We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Dog Friendly and Romantic Getaway”
Review of Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill House Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BEST Dog Friendly and Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at The Maidstone two weeks ago and had a wonderful time!! The rooms are beautiful, the staff is amazing and they are extremely dog friendly!! Our dog, Opal, had a GREAT time. I can't say enough nice things about The Maidstone. There was even a mix-up with our type of room when we arrived and they fixed it without any problems at all. The Inn is immaculate and beautiful and the gorgeous dog-friendly beach is about a mile and a half down the street past shopping and restaurants. If I did not hurt my leg prior to coming, I would have taken advantage of the gym passes they provide as well. We can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
A Thank You Note From The Mill House Inn "BEST Dog Friendly and Romantic Getaway"

Hi Jodi & Opal
We are so glad that you and Opal had a great time. There are so many dog friendly beaches, on the busiest summer weekend we can always find a bit of tranquility for both of you. The bay beaches are just beautiful for a walk at sunset! Everyone on the team says thank you for the nice words.

It's always our pleasure to welcome you back to your home In the Hamptons at the Mill House Inn

J & Courtney | Innkeepers
Carolyn | Executive Chef
Mike | Office Manager
Sylvia & Gary | Proprietors
And everyone on the Team at The Mill House Inn

PS. Chef has new dog biscuits and a new gourmet dog food on Opal's Menu! Woof...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    19
    9
    2
    8
See reviews for
55
181
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We traveled with our 3 children from Portugal and we really loved to stay stay in Mill House Inn!
Felt like home, very peaceful and good taste. Great breakfast! We had dinner in East Hampton Grill and the meal was delicious. Beautiful shops and nice walks on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious and the bathroom is like a Spa experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
A Thank You Note
From The Mill House Inn

Wow Sofia! We really loved your visit and are delighted that the Mill House felt like your peaceful home in the Hamptons. That is indeed our wish. We also wish we were able to deliver Breakfast although Portugal might be a bit beyond our reach, :) so you may need to return soon!

Sylvia & Gary Muller
Proprietors
The Mill House Inn
East Hampton NY

PS. Glad you liked walking on our beaches, what are yours like in Portugal? Planning our next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Fantastic service, immaculate rooms with plenty of private and public areas to enjoy, and a phenomenal breakfast menu are highlights at the Mill House Inn.
My husband and I "mini-mooned" at the Mill House Inn for three nights in early May 2014. Everything about our stay was perfect. We were welcomed by J., Courtney, and Carolyn with offers of coffee, tea, and baked goods and then escorted to our suite located at the back of the property. A brief tour highlighted the fantastic amenities - full sized porch with dining area and lounge chairs; living room with wet bar and dining area, comfortable couches, flat screen tv, and a gas fire place; a bathroom complete with dual shower head glass shower and huge soaking tub. We took advantage of all of this during our stay and enjoyed quite afternoons reading on the porch, bike rides through town, quiet dinners in restaurants that are packed in the summer months, and movie nights with freshly made popcorn in front of the fire in our suite.
The Mill House Inn staff were invaluable in making restaurant recommendations and reservations, as well as generally making us feel welcomed. With every interaction their commitment to hospitality was paramount no request or inquiry was too big or too small. The other guests were lovely - each had wonderful things to say about their own stays and many were returning guests. My husband and I are already looking forward to our next visit.
A special thank you to Gary and Sylvia for helping us celebrate our wedding weekend!

Room Tip: Each room is unique and offers something special. When calling to make a reservation tell the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
A Thank You Note “What Matters Most"
From The Mill House Inn

It was our pleasure helping you with the celebration of your wedding! Thank You Emily, for your kind comment "Everything about our stay was perfect” it was appreciated by our entire team. Our belief in the Art of Hospitality means that we listen attentively, pay attention to the details, appreciate when you smile and work to make your next visit even more special. It is truly why we are here, for the smiles!

Thank you for noticing that every guest request is taken to heart by our team, it is our concern that you know how much we care. About your travels, your stay with us, everything you enjoyed in the Hamptons, your journey home and… What matters most is that you leave with the feeling that your trip made everything in life a little bit better, today & tomorrow.

Sylvia & Gary Muller
Proprietors
The Mill House Inn
East Hampton NY

PS. We look forward to your return, please leave the trip to us and enjoy the journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just spend a long weekend at the Mill House Inn (our first visit here). Every moment we were there we felt pampered and special. In a world where customer service is shrinking by the minute the Mill House Inn has it in spades. We had a busy weekend with some family events to attend and the night prior we placed our breakfast and coffee order so we could get out the door quickly. Everything was cooked to perfection and served promptly. They have a huge selection of coffees but I'm a tea drinker and LOVED their 24hr Tazo tea bar (plus all the home baked cookies and goodies!). After we arrived and unpacked we sat on the porch with tea and cookies and enjoyed the cool breeze and pretty view of the windmill. It was so relaxing. Our room was on the 3rd floor. It had a huge fluffy king bed, 2 chairs and ottoman next to the fireplace, flat screen tv and a cozy marble tiled bathroom with huge soaking tub. It was such a lovely room that didn't want for anything. We did have a climate control glitch the first night there and our room was quite warm (especially for early May) but they gave us a small oscillating fan which helped and by the time we returned to our room on Saturday the air conditioning was fixed. Overall our stay at the Mill House Inn exceeded our expectations and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnDog, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Perfection WOW! That is our lofty goal! Thank You for mentioning all the great stuff that our team does everyday. Chef sends a big smile, So glad that you enjoyed breakfast. Great Hospitality is all about the relationships we build, at MHI we strive know who you are, what you like and simply want to deliver more smiles! If there is something we might do to make your next stay more special, please let us know. Thank You for making us your home in the Hamptons, we look forward to your return!

Sylvia & Gary Muller
Proprietors
The Mill House Inn
East Hampton NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a beautiful location, in looking out at a Windmill and down the Road into a thriving summer or Winter Setting, walk to the Ocean, bike Ride around town, shop in local and upscale stores, surrounded by the #1 Beach in the USA, walk to some of the Best Restaurants........relax under a shade tree, sit on a bench off Main Street and watch regular town people, movie stars, Rich & Famous, and a cross section of all of America & Foreign Visitors......just doing what you do!
Great for a lovers weekend get away or a big family get together.......you don't even need a car, unless you want to travel around to the wineries, shelter Island, and visit all the other adjoining little towns.......

Room Tip: Quiet Rooms would be found out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnDog, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
What a great travel experience, you certainly highlighted the best of the Hamptons. Thank you for the wonderful words, we are certainly looking forward to your return to The Mill House this season. if there is anything we might be of help with please let us know, it would be our pleasure to be of assistance. From travel plans to dinner reservations we really like to help.

Thanks Again

Sylvia & Gary Muller
Proprietors
The Mill House Inn
East Hampton NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Great location! Exceptionally clean! Staff was so welcoming and took such good care of us! Breakfast was delicious and snacks were available thoughout the day. Could not have asked for more! Mill House Inn was the perfect choice!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary M, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Colin, Hope you are enjoying lovely Greenwich
Your comment of “Perfect Choice" make everyone at The Mill House :) SMILE, a great big thank you for liking us! On that note our team really appreciates comfortable and delicious, if there is something we might add to make you smile more, please let us know. If its a breakfast dish, a favorite snack or coffee we will name it after you! Seriously PERFECT is a compliment we want to improve upon for your next visit, let us know how! Please do give those LUXE cards away and ask us for more, it would be our pleasure.

Sylvia & Gary Muller
Proprietors
The Mill House Inn
East Hampton NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANDOLPH NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

In February the northeast has been crippled by snow, so bad that leading up to valentines weekend there was a State of Emergency in NJ the day we were supposed to leave to check in on Thursday, February 13th. We called the Mill House Inn to cancel our arrival date of Thursday because there was a state of emergency and if you get caught driving with state of emergency you can get fined. We were going to stay through Sunday February 16th So we took a very risk adverse approach and made sure our safety was intact while abiding by the law. When we called the Mill House Inn to cancel our night they told us because we were not within the cancellation policy of 60 days, we could not get our money back but they could issue us a credit to use within one year. Are you kidding me? We could not leave our state and now you hold our money to obligate us to come back? There was NO flexibility when trying to negotiate with the proprietors and hey even told us those who had to cackle for hurricane Sandy did not get their money back. While The Mill House Inn is beautiful and has fantastic breakfasts, I would have second thoughts about coming back here again because of the lack of flexibility and ignorance by the site owners. If you have such a strict policy around canceling and an act of a God will not allow you to get your money back, I question the moral of the owners.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms 4 or 5. They are right about the check inn desk and main lobby and does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OhYeahRandolphNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheInnDog, Owner at Mill House Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
We are all pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful Inn and our fantastic breakfast. East Hampton is always wonderful after a new snowfall, we are also happy you were able to see our village at such a pristine moment. Your smiles at departure, fresh baked cookies in hand, assured us that you that you had a pleasant trip to the Hamptons.

The travel & hospitality industries are greatly affected by inclement weather. As businesses owners large and small our natural reaction is to protect our guests' welfare. We advise them not to travel if conditions are extreme, we assist with alternative travel arrangements, we accommodate guests in need of lodging by adjusting rates to meet their budgets. We provide livery services and meals at no charge and have been known to open more than a few bottles of wine. In short, it’s our business to care!

The Mill House Inn is extremely proud of how we care for our guests durring an emergency and long after the events are forgotten. We have a policy that allows most cancellations, regardless of cause, to recoup their investment on their next trip to the Hamptons. We extend credit, issue gift certificates, lengthen deadlines and donate room nights to charity. We always work with our guests to find a mutually acceptable solution. One that keeps them anticipating their next trip to The Mill House Inn.

We are sorry that you missed the first day of your trip to The Mill House Inn. I do hope you have received your Email Gift Certificate with an upgrade to stay in one of our luxury suites upon your return. Please do contact any of our personal assistants and let us know how we might make you next Hamptons experience a most special adventure.

Sylvia & Gary Muller
Proprietors
The Mill House Inn
East Hampton NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
10.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.8 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
104 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
111 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 12 in East Hampton
239 reviews
6.1 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Inn

Property: Mill House Inn
Address: 31 N Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious but casual Hamptons bed and breakfast, steps to spectacular shopping, dining, galleries and the beach in the heart of East Hampton Village. Our small boutique hotel in East Hampton, NY offers world-class service and the best breakfast in the Hamptons! Enjoy beautiful rooms and spacious child and dog friendly suites with private decks, luxurious baths, flat screen TV's and gas fireplaces. Come discover why the Mill House Inn stands apart from all other East Hampton luxury hotels! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel East Hampton
Mill House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing