We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Shearwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shearwater Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 East Quogue B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We needed a place to stay for the weekend after a week spent in the Hamptons. Found this lovely B&B. They have four bedrooms - I saw one other than mine and they are spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There is a large sitting room-breakfast room which is very welcoming and comfortable. There is a large backyard and deck to enjoy any time of the day. There is a small refrigerator in breakfast room to keep wine and cheese chilled. The first thing I noticed was how very clean everything was - one could have eaten off the floors! Absolutely wonderful home cooked breakfast. Everything you could possibly want was provided. The owners made eggs with mint that was outstanding. They shared the recipe and am planning on making the eggs soon. Th owners are very helpful with answering questions about the area and places to visit. I would highly recommend this B&B and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benitakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

After four great, but hectic days in New York City, it was a warm welcome at Maureen's and Tom's Bed & Breakfast.
We spent three days at this great location. The room was very nicely furnished, every morning we had a great breakfast, the garden was really nice to have a drink and relax, the distance to the beach is perfect, so for us the perfect place to spend a few relaxing days.
Maureen and Tom thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rens_Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Hi- My wife and I just returned from spending the July 4 weekend at the Shearwater Inn. We had a wonderful time. The accomodations were terrific. We would definately return. An added plus was the beach equipment and beach permit. We also enjoyed the breakfast that was served every morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TML702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I stayed here with my wife for a weekend in late August for my first visit to the Hamptons. Found it through the great reviews it has received on tripadvisor. Maureen and Tom are running a great bed and breakfast. They really make you feel at home and provide you with great information on beaches to go to and things to see in the area. That was especially helpful for me and my wife since we had not been to the Hamptons before. Breakfast was delicious and there was something different each morning. Tom's sicilian eggs with mint were very good, ask him to make them when you go! All in all it was a great weekend. The beach is a short 10 minute drive away, and when you come back to the b&b at the end of the day it's peaceful and you can relax. Hope to make another trip next summer (how is it November already?) Thanks again Maureen and Tom!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SufficientCondition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Hotel/Bed and Breakfast accommodation is rather thin on the ground in the Hamptons, but Maureen and Tom Valenza have created a wonderfully friendly B&B tucked away between Westhampton and Southampton. There are only four rooms, but they are huge with plenty of space to relax. The bathrooms are well appointed too. Tom and Maureen couldn't be more helpful in providing help, information and directions for beaches, attractions and dining. Breakfast is hot and varies every day with fresh fruit and pastries as accompaniment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pressgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I was at the Shearwater Inn at the beginning of August for some beach relaxation by myself in the Hamptons. The great thing about this B & B is how friendly and helpful Maureen, the innkeeper, is. She was always there to answer my questions about where to eat/which beach to go to, and her breakfasts were incredible. The french toast was my personal favorite. Getting the beach pass included in the room rate was also a big plus. Definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterklaven19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed here for three days with our one year old. I was a little nervous being in such close quarters (its a big house with a large beautiful yard, but still...its a B&B, not the Hyatt) with a potentially difficult toddler in tow, however we felt MORE than welcome and baby loved it! Wonderful breakfasts, very kind hosts always willing to offer suggestions. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas, a picnic box for the beach (great touch!), coffee, fruit and cookies always set out for us...a truly great experience. We hope that the Shearwater Inn stays around for a long time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shearwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Inn

Address: 25 Josiah Foster Path, East Quogue, NY 11942-4429
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > East Quogue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Quogue
Price Range: £249 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest inn in the Hamptons. Minutes to ocean beaches (complimentary beach passes provided), outlet shopping, antique shops, Splish Splash Water park , Riverhead Aquarium, and North Fork wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shearwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Inn Hamptons/East Quogue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing