We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shoot your own pigeon”

Offshore Bar and Bistro Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "Without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever had." Via TripAdvisor. Nestled in the soft undulating dunes on the outskirts of Newquay, with breathtaking views of the North Coast; prepare to make Offshore your new 'go to' bar and bistro! Whether you are wanting an intimate, sunset drenched meal for two in the restaurant, coffee and cake with friends on our comfy sofas, or simply a chance to snuggle under cosy blankets with wine and nibbles on our glass-fronted Mediterranean terrace, you will be greeted like old friends and served the finest local, sustainably sourced food and drink in a setting like no other. If there is one thing we can assure you of; your time at Offshore is something you won't forget in a hurry. In a short space of time, we have built a solid, and long-standing reputation for serving incredible, fairly priced, locally sourced food that not only tastes out of this world, but is a complete visual treat. Seen enough? To book your table, simply call us and we will take care of everything for you.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

and let Angus cook you his Pigeon Breast, Stilton and Walnut salad. The food is all good here (although I would like local Cornish vegetables in season such as peas and broad beans). The platter of various puddings is fantastic, The appetisers (olives, cured meats) are generous. The value is good. I have yet to try the jazz evenings or the lunchtime paella outside on the lawn or the new patio but I have every intention of doing so. This is probably the only restaurant in a sandhill you will ever visit and the view is superb as well. Go

1  Thank pjoneshale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

315 - 319 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I'd heard good things about Offshore and checked out reviews on here before booking a table. Most were really good so I was looking forward to going there for dinner.
First off the location is amazing. You pull into a small car park to see a building that looks no more than just a shack but once you enter you go downstairs and it's a fantastic space. One whole side of the restaurant is basically glass looking out to fantastic views and it was lovely as the sun was setting. The decor is very nice, it's modern, tasteful and we were very happy on first impression. It went a bit downhill from there however. We arrived in the bar area and expected to be greeted and shown to our table, it took quite a while however for the staff to even acknowledge us. She did seem busy but a 'hello' takes two seconds and is just basic customer service. After waiting for her attention she asked us if we would like to order a drink or wait until we were seated. We asked to be seated but she just carried on with something else, at least tell us what's going on, if you are busy for a moment just say exactly that, it's easy. When we were shown to our table it was very cramped next to two other groups and we had to move the table ourselves so that we could all fit in. We were then told that she would fetch us another glass for the table as it had be set out 1 short, it never showed. It then took ages for someone to come back to our table to take our drinks order, there was just a real basic lack of communication between staff and that was a running theme throughout our experience. Once drinks were ordered it took a long time for our food choices to be taken, with specials only being told to us at the very last moment. Simple questions we asked about the food weren't known by the waitress and that is again something that is basic in this industry. I was confused about the staff presentation as well, some were dressed nice and smart whilst others were scruffy with unironed shirts and battered trainers.
The food was decent, I had the duck and really enjoyed it. I have seen in some of the reviews the term 'generous' being used but the portion sizes are quite small. We were all left hungry by our meal and unfortunately the deserts weren't as interesting as the menu online so we left after just a main.
I've been to lots of restaurants around the area and there are much better alternatives, I definitely won't be choosing to go back unfortunately. .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OffshoreCornwall, Owner at Offshore Bar and Bistro Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had a poor customer service experience at Offshore. We endeavour to train our staff to provide excellent customer service, as we want our customers to have an enjoyable and memorable experience at Offshore, from start to finish.

From your comment regarding the “battered trainers”, we are aware of exactly which night you came to Offshore. Unfortunately, we had 2 front of house staff phone in sick at the last minute, so we had to ask a kitchen porter plus one other, to help with front of house, at the last minute, hence the scruffy appearance of one member of staff and the lack of menu knowledge. We apologise that your customer service experience was not up to standard that evening, but would like to assure you that is not the normal experience at Offshore.

We are glad you enjoyed the duck and found the food to be decent, but we were surprised to hear that you were left hungry after your main, as this is the first instance of a negative comment regarding Offshore portion sizes.

If you would like to discuss any of your comments please don’t hesitate to call Angus at Offshore on 01637 830505, as we would like you to return to Offshore. Many thanks, once again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As locals, we popped out for a quick lunch here and it was an absolute delight. It seemed almost a shame to eat the wild boar terrine as it was more of a work of art than a dish. We had a single bowl of chips between us and there were more than we could eat. The general presentation of the restaurant is first class as was the attitude of all the staff who could not have been more helpful. The only slight reservation is that it has a friendly laid back atmosphere but this was not matched by the background music which was just a little too loud and a little too frantic. Or maybe I'm just picky. Note to self - go back regularly before the world finds out about this little gem of a restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Awesome meal with family. We were all very pleased. Gluten free is catered for and menu changes are possible; for instance I really didn't like the idea of cinnamon in mash and was offered sauté potatoes instead.
The price was good considering the amount and quality of the food.
One criticism is... the belly pork was served with salsa on top of the crackling - this caused the crackling to go soft :-( Nothing should ever be on top of crackling - allow people to dress crackling with salsa or gravy but do not make the choice for them!
The view is lovely.
The seating plan is good - there's a nice distance between tables.
The staff were very attentive and friendly.
Service was timely and we didn't feel rushed or was waiting too long for food.
Ample parking and not too difficult to find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank starflowershel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

OMG, you have to go here!! The food is to die for....without a doubt one of the best meals I have ever had. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, great setting and views. I loved it, and will be going back as much as I can! Well done Offshore. Your restuarant is wonderful and you deserve every success.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Offshore Bar and Bistro Cornwall also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing