We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cave Museum, Village Troglodyte de Rochemenier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in Western France, between the Loire valley and the Atlantic coast, the cave dwelling village museum of Rochemenier invites you to discover an underground world.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Troglodyter”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Interesting but most of the information in france ! How is it possible that the knowledge of other language is so bad in France!?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    146
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Something completely different.”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Visited in April 2013 with 4 kids. Did not know what to expect but had read about these troglodyte villages to had to see one. The staff were very helpful and the admission was relatively cheap and once inside the place the kids could just wander about and explore. As adults we found it quite interesting and the kids really enjoyed it. If you are in the area you should try and see one of these villages as they are a remarkable example of a bygone era and not something that you will find in many other places.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 113wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A trip into the past”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The village is a very interesting piece of history and was well laid out. Most of exhibits had French labels but we were given an English guide leaflet and most exhibits were self explanatory anyway. We enjoyed our visit and learnt a lot, we sent a good 1.5 hours there. Glad we went.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda_Coventry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A small village with limited exhibits”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The village is quite small and has limited exhibits. An hour was sufficient for us to see the village and its exhibits. In terms of value for money it was probably just about OK considering small entry fee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frederic m, Gérant at Cave Museum, Village Troglodyte de Rochemenier, responded to this review, 31 July 2016
Google Translation
Je vous remercie de l'avis que vous avez écrit sur le musée de Rochemenier. Je comprends votre avis écrit en 2013. La nouvelle équipe de gestion est arrivée en février 2013 et depuis bientôt 4 ans nous travaillons à la mise en valeur des objets exposés en apportant une nouvelle muséographie, des informations complémentaires pour comprendre les objets et surtout la vie que les gens avaient dans ces habitations souterraines. La durée de la visite est aujourd'hui d'environ 1h30 et devrait encore s'allonger avec les mises en place en 2017 pour les 50 ans du musée.
Au plaisir de vous revoir à Rochemenier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
388 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A little hokey but worth a side trip!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This place is out of the way and not easy to find but our GPS got us there. My husband thought it was hokey but I found the whole idea of carving out your personal living space from rock a fascinating idea! Glad I went!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cave Museum, Village Troglodyte de Rochemenier also viewed

Doue-la-Fontaine, Maine et Loire
 
Doue-la-Fontaine, Maine et Loire
Saumur, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Cave Museum, Village Troglodyte de Rochemenier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing