We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday in Kurumba.”
Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First of all, I must compliment the staff of Kurumba, they truly make you feel special and very welcomed. At the airport I was picked up by Ashot, who was very helpful and helped me with the baggage, after a short boat ride there I was in this tropical paradise island called Kurumba! My Bungalow was right on the beach. I was so impressed by the crystal clear water and the fish everywhere. Snorkeling was awesome. Food was great. The staff was very good, the housekeeping, the F&B, the Guest Service, everyone was really helpful and friendly. The reception staff was so efficient and I can't remember all names but they were all great no exceptions. The lady at the souvenir shop was very nice and helped to pick a few nice bits and pieces. Anyway, about my Bungalow, wow, what a nice cozy place that was! The bathroom had an outdoor shower. The cleanliness was great,the room service was pretty quick deliviering the orders, free wi-fi and the room was cleaned twice a day! I can't thank the team at Kurumba enough for my fantastic holiday experience. Highly recommend. I think if you're looking for a great experience then Kurumba is definetely a good choice.
P.S Becareful with the sun it's pretty strong, use the sun block.

Room Tip: The bungalow I was staying in was so literaly on the beach, I could see the ocean from my bed. I wou...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChefKAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,625)
There are newer reviews for Kurumba Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,896 - 1,902 of 3,625 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have stayed at many resorts from Jamacia to Sri Lanka and this was the best by far
Everything in the Maldives is expensive. If you want to go there you just accept this fact.
We took the full board package, so then you can relax and just don't worry about how much anything costs.
the restaurants on site were great we visited the Middle Eastern twice the maitre de was helpful attentive and with a great sense of humor. He was totally in control and made for a great night with amazing Targines. The ocean grill also incredible so fresh.
Drinks available all the time
staff friendly and discrete and extremely helpful without waiting for a tip and I thought genuine.

snorkeling: Yes white sand and shallow, but trick is find out the high tide and snorkel then we were snorkeling at 7.30am and 6pm. Depending on your swimming skills you can venture out of the barriers and we saw black and white tipped sharks amazing colorful fish, and a octopus,
Aussie manager did a great job with this resort and no need to look elsewhere.
tours to Male and outer snorkeling trips
we also saw a baby turtle on the beach!

Room Tip: bungalows near the beach bar. we had 172.seemed to be close to everything also had a good gym.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westwoodGlebeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Initially, we were supposed to send our honeymoon here in Kurumba, but due to full occupancy we found out another resort to stay, and moved to Kurumba only 2 days before our departure, since the resort is conveniently located close to the airport.

The resort is big, though we haven't felt the coziness and it was not comfortable to walk long distance from the Restaurant. The island reminds you of a small green village with small streets, rather than a real island.

The staff was professional and helpful. The prices are quite higher that in another Resort where we stayed before coming there. Including the Dinning areas, though the variety of food is even less.

The room was clean and neat. The bathroom has a separate open bath and closed shower. Everything is nicely designed, the Island is relatively new-build, maybe that's why we couldn't feel the real spirit of it

Over all it is not bad, but definitely there are better options with good value for money, just more time is needed to explore. Kurumba is just a well promoted Resort with strong brand management nothing more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gayané G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Garane’,

Thank you for your trip advisor review. We do use our guest feedback constructively to ensure that we continually improve for our future guests.

As I am sure you can image, being a larger resort with many choices of restaurants, activities, entertainment and facilities, it can be quick a challenge to feel the spirit of the resort in a short one night stay. We certainly put much effort into developing a creative guest journey with many unique touches and experiences that can take several days to discover. Our intention is certainly to exceed the expectations of our guests and be quite unique in this experience.

My apologies for any experience caused and wish we would have been able to welcome you for longer for your honeymoon.

For future guests, if you have any questions and queries about this review, please feel free to contact me on Jason.kruse@kurumba.com and I would be more than happy to assist.

Sunny regards,
Jason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A truly fantastic hotel and resort. Where to start?

The room was amazing, spacious and well appointed. iPod docking stations, DVD players and free wi-fi are superb.

The cocktail menu was extremely comprehensive and delicious!

The staff were very friendly, helpful and discrete.

The artificial reef makes a fantastic swimming area and just outside there is some pretty amazing snorkelling. The beach is abound with smooth, pure white sand.

Transfers to and from the airport take ten minutes and are painless.

Would definitely come back....

Room Tip: The Deluxe Pool Villa was amazing!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B777Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just back from a trip to Kurumba. All the 5 and 4 stars on this site are justified. If you are planning a relaxing holiday without doing any Scuba diving course then a 4-5 day plan is ideal
1. We directly booked through the resort and took only the stay and breakfast plan. This was a very good choice we made because the buffets get monotonous after the second day. For we fish lovers, it makes sense to try out their restaurants as they have a lot of fish dishes. We were mainly at the Beach Bar. Tuna pizza, Bear battered fish, Maldivian curry, Thai Curry and at the beach bar are worth mentioning. The set up, the live band on a Sunday evening added up to the whole experience
2. The complimentary snorkeling lessons and the kit allows you to do snorkeling anytime in front of your room. I am scared of water but the lessons helped me and I could snorkel with ease. The fish on the reef are just amazing. The dolphin cruise, the glass boat are all worth the ride.
3. The staff were all nice and kind but the room service was slow most of the times. Given that this is a great resort everything is expected to be perfect but nevertheless this was a very small issue for us
4. if you have the time and patience do attend the marine presentation that is given. It gives you a thorough insight into the coral reefs that Maldives has and overall I found it very interesting
5. Cocktail tasting was fun and the very fact that the resort changed the day plan as it was raining one day was very thoughtful

Pockets do get emptied after a trip to Maldives but its all worth it..:-)

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe rooms and were very satisfied
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AvidTravellerBlore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We've just spent 8 nights at Kurumba in a beach front villa and can only find good words to say about the entire experience. This was our third visit and it just gets better every time. As usual the food was excellent, the amenities first class and the staff as welcoming and friendly as ever. The weather was good with a few heavy rain showers but there was enough to keep us busy. Would definitely recommend this resort for a relaxing break - despite the comments of some guests about the proximity to Male and the sounds from the airport this doesn't bother us at all and the 10 minute boat ride from the airport is a real bonus after a 12 hour journey!

Room Tip: The western part of the island near the sand bar is great for sunsets.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAH810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are a young couple (24yrs & 28yrs) and traveled to Kurumba for 3 nights. Immediately, upon check-in it was evident that Kurumba is serious about upholding it's reputation & strategize the best ways to meet their guests' needs. We were very satisfied with out Deluxe Beach Bungalow room and will probably upgrade on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vihamanafushi
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,488 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
20.8 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,765 reviews
7.5 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Address: North Male Atoll, 08340
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range: £262 - £788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurumba Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, four bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene. Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing