We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Babyfriendly Kurumba”
Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Babyfriendly Kurumba”
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Travelling with a 1 year old is challenging at the best of times so comfort and closeness was instrumental to us when choosing our resort. Me and my husband have been to the Maldives before and always thought it would be the best place to go with a little one but waiting hours for the seaplanes after an 11 hour flight wasn't really on the cards. So we found Kurumba which was an easy walk out of the airport to the boat and then a quick 10-15 min ride to the resort, just in time for babys nap!

I must say I don't think I've ever experiences service like service at Kurumba, even the guy picking up fallen coconuts stops to say hello and one of the waitors brought a little flower for my baby girl every day at dinner... and it's not forced or false in any way. For families travelling with children they are very accomodating and made purees every evening free of charge and spoilt Ella with little gifts. The buildings, beaches and pools are all great... can't fault them at all but the close proximity to Male and the noise from the planes did spoil the experience for me and my husband. And as beautifully manicured the island is, it'd be nice if there wer some areas that were not built up... a bit of nature would have been nice.

So if you're looking for that tucked away Maldivian romantic feel, don't choose Kurumba. However if you want to not waste time with transfers, appriciate good service or you're travelling with kids... book it! :)

  • Liked — The service and the beauty of the island itself
  • Disliked — scenery-Too close to Male, noise
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank karinmcintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,881
    487
    95
    28
    19
See reviews for
958
1,916
82
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We stayed at the Kurumba for 6 nights in November and loved it. We booked and upgraded to a deluxe beach bungalow and the room was lovely. Only downside is that our "beach bungalow" wasnt actually on the beach, was set back in the gardens which was a little disappointing as we had been looknig forward to opening our doors straight onto the beach as the pictures in the brochure and on the webiste show - be aware alot of the beach bungalows arent directly on the ebach (although only a couple of seconds walk and you are on the beach). Also I would recommend you request a room facing away from Male as the view is not great on one side of the island. Also pelase be aware that the island is situated very close to the main island of Male and you can hear the aeroplanes taking off and landing - they are not that frequent and did not spoil our stay but if you are looknig for complete isolation then maybe this isnt the resort for you.
The hotel is of a very good standard would say a good 4*. We went on a bed and breakfast basis which was great as meant we got to try all of the different resturants. The standard of the food was amazing. Particularly liked the Chinese and the Ocean Grill setting was beautiful - watching baby sharks swimming around whilst eating dinner.
Overall the resort is very well run - staff are very helpful. Felt totally relaxed after our first day there.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UkCarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

I used to work in the Maldives, so remember Kurumba before the refurbishment..............

The island is still very green with defined pathways to get around the island.

The A la Carte restaurants are excellent, favourite being the chinese......... - food, service, atmosphere all excellent. There is the option of upgrading to the A la Carte board basis, whereby you can dine in a different restaurant every evening, with the exception of the Pizzeria.

Spa, is great, and offers a great selection of treatments, very relaxing experience. Body scrub worth having at the start of your stay......... - helps the tan!

Rooms - all rooms are good on the island, however, if budget permits, then book a private or pool villa - amazing, very private, and if opting for the pool villa - there is no need to leave your room - amazing!

The outdoor (private) shower is great, after a hard day on the beach, really relaxing and envigorating!

The island do offer water sports activities, but I just wanted to relax. There are also excursions available, you can bob over to Male the capital island, or do the seaplane picnic excursion. There is not much to buy in Male, all of which is imported anyways from other countries. Everything on the island is priced in US$ dollars, and in Male, the Maldivian Ruifiyaa, which is a closed currency, however, the shops will take US$, just watch the exchange rate they give. I believe it is standard exchange rate of 12.75rufiyaa to the $Dollar.

Payment particularly on the island can be completed on cards, so therefore even less reason to change up too much money...... make sure you have a few small bills for tipping ect, however, this is at your discretion.

Since returning to the UK, I now work in travel, and would not hesitate to send customers to this island...

If you have any questions, then feel free to contact me......

  • Liked — The selection of restaurants, and the room
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank alliealliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Arrived Kurumba 3rd November 2008 and was upgraded from Private Villa to Presidential Villa - Wow !. Pool, lounge stairs to upstairs bedroom, bathroom and jacuzzi. Absolutely amazing.
Staff were brilliant from day one. If your visit is for a special occasion let them know in advance. Chose the Al a carte dine around option. We cannot express what a wonderful time we had and WILL return. But would rather provide info and some pointers

You need to reserve tables in the restaurants of your choice.
You need shoes and smart casual clothes.
Prices : Glass of Beer $6 House Wine $9 ; Cheapest wine $40 per bottle. Water $3 at mealtime. ( we also had free water in room ). Snacks Pizza ( lunch ) $20 Salad $18 Beefburger $20; Midday restaurant around $35 each. Tips : Room boy $20 per week ( by rep ) Take small amounts of $ currency for tips for everyone eg luggage. Can tip on bill and pay at end.
Trips to Male $44 each. Brill speedboat met by tour guide gave $20. Tour short and very little to see ! BUT best prices and choice for shopping. Resort expensive. Jewelery always haggle (-30% reduction ).
Island : East side ; beach narrower and access to edge of reef shortest. This side quietest as next to Royal Residence; Shaded PM.
West side : Wide beach; Sunset side; further to edge of reef. can appear busy as lots of accommodation that side
Sea : Inside reef safe and shallow; lots to see; can be cloudy, can get noise from occasional plane but didn't bother us.
Not an isolated desert island. Busy with boats etc and 10 mins transfer from Airport.
All restaurants have Air Conditioning except Ocean Grill.

What would we do different next year ; Have FB and then choose Al a carte option as $30 dollar credit given.

  • Liked — Wow ! Better than my home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank DaveandHefina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

We visited Maldives between October 25 and November 3rd. Choosing a resort was not easy as I was going with wife and two kids my little 2.5 year girl and 1.5 boy. We have chosen Kurumba as it looks like a nice resort with a lot of restaurants and facilities and we believe we have made the right choice.
The transfer from the airport to the hotel was very fast and efficient and when we arrived at the hotel we were escorted to one of the reception rooms were we were given a cold drink and a cold towel. The check-in was fast and soon after we were taken to our room (booked a Private Villa which face the nice part of the Island with no views at Male). with the luggage coming soon after. The room/villa extremely large and well decorated and it was ideal for a family with kids. (An additional single bed and a cot bed were put in the seating area with a lot of space left for seating and the kids to play). The large bathroom and outside shower with the large pool type jacuzzi was the highlight of the room.
The overall resort is outstanding and the restaurants standards are second to none (Wife and I have been to a number of 5* resorts around the globe). The hotel staff were extremely friendly especially with the kids.
We tried most of the restaurants (with the exception of the Italian) and we found the food tasteful and of high standards. Some of the other people made a comment about the prices. Indeed is on the pricey side of things but with London standards I would say its fine for what you get. At the end of the day is a 5* resort with 58 prices. However one advice here unless you eat a lot do not go to the buffet main restaurant. The other restaurants provide better value and more flexibility. The cheapest option for something light was either the bar or the Neptune cafe with a nice selection fo good food including pizzas etc. Please note that at the main Bar the selection is more limited compare with the Neptune.
As for the weather (something I was worrid about) it was great. We had a bit of rain the 1st 24h but no single drop for the rest of our stay which it was great.
The beach was something that both the kids and us enjoyed a lot with the water been crystal clear and warm at all times.
As a person who loves scuba diving I couldn't have missed this opportunity. The Dive center that runs by euro divers is well equiped and the staff very knowledgeable. I did a total of 6 dives and the highlight was a lot of Manta Rays in two of the dives.
I can go on a on about it but I would just say the holiday was GREAT and the resort outstanding and we have already started our planning on when to go back.
One last thing its nice to take small dollar bills and tip the staff as they make a lot of effort to keep you happy and they deserve that. At the end of the day an extra $100-150 for you is not

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — ----
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theogeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We were at Kurumba from 12-20 October, the same time as Dean and Carla (see their review below) whom we met - hi there!

We booked via Kuoni and emailed the resort beforehand to ask for a room close to the beach - we were delighted with Room 216: about 10 metres from the sea on the north side of the island (hence facing away from Male). We had a deluxe room (as opposed to a deluxe bungalow), but it was still a little bungalow with a bedroom, a terrace to sit out on, and an open-air bathroom - fantastic. An open-air shower at the end of a hard day's relaxing is wonderful. As people have noted, each room has its own numbered sun loungers on the beach but we found that others sometimes took them if you didn't 'bag' them.

The weather wasn't great whilst we were there, but we still caught the sun on the first day even though it was cloudy. Despite the dodgy weather, it was lovely and warm, and we really enjoyed our stay. The highlight was probably watching the fish in the shallow lagoon that surrounds the island; you can wade out in to the warm, waist-deep water for some distance and it's protected by a breakwater to keep it calm. We're not strong swimmers so this suited us well, though we did try a bit of snorkelling too. If you take a couple of bread rolls from breakfast, you'll find the fish will swarm round you to be fed. If you want to see even more and bigger fish, try feeding them off the end of the jetty where the boat to Male comes in.

The only minor problem being on the north side of the island is that its a fair walk (5-10 minutes) to the restaurant/bar area on the south side - you can't cut across the middle of the resort as that is the staff area. No matter, you'll need to walk off the great food they serve - being a resort island, there's nowhere else to eat so the variety of restaurants is a plus: our favourite was the Italian but they were all good, and the staff were very friendly. The main bar is very good too, and we loved the cocktails especially the Chilly Irishman: whiskey, coffee and iced-cream - lovely! All the prices include a 10% service charge, so you don't have to tip, but the Kuoni rep encouraged us to add a bit more if the service was very good, which it often was.
Since everything is priced in US dollars, and the UK pound has weakened, staying at Kurumba is pretty expensive. There are two shops, but it's worth taking stuff with you (e.g. sun cream, waterproof cameras) rather than buying it there. If you do buy in the shop, we heard the same thing can cost a lot more in one shop than the other so check first. Also, it can be cheaper to dine in the a la carte restaurants than main buffet restaurant (which is $60 a head).

As always on holiday, take a few extra coat hangers if you don't want to fight over the few provided by the hotel. Our tip is to get your dry cleaning done at Morrisons - the hangers they provide are ideal: lightweight and slim to fit in your case, but a good design for a range of garments.

We did get off the island for one day, on the Sunrise Island picnic. The short seaplane journey was a good chance to see a bit more of the Maldives, and Sunrise Island itself was fun to wade across to. There’s also an inevitable shopping stop on one of the islands, where you're pressured to buy stuff you don't really want, though if you do spot something you like it is much cheaper than Kurumba.

Finally, it’s not only the US that has a new president: we were there in the run up to the Maldives election and after 30 years of the same president all the staff seemed to be rooting for the opposition - we see that they got their wish!

Mark & Tracey

  • Liked — It's right on the beach
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salcombe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

I have visited several Maldivian islands but the OUTSTANDING one must be Kurumba! It has everything - and more! All the islands are breathtakingly beautiful but when the day is done and you sit sipping your evening drink on your bungalow`s terrace watching the sun sink into the Indian Ocean there is one thing that Kurumba has that not many islands have - and that is 7 restaurants to choose from. You can choose a different dining experience each day of the week - with each restaurant serving food from a variety of countries. There is Indian, Chinese, Seafood grill, Italian etc - not to mention the main restaurant which serves just about anything you could wish for! There is a beautiful pool, the usual spas, gymnasium but the only thing missing (and after a day`s snorkelling I certainly need it) is a hairdresser! Apart from that - 1st February, here we come!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank diana31Salcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vihamanafushi
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,720 reviews
20.8 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,411 reviews
7.5 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,462 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
1,990 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Property: Kurumba Maldives
Address: North Male Atoll, 08340
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurumba Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, three bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene, Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Booking.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing