We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Vacation!”
Review of Mill House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mill House Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 East Hampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous week at the Mill House Inn. Everything written in the reviews is absolutely true! From the second you walk through the front porch, the inn and innkeepers welcome you into a warm and relaxing atmosphere.

The breakfast entrees are the BEST that you will ever have! There aren't words to describe how delicious it is. You order from a menu that can match any restaurant menu and the generous portions are out of this world! We never needed to eat lunch. On a sideboard in the dining room, there is a constant supply of pretzels, fruit, wonderful cookies and drinks.

The Mill House has thought of everything to make their guests stay comfortable. We have stayed in many B&Bs and this was absolutely the best one ever! The behind the scenes work that went on was seamless - our rooms were cleaned and straightened up before we were finished our breakfast!

Sylvia, Gary, Lee and all of the help are the friendliest innkeepers and are there to make sure that you have an enjoyable stay.

The inn is located in the heart of town...just a few steps to shopping, restaurants and historic areas. The beaches are a short walk, drive or bike ride away.

You will not go wrong staying at this first-class B&B!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AMG1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 326 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Carlisle, PA
12
Reviewed 13 March 2006

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend, and I'll bulletpoint the visit.

*Unbelievable breakfast -- a benchmark breakfast!!
*Great management - Lee was very friendly!!
*Perfect Inn size - 10 rooms is very quaint!!
*Great town -- Great beaches, Great restaurants!!
*Clean and Comfortable rooms!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2006

We ventured out east to this inn with our two retriever pups for the holidays. We were looking for something different this year and we got it. The suite we reserved was perfect for us, and especially suited for our furry "children": Wood floors, 'fridge, bowls, a container full of 'treats', a packet of baggies, and a private entrance for visits outside when nature called. The linens, toiletries, towels, furniture and fixtures were all top notch. I loved the white decor and white walls and especially the fireplace. It was extremely comfortable and serene. Breakfast was delicious too. Every detail was addressed. What a great way to break away from the same-old holiday fare.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
White Plains
11
Reviewed 6 January 2006

My wife and I were very pleased (again) with our stay and wonderful accommodations at this beautifully appointed getaway inn in East Hampton. The suites are magnificently decorated & painstakingly detailed. The gas fireplaces & luxurious featherbeds help to make this a great romantic getaway or simply a delightful respite from a sometimes hectic lifestyle. The innkeeper, Sylvia, and her staff are great. We are planning to make the Millhouse Inn a regular stop for local mini-vacations!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, N.Y.
11
Reviewed 3 January 2006

I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday and the new year celebration. We could not get out of the room on her birthday - the bed was entirely too comfortable and the ambience much too romantic. Topping off that day, we were very pleasantly surprised when the owners sent up a bottle of champagne - such hospitality is, sadly, uncommon these days.
The breakfasts are, without a doubt, the most scandalously delicious you will have on the East End.
The Innkeepers are so warm you feel as though you are family about 15 minutes after you arrive.
I must say that prior to my stay I thought them a bit expensive. After our visit, I find them to be a true bargain.
Stay there. As long as you can. A lot.
We are going back and hope to become regulars.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2005

We just returned from a stay at the Mill House Inn. We visited East Hampton for our honeymoon. We stayed in the Sail Away room and it was just what we had hoped. The location is so convenient, you can walk to all the downtown restaurants & shopping. The beach is just a short drive away. The made-to-order breakfast is great and best of all, the inn-keepers are helpful with advice on what to do around town. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2005
2  Thank kategarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2005

I'm a big fan of the B&Bs of the Select Registry and the Mill House Inn didn't disappoint. The room was cozy and the bed comfy. It was a nice touch having free bottled water in the room. The bathroom was a little cramped but the products were great... Essential Elements and hand milled soaps from a local place. There were yummy cookies, pretzels and other goodies as well as teas and coffee available in the evening for snacks. The breakfast selections were many and the food was plentiful. Besides the hot entree breakfast was accompanied by a good range of fresh fruit with a nice champagne syrup on the side. The inn keepers were hospitable but not intrusive. We were there during the off season so we received a good rate. The beach season rates are through the roof but that is the Hamptons no matter where you stay in the summer. All in all it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wackygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
10.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.8 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
109 reviews
6.1 mi away
East Hampton Art House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The 1770 House
The 1770 House
#4 of 11 in East Hampton
117 reviews
10.2 mi away
White Fences Inn
White Fences Inn
#1 of 3 in Water Mill
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Maidstone Hotel
The Maidstone Hotel
#5 of 11 in East Hampton
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Inn

Address: 31 N Main St, East Hampton, NY 11937-2601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in East Hampton
Price Range: £205 - £1,559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mill House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual luxury in the heart of East Hampton Village. Just steps to spectacular dining, shopping, galleries and the world’s best ocean beaches. MHI is The Hamptons B&B that Zagat’s named one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the USA. Your Personal Assistant will provide world-class service and promise ‘to help you travel better’ and we always keep our promise's. Our farm to table breakfast was awarded a 28 by Zagat’s and Google says we deserve 4.5 Stars. Our beautiful rooms and expansive suites have private decks, soaking tubs, steam showers, flat screen HD TV’s and fireplaces, many are child and dog friendly. They may tempt you to spend the day perfecting the art of doing nothing, curled up in your living room watching a classic movie or finishing that novel sipping wine by the fire. It would be our pleasure to show you the MHI Art of Hospitality, the only choice you need make is to give us a call. Rest assured, we promise to take care of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mill House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel East Hampton
Mill House Inn East Hampton, Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing