We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD CHOICE!!!”
Review of East Hampton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hampton House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Hampton
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BAD CHOICE!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed at this "resort" motel for a friends wedding, it was close to their venue but the hotel was gross. It smelt like take out food the whole time, hair always in the "clean" tub, broken screen door, so bugs can get in. The kitchette was disgusting, do not bring your own food to cook there. There is no staff at night, so if you need something expect to get it your self. Lastly my husband forgot his shoes there, i had called and asked them to mail it back, she said no problem they will go in the mail today, its been over a week, we never recieved them yet so i called today the guy i spoke to asked the girl behind the desk what happened and she told him(not knowing i could hear her) i should have paid fed ex my self to pick them up. After the $650 weekend we spent there you would think they could shell out $5 to send them out fed ex themselves!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROCKY1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    45
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
32
42
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at East Hampton House in unit #114 on one of those off season weekends where it was cold and sunny with snow on the ground one day and the next it was sunny and 60 degrees?! The room was great as we watched the sun rise into the big sky & then stream into the room where we laid on the floor and soaked up the sunny rays – it was like having your own personal solarium! The next day when it was warm and sunny, we had the sliding glass doors open and heard the winter ocean roaring in the distance! We perfectly enjoyed our home away from home – the unit had everything we wanted – a flat screen tv, a dvd player, access to the internet (though we had to pay for that) and even a brand new bed. And with a coffee maker and a small refrigerator we were winter weekend ready. We’ll definitly come back in the warmer weather and take advantage of what looks to be a lovely pool and the tennis courts. The property itself is nicely landscaped and looks to have some matured plantings which make it feel more like a home area than a motel property. And less costly than renting or buying a home on the Hamptons! I would recommend renting one of the upper units because they have open decks - if you are downstairs you’ll have the overhang and not the wide open space that the upstairs decks provide.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKNY2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We have stayed at the East Hampton House every year for the last 5 years and love it.
It is great for our family because it has a beautiful pool and playground and the beach is very close. There is plenty of space for the kids to run around and the restaurants are close by. My husband also made use of the tennis courts and played golf nearby.
We have already booked our stay for this summer. Would recommend highly.

Laura Lopez

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scofel8491
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2009

I stayed there with my husband and children for a mini vacation. The room was clean and cheerful. The furniture was attractive and the kids loved the flat screen TV and DVD. The beach was close by but the kids perferred the pool, so we compromised and did both everyday. We just came back from disney and the kids are already asking us when are we going back to the Hamptons ! We are definitely going back again this year, only this time we will reserve a room weeks before we want to go. The rooms seem to book quickly and dates are limited. So if you have particular dates in mind don't wait. I know we won't !

Felice S from Wantagh

  • Liked — Close to shopping, beach and restaurants
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scofel8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2007

I went out for the weekend to visit the east end wineries and buy some pumpkins. We stayed at the EHH and it was just lovely. The room is spacious, has a great TV with a DVD player and a cute little kitchen. The grounds are beautiful this time of year. It's a little piece of paradise away from the city. The unit had a little patio that we sat on in the morning to enjoy our coffee (which is free in the lobby). We just love this place and come back every year.

  • Liked — Great off season rates
  • Disliked — That I had to go home
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luckycharms07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at EHH for five days after the season for the Hamptons was over. We had a wonderful stay with no problems whatsoever to report. I read the other reviews and have no idea what those people are talking about. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful, the pool area has lush flowers and a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere with plenty of towels for your use. The computer in the lobby is of ultimate conveinance as I was able to look up local restaurants and check my e-mail on a daily basis. The cleaning lady was always prompt and left the room in excellent condition. I would recommend EHH to anyone and everyone I know.

  • Liked — The beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — No problems to report
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishsunflower72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We spent 4 nights at this property on Rt 27 in East Hampton, and believe me it feels good to be home. It is really astonishing to us how they can get away with charging $325 plus per night and provide quite possibly the worst beds we have ever slept on.

Partially it is our own fault for not having planned enough in advance to make a better choice for East Hampton accommodations. But if you just have less than a week and you book it last minute you're kind of stuck with a few limited choices.

In addition, because it is a typical road motel type set up, you will hear all your fellow guests screaming and shouting as they get in and out of their cars and gather their kids and supplies for whatever outing they are embarking or returning from.

The furnishings in the room are college dormitory quality, and the bathrooms are so tiny you cannot open the door fully as it impinges on the commode.

Oh and don't expect your laptop to work in many of the rooms,even if you do pay the additional $10 per day. The signal was too weak to work properly, although management did claim that they were expecting a new router to be hooked up soon.

A word about Hampton eateries... best meal of the week goes to Nichol's. Worst most overhyped meal....The Laundry. Worst new restaurant...Town Line Barbecue. Most amateurish service goes to Wei Fun. Restaurant which we may afford a second chance... Fresno. And most enjoyable meal in Sag Harbor...Dockside.

Once again, this property, part of the Dunes Resorts family, is substandard in too many ways to make it a viable option in the Hamptons unless you have absolutely no other choice.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank owiseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Hampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hampton
9.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
7.2 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
114 reviews
7.7 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#21 of 39 in Montauk
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
343 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
161 reviews
13.1 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hampton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hampton House

Property: East Hampton House
Address: 226 Pantigo Rd, East Hampton, NY 11937-2644
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — East Hampton House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your East Hampton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hampton House Hotel East Hampton
East Hampton Hotel
East Hampton House Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing