We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Power in action”

Hanford Mills Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Meredith
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hanford Mills Museum, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is one of only a handful of operating water powered mills in the country. The 70-acre historic site, nestled in the northwestern Catskills, features guided Mill tours; waterwheel demonstrations; sawmill and vintage woodworking machines; the John Hanford Farmhouse (which recreates home life in the 1920s), and other historic buildings. Guided tours and demonstrations offered Wednesdays - Sundays, and holiday Mondays (Memorial Day, Labor Day and Columbus Day) through October 15. Kids 12 and under receive free admission. Special events at Hanford Mills Museum include: the Independence Day Celebration on July 4, the Dan Rion Memorial Antique Engine Jamboree & Powerfest on September 9, the Woodsmen's Festival on October 14, and the Ice Harvest Festival on February 3, 2018. See website for details on Free Family Saturdays, workshops, and other events. Hanford Mills Museum is located at the intersections of Delaware County Routes 10 & 12 in East Meredith, just 10 miles from Oneonta, and 15 miles from Delhi. Hanford Mills Museum is about 35 minutes from Cooperstown, NY. The mission of Hanford Mills Museum is to inspire audiences of all ages to explore connections among energy, technology, natural resources and entrepreneurship in rural communities with a focus on sustainable choices.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Water Power in action”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

awe-inspiring visit to this museum. fabulous tour included watching the water wheel come to life as the water hit it, seeing several unique wood-working tools in action, plus the water-powered saw mill at work. wonderful exhibits; expert docents who were more than accommodating to an elderly visitor in a wheel chair- though I must warn that not everything is handicapped accessible. a must-see to understand the working of water powered mills. with insightful exhibits into the local community as a microcosm of development in upstate New York.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kelly48571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanfordMillsMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Hanford Mills Museum, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
You give a great description of Hanford Mills Museum, thank you for writing a review. We do try to make every accommodation to give access to everyone. Thanks again for review and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmeston, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Step back in time”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fun day at Hanford Mills -- demonstrations of blacksmithing, cutting of lumber using the water powered wheel and steam, and other fun activities taking you back in time. Only about a 1/2 hour from Cooperstown if you want to continue your day after visiting Hanford Mills. In the winter these folks carve ice out of their pond and you can watch that as well as they load up the ice houses. Fun day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanfordMillsMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Hanford Mills Museum, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Glad you enjoyed your day at Hanford Mills Museum. Thanks for writing and pointing out that we are within an easy drive to Cooperstown (and even closer to Oneonta, Delhi and Stamford). Hope you can visit for the Ice Harvest Festival, the first Saturday in February (2/7/15) when we'll be stocking the ice house with blocks cut from the mill pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Enjoyed this Museum during a school Field trip. Amazing to see first hand how difficult things used to be. Wonderfully educational for children with a simplistic and informative tour. Worth the trip to get a feel for some cool History.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yolanda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanfordMillsMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Hanford Mills Museum, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for writing and letting people know about your trip to Hanford Mills Museum. We love hosting field trips. Our interpreters customize the tours depending on the group. And, kids 12 and under receive free admission. Thanks again for coming to Hanford Mills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cool old mill!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was here for a wedding and the wedding was great. Because the wedding was there we could roam about the place and the staff was there giving tours. The mill is really cool. We had a great time talking to the staff and looking at all the old stuff and seeing how the mill was run. I would go there again and if I am ever back in the area I plan on doing so. Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanfordMillsMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Hanford Mills Museum, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We loved hosting the wedding, what a great group of people. Glad you enjoyed the tour and seeing what Hanford Mills Museum has to offer. Hope you can make it for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Steping Back In Time - The end of an era”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of my favorite places to bring friends while visiting in upstate NY is the Hanford Mills Museum located in Meredith. This quaint museum, located about 40 minutes from Cooperstown, is one of the last remaining working mills and represents the end of an era. The staff is very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and how the dairy and lumber industry relates to the history of the mill. During the tour they provide a comprehensive explanation of all the equipment, its use and a demonstration of each piece of equipment so you get the feel for what life was like working in a mill at the turn of the century. After spending a long weekend with friends visiting Cooperstown’s Baseball Hall of Fame, the James Fenimore Cooper House and the Farmer’s Museum, my friends all agreed that Hanford Mills Museum was the most interesting of all the sites and not to be missed. Check the Mills’ calendar for upcoming events which are held on the sight and enjoy stepping back in time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EMoonDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanfordMillsMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Hanford Mills Museum, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We appreciate that you make a point of taking your friends to Hanford Mills Museum. We know it's a little off the beaten path for visitors to Cooperstown, but many agree with you that it's well worth the trip. So glad you enjoyed the guided tour of the Mill, our staff works hard to make the tours educational and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hanford Mills Museum also viewed

Been to Hanford Mills Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing