We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcoming staff”
Review of Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill House Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
1 review
“Warm welcoming staff”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful, comfortable suite (Beach Hampton Suite). Amazing Breakfast. Incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. The people that work here make this place as wonderful as it is. Thank you so much! See you next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn "Warm welcoming staff"

Hi Joe
Thanks for writing Joe, it made us all smile! Glad you enjoyed "Beach Hampton" the white on white theme makes it feel like endless summer. We love cooking breakfast, just as much as everyone like eating it! Food always make people smile, great food makes them never forget.

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. The entire team says "THANK YOU" they certainly do make MHI special. You and all our guests make it wonderful place. ~ Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    17
    8
    2
    9
See reviews for
46
164
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Thank you for a lovely time. My wish for a trip down memory lane has been fulfilled. The trip was everything we had hoped for and so much more. Thank you for your hospitality.
MB
Fabulous setting and even better team running the facility. Couldn't be more helpful with recommendations, getting sailing reservations etc. Looking forward to going Back!
Ed

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "Memory Lane"

Hi Ed & MB
Compliments like yours are why we are in the Hospitality Biz! When traveling we all have the expectation of being taken care of throughout our trip, every little thing being attended to with a smile. Everything and anything, it makes you feel cared for and loved, thats what a hotel must do every day! We are looking forward to your return, there are new restaurants and boats to sail, and summer is around the corner. We can help build another memory, one to consider for years.

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. We really love Ridgefield, especially the Playhouse, great music! It's on the same circuit as Stephen Talkhouse in Amagansett, I remember leaving East Hampton after seeing a show at the Talkhouse to see the same show at the Playhouse a night later!! Memory Lane as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
343 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

It had been a couple of years since we have been here. The place looks even better then I remember. The staff is great ,the suite was just beautiful.. The breakfast was delicious.. The snacks and homemade cookies the best.. Everything and more . Can't wait to return...

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn "The best"

Hi Ginger
Thank You! It's always a pleasure to hear from a returning guest, we appreciate that you found the time to write about us. We are always reviewing what we do at the hotel, finding ways to make everything a little bit better. It's nice to be appreciated for the effort, it's why we look for the next little surprise that will make you smile again & again!

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. Thanks for being part of the "MHI Family" you matter to all of us at the Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the mill house inn several times and I must say this time was the best. The entire ambience is wonderful and the service is as good as it gets. We have stayed at the finest towels all over the world, and I can tell you that jay and Courtney play second fiddle to none of them. A wonderful sanctuary in a town of laughable opulence.

Room Tip: All rooms great, but suites are extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedpro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "Better than ever"

Hi SeasonedPro23
Thank you for your gracious compliments. We do work hard to deliver the highest level of hospitality and we appreciate that you took the time write and say thanks! Wonderful Ambience & Sanctuary, WOW! We also like being "as good as it gets" ~ Courtney & J

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. On your return we promise a new take on "laughable opulence" and we will be "better than Ever" ~ Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and were overwhelmed with the experience. From the moment you step foot into the lobby area you are treated like royalty. Joe and Courtney and the rest of the staff will go above and beyond to exceed your expectations. When we first arrived after a long drive I asked for some water and was then lead to a double fridge with a large selection of assorted drinks, including fresh juices. There is also a counter full of homemade cookies and savory treats as well. In another fridge you can find fresh fruit and delicious cheeses.

While our room was definitely on the small side, the Inn makes it as comfy and cozy as possible. The beds are super comfortable and the room stays very dark in the morning giving my husband and I the chance to sleep VERY late.

The breakfast was superb! They serve you a HUGE fruit plate with yogurt and granola plus whatever you choose off of their amazing menu. The service cannot be better as they will make sure you have everything you need/want.

Even when we went to the beach, they supply the beach chairs, beach pass as well as a cooler filled with water and fruit.

All in all this place is a gem and we look forward to our next visit. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "Seriously Fantastic"

Hi Melanie
Listening to your words is so important to all of us, thanks for writing! As we reflect on everything we hear, we know what matter most to you. And it becomes instantly apparent, that over the years our hotel has been built by every guests comments! Service matters most, so does a great chocolate chip cookie, a wonderfully cooked breakfast, and the belief the we can and do make everything better tomorrow.

Next time you visit, please do try a suite... I am sure it will leave rephrasing "Seriously Fantastic"

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. We promise to always to be "Worth Every Penny" It's understandable that the Hamptons are expensive, we build value in offering so much more that a room and breakfast. Thank You for understanding and appreciating the valuable difference!! ~ Sylvia & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

What an amazing experience. The staff was so friendly and helpful; Courtney, Jay, and Joe made me feel right at home. Hospitality is on the very top tier at this location. The accommodations at the Mill House Inn inspire the true personality of East Hampton, warmth and luxury. The chef's fresh baked goods are pleasantly delicious.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone or as a intimate couple room 4 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "EXCELLENT SERVICE"

Hi Patricia,
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff always works hard make you feel at home. It’s what we do and It’s the how we perfect our "Art of Hospitality!" But most of all, it’s about you as the hero of your story. And we promise to make it a bestseller every time!

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. Since you have been here our kitchen has been on fire! Please come back soon and meet Chef Carolyn, her take on "East End Farm to Table" is beyond Excellent!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

From the moment you are greeted at the front door the attention to detail is evident . The "snacks " offered spam the spectrum of popcorn to gourmet cheeses . As a guess you feel well taken care of - the only fly in the oiment would be pricing is quite high but everything "out east" is quite high so enjoy your trip and lovely dinners in the area but just don't look at the final numbers

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn - "Outstanding not cheap but what is in the hamptons"

Hi Coxp42
How we say hello is indicative of the rest of our relationship, you are a guest... you are family! Welcome home is most appropriate, each time we open the door. That said you matter, because there is no hotel without fantastic guests just like you, thanks for writing, for caring and for returning.

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. Outstanding would be the appropriate word for you! Thanks for understanding how much we care, your smiles make our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
10.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
6.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
6.1 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Inn

Property: Mill House Inn
Address: 31 N Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious but casual Hamptons bed and breakfast, steps to spectacular shopping, dining, galleries and the beach in the heart of East Hampton Village. Our small boutique hotel in East Hampton, NY offers world-class service and the best breakfast in the Hamptons! Enjoy beautiful rooms and spacious child and dog friendly suites with private decks, luxurious baths, flat screen TV's and gas fireplaces. Come discover why the Mill House Inn stands apart from all other East Hampton luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel East Hampton
Mill House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing