We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for a mini holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good choice for a mini holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a resort we chose for a short holiday in the Maldives but it did not disappoint.
Kurumba is a 15 minute ride on the resort owned yacht-cruiser from Male Airport., so you can be transported immediately at any time of the day upon your arrival.
This was the first resort that opened in the Maldives & it has a lot of history. For a 40 year old resort, it is very well maintained. Although the interiors of some areas of the resort and the room (dressing area) are quite dated, The rooms, indoor & outdoor bathrooms are basic but kept clean. The beds were comfortable.
The deluxe bungalow had complete facilities that one would need ( flat screen, wifi, tea/coffee facilities) with a turn down service at night. The staff are friendly, courteous , happy to assist guests & very efficient.
Breakfast was served buffet style with a lot of choices. There are several restaurant choices in the island & don't forget to make reservations in the specialty restaurants for dinner.
The house reef was excellent all around the island, this was another reason we chose this resort considering that it was close to the city of Male. A truly Maldivian resort. It was so worth it.
We hope to be back for a longer stay in the Maldives!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelfish22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Angelfish,

Thank you for for the great review and our team will be very happy to read this.

Kurumba is blessed with a short transfer from the airport and we are one of the only resorts in our price range having a one boat to one plane policy that ensure the best possible connivence. More time holidaying and less time waiting is certainly important.

The beds are brand new and we have only just replaced so we are glad that you found these very comfortable.

Again, thank you for taking the time for your review.

Kind regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,772
    475
    92
    23
    18
See reviews for
909
1,850
79
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (972)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Just checking out of this fabulous resort in the Maldives after celebrating my wife's birthday here. Now I know why people come back here again and again. The international staff are friendly and very helpful. The food in the restaurants is superb. Tried Arabic, Japanese, Italian and Ocean Grill. Enjoyed each and every meal. Did not try the buffets. And the Veli Spa--what can I say but pure bliss. Had three treatments over 4 days and enjoyed them all. The Balinese and Thai masseuses have magic hands. My wife and I took a snorkelling lesson in the pool (she as fears around water) and then joined the group snorkel trip to the reef surrounding the island. Saw black tip reefs sharks and manta rays. Colourful schools of fish everywhere. When we arrived here, told staff member it was my wife's birthday and they put birthday decoration on bed and served cake with candle after supper at Ocean Grill. Felt special! Will return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerD272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hello Roger,

Thank you for such a great review and we are certainly very happy that you had an enjoyable stay. You certainly seems to make of the most of our Restaurants.

The complimentary snorkelling lessons and guided house reef activity are perfect for guests building their confidence snorkelling.

Great to see that you liked the special birthday touches and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

my husband and i stayed 2 nights at Kurumba at the Deluxe Bungalow. We enjoyed the outdoor bathroom. The room was nicely located facing the beach, and we were fortunate to get the location facing the better reefs.

The resort is idyllic and great shading everywhere. There was a good choice of food, ranging from pricey to normal. The welcome was delightful; from the airconditioned boat to the cup of delicious coconut ice-cream. The room amenities were top notch. Snorkel equipment is provided free and they were very good quality. The house reefs were beautiful.

Some feedback:
1) As it's near the airport, it's possible to hear overhead planes flying every few minutes. It can bother if you are a light sleeper.
2) There are no direction signs near the rooms, as such you might end up walking in circles to get to the reception/dining area.
3) For departure, my husband was supposed to return to Male while i headed to the airport. But due to communication error, the boat to Male left without my husband. We needed to get more souvenirs from Male (local food such as smoked tuna, mangoes) and as such, the hotel staff offered to purchase them for us from Male and get the courier to deliver it to the airport. This was all well until we got the bill for the souvenirs which was more than twice the value we paid when we bought some of these local items ourselves. But as our boarding gate was closing, and the courier couldnt answer our queries, we just paid and left. This was the only incident that left a very sour memory of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Calesther,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We certainly value our guest feedback and are always looking to improve.

Yes we are close to the airport and to best honest, this inspires us at Kurumba to provide a better service at lower prices that our competitors further afield. We have actually orders some more directional signs and these should be at the resort in the next two weeks.

In terms of the local foods etc, it can be a challenge to feel the full effect of our offering with a short stay. We have a weekly Maldivian cooking demonstration and at our weekly guest cocktails, we offer our guests traditional Maldivian short eats.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Maldivian regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed in Kurumba for a week in February with my Girlfriend. It was our first trip to the Maldives and after reading the reviews on here about Kurumba we knew that we were in for a treat.
The hotel staff completely exceeded our expectations from start to finish! I requested a deluxe room as close to the beach as possible and we were shown to room 238 which was right in front of a lovely stretch of beach.
All the small touches by the staff was what made our holiday, from the coconut ice cream on arrival, to the chocolates and roses for my girlfriend on valentines day!
The food was simply 5* every night, and the special valentines dinner at ocean grill was a night to remember!
Finally, the staff were so nice as to grant us a free late checkout on our departure day up until 5pm.
I normally would never go to the same resort twice, however i will definitely be visiting Kurnumba again in the near future.

Room Tip: Deluxe room 238 is right on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear John,

I am so glad to read that you had a wonderful Valentines holiday with your girlfriend.

Greatly appreciate you highlighting the small touches and extras that Kurumba does for our guests.

It is certainly our intention to exceed our guest expectations and we hope we can do this again for you in the future.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to go to Kurumba for our honeymoon.It was an absolutely beautiful island and the staff couldn't do enough to help us.

We chose the 'all inclusive Dine Around' which gave us a choice of various restaurants - all which were suburb and of highest standards. Also the variety didn't get boring as each restaurant had different cuisines including Indian, Japanese, seafood etc. Our favourites were the Italian, The Ocean Grill and the Japanese.

The island was stunning, lush and beautiful sandy beaches. We were lucky enough to get a sea view bungalow (no.155) which was about 10 feet from the clear blue sea!

The staff were so polite and did everything to make our stay as comfortable and memorable - any issues the sorted it immediately.

I highly recommend Kurumba for a holiday, it's luxurious and beautiful and also very good value for money. It's also great for families and one day when we have a little one we would definitely love to go back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AliLeon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Ali Leon,

We are certainly glad that you had an amazing honeymoon on Kurumba. It is a great island for couple who want to balance, romance, great food and some activity and adventure.

Good to see that you made the most of the dine around all inclusive and it certainly leads to great indulgence without the stress of your outgoings at the end of your holiday.

Our goal is certainly to provide our guest with some of the best value for money for the experience and quality we are offering.

Again, thank you for taking the time to do a great review.

Maldivian regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spent our honeymoon at Kurumba maldives from 2nd feb 14 to 5th feb 14 and it was a short but exotic vacation . we felt pampered and all our needs were meticulously taken care of by well trained and most courteous staffs of Kurumba . We stayed in beach front delux bunglow and the accommodation was perfect , We stayed in bunglow no. 140 , But i will recommend people to try for Bunglow 150 onwards to get a better view of the lagoon which is just few meters from the bunglow. The choice of restaurants were ample , though we could not eat in all of them but we had dinner at Ocean grill and lebanese retaurant..and food was amazing in both the places..
The resort maintains strict timing for everything .. that is something which is little annoying as because u come to this wonderful place to relax without any time boundation. All restaurants need pre reservation for dinner , . we couldnt get reservation in the Japanese restaurant Hamikajee even when we tried to book the same on that day afternoon.
House reef snorkeling trip is a must . we also went fro the sunset and dolphine cruise , which was equally exciting .
Overall we had a wonderful honeymoon at Kurumba and i would like to give all the credit to the hospitality of the staffs who really made our stay at maldives special. .

Room Tip: Beach front delux bunglows are best as because they are just few steps from the lagoon . Bunglow 150...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi_mariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Good afternoon Roshi,

Thank you for your great review and glad you had a wonderful time.

Glad that you enjoyed the complimentary house reef tour and enjoyed the accommodation.

Appreciate your point on the restaurant bookings and the reality is that if everyone cam at once, we would have a real challenge on our hands to provide good service and for food to come out in a timely manner.

Again, thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We wanted a relaxed holiday in the sunshine and definately was not disappointed. We booked via kuoni as we found a package was better value than booking directly with resort. We arrived on 18 January 2014 for 2 wonderful weeks. On arrival we were met by a kuoni consultant and taken to our transfer which was a luxury cruiser for the short transfer to the island. Our room had obviously been allocated as our bags were tagged onboard the boat and taken directly to our room on arrival. On arrival on the island we were met by very friendly staff who checked us in, gave us refreshing drinks and sorbet before giving us a quick tour of the island on an electric buggy.
We had read comments on tripadvisor before booking and decided to stay on the north side of the island. We upgraded to a deluxe room which was just a few steps from the beach.
Our room was huge, very clean and well furnished. We had lots of TV channels available to is and free wifi which even worked on the beach. Beach towels, beach bag, slip flops, umbrellas, every little detail,was taken care of.
The patio area was large and also well furnished. They only thing I was not too keen on was the open bathroom. I would have preferred it closed, but the outdoor shower was amazing.
The beach was a picture postcard and so peaceful. The beaches are shared by just a few rooms and each room has dedicated sun loungers. Many days we had the beach to ourselves.
When we arrived we were told the island was almost full but we hardly ever saw other guests except in resteraunts at night and even then they were never full which made for excellent service.

When we arrived, we chose to upgrade to the dine around package to enable us to pick and choose where we wanted to eat. Everything was explained clearly to us about what was and was not included. Due to an error in administration the package was not allocated to our room so on check out we were told that because of the error they would reimburse the difference between the cost of the package and what we actually spent.
We had lunch and cocktails every day plus dinner and drinks in the evening and it was still cheaper than the dine around package so I wouldn't recommend this package unless you intend to drink excessively.
We tried all restaurants and the food was excellent in all of them. Yes they were more expensive that at home, but considering the location it was worth every penny. Our favourite was the Indian restaurant by far. We could easily have eaten there every night. Staff were wonderful whoever you went, always smiling and wanting to chat to you.
Every evening staff dropped off a leaflet advising of the following days excursions and also which restaurants were closed. We were advised at check in to book well in advance for dinner but we had no problems at all making reservations.
This island is ideal for everyone, couples, families, even single travellers. You feel very safe and comfortable wherever you go on kurumba.
I loved this island so much and was very sad to leave. Definately will go back. Really could not fault it at all.
Yes there is aircraft noise due to the closeness to the airport but this did not spoil the holiday.

Tip - Purchase some beach shoes for the water. Lots of small sharp bits of coral on the sea bed.

The only negative thing - on transferring to the boat on arrival the tide was obviously in and the boat was very high in the water. We had to balance on a small strip on the side of the boat and be assisted by staff onto the boat. I feel any elderly / disabled people might find this stressful. It would be helpful to have small steps. There was no problem at all on the return as the tide was lower.

Definately recommend this island to anyone wanting peace and quiet.
Well done to the management team, you have done so much to make kurumba a very memorable experience. Your staff are a credit to you.

Room Tip: North side of island has best snorkelling and also you can't see Male from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 788Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Jay,

We greatly appreciate your review and kind words. Sounds like you had a fantastic holiday. I have to agree that the dine around all inclusive package is great value and you really do get to have the best time possible without having to stress about bills.

Thank you for highlighting the small touches.

We have noted your comment and have purchased stairs for the boats when there are extremely high tides.

Again, thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Jason
Kurumba Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vihamanafushi
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
7.5 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,899 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
18.0 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Property: Kurumba Maldives
Address: North Male Atoll, 08340
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurumba Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, three bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing