offering a tax week special with an amazing take on Steak and Eggs - Wood grilled "tellicherry & truffle salt" hanger steak, rosemary jus, balsamic glazed red onion, grilled asparagus, crisp fried egg, rosemary oil, crisp polenta - wow...

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. A little something extra from MHI - Spring is early in the Hamptons this year and a walk though town to make up for Lobster & Steak for breakfast will be absolutely fantastic! ~ Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Lovely B&B with the best service, location, staff and creature comforts. It lived up to its reputation for the best breakfast in East Hampton, but it also far exceeded my expectations for service and amenities. The room amenities in the bathroom are fabulous, and the small touches they provide in the room are wonderful too. It is a pure treat to enjoy the snacks and homemade yummy cookies whenever you wish, as well as all the beverage choices. The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable, you never want for anything. Best located property in the East Hampton Village, you can virtually walk to every restaurant and 1 block to the main shopping street. The beach is a short drive as they all are, but staying here is where you want to be to access all the town has to offer. Highly recommend staying here, you won't regret the choice, a very special place that creates special memories.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "The best Bed & Breakfast Hotel in East Hampton!"

Hi Toni
WOW! We are most thrilled with being able to provide the kind of service that elicits your review! Toni, our menu has become even more "farm to table" and the 'nack bar is filled with so many house made treats from Chef Carolyn, so that's more to try on your next visit.

The entire team says... Thank You! We have lived here forever and know the best of "East End Local" and it is our pleasure to share the insider knowledge. We promise to always pay attention to the details and be worth your praise as you title us "The best Bed & Breakfast Hotel in East Hampton!"

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. Thanks for mentioning "special memories", it works both ways @MHI. We smile at the memories of our guests, the conversations we shared, special events they celebrated, their first trips to the Hamptons and fond thoughts of their return. ~ Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

This is a top notch place, they didn't miss a single detail. We brought our puppy for a weekend of house hunting and stayed in suite 31. The inn hosts were incredibly warm & gracious. The rooms were beautifully appointed-- plush robes, a fireplace, a pedestal tub and separate shower, every bath product you could ever need, stunning linens and even dog treats for our pooch. The inn made 2 dinner reservations for us and followed up to confirm the same day. We had breakfast served in our room and it was delicious. Everything was finished to the tiniest detail-- even the maple syrup was warmed in a charming glass mason jar container. I've stayed in the Hamptons for years, but never in a hotel, I would come back here again in an instant. A+ work. What a gem!.

Room Tip: Super dog friendly place and still pure luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "What a GEM! It's in all the little details..."

Hi Jennifer
Thanks for the compliments, for us it's all about the small details that make your stay so much more pleasant. We pay attention to the little things and listen when you tell us what works for you. That's how we improve our brand of hospitality. Our personal assistants love to take care of the details from dinner reservations to chartering a boat and everything in between, it's why our guests smile so often. Thanks for the A+, we are thrilled with that report card!

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. We specialize in puppies not just dog treats, but chef-made dog food, cool dog beds and everything you need to bring your pooch to the beach. We can even throw and extra special puppy birthday party!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
10.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
6.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
6.3 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
6.1 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The 1770 House
The 1770 House
#4 of 12 in East Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Inn

Property: Mill House Inn
Address: 31 N Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious but casual Hamptons bed and breakfast, steps to spectacular shopping, dining, galleries and the beach in the heart of East Hampton Village. Our small boutique hotel in East Hampton, NY offers world-class service and the best breakfast in the Hamptons! Enjoy beautiful rooms and spacious child and dog friendly suites with private decks, luxurious baths, flat screen TV's and gas fireplaces. Come discover why the Mill House Inn stands apart from all other East Hampton luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel East Hampton
Mill House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing