We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Kurumba Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurumba Maldives
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We returned a week ago from Kurumba.
We had a fabulous time despite the couple of days of unseasonal rain.
We were met at the port by very friendly staff from the resort and from that time on, every staff member was polite,efficient and above all courteous and friendly. We were very fortunate in our Beach Front Bungalow aspect (No 175), as it had a good view and was, in our opinion, on the best part of the beach. The bungalow was well appointed, with comfy beds and good bathroom facilities. As Kurumba is so close to Male, it did not ever seem like island paradise, as you could see Male clearly and despite being told by the Kuoni rep in England that aircrafts would not be an issue, We saw and heard plenty (even at bedtimes) which was quite a disappointment.
Food in the main restaurant was varied and delicious and one of the managers, Lateef, went out of his way to source a particular botlle of wine for us. We were delighted to find that we were entitled to unlimited Moet with our breakfast at the Cafe and their a la carte menu was excellent. The main bar serving cocktails was great and we were surprised just how good most of the entertainment was.
The snorkelling just metres from our room was an unbelievable experience. We never knew just how many different types of tropical fish there are and a particular highlight was swimming with turtles and sharks. We even had a complimentary trip, which we decided to do a sunset boat ride to see lovely dolphins.
There was a wine tasting evening where tables were put out in the water! It was a great way to socialize with other guests, whilst gazing at the reef sharks and stingrays gliding by.
We would definitely recommend this resort to others, but if you want a desert island experience, you probably need to go further away from the capital and this is the only reason that we have given 4/5, because everything else is 5/5 for sure.
Keep up the good work Jason and your team :)

Room Tip: A deluxe bungalow around 175 side of the island is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clairzee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Clairzee50,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to help future guests to make the right choice of the resort in Maldives – as definitely they are able to learn more about Kurumba. Even though we are close to Male', we strive to offer our guest better quality, more choice, more small touches at a much better price than resorts further afield.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with our polite, efficient, courteous and friendly team members, especially Lateef who was very helpful with his care.
It is sad you were disappointed with the plane sound during your stay in our resort. Normally the sound of planes does not bother our guests and they enjoy quick access from the airport to the island.

Unfortunately the sun took a short leave for a couple of days during your stay. Normally during wetter days we offer additional activities and experiences to make sure our guests will enjoy each and every day of their stay. We are a resort that offers a lot more choice, activities, entertainment and extras and we always love to do more for our guests.

We are sure that you discovered many beautiful moments and we are always here should you require some assistance to book another return for your vacation.

Have a good day!
Jason
Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,708 - 1,714 of 3,802 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was our second visit to Kurumba and once again we had a wonderful vacation. The staff are friendly and efficient and the resort facilities excellent. We love the short transfer from Male airport which means you're on the beach just a couple of hours after landing. The house reef is very good with an amazing number of fish, reef sharks and sea life. We stayed in a beachfront villa which was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The complimentary tea, coffee and water is most welcome. There are a great choice of dining options and although nothing is cheap the prices are fair for a five star resort. We would definitely recommend Kurumba and will be back soon.

Room Tip: 161, 191 are very well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DohaRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear DohaRic,

It is always a pleasure to welcome back return guests and thank you for your wonderful feedback. We love our return guests and we definitely hope it was not our last meeting. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and we all enjoyed reading your review. It is nice to hear that you enjoy snorkelling on our vibrant house reef, or just enjoy beach time on own veranda of beachfront deluxe bungalow which is a great choice of accommodation for those who love staying close to the sea.

We all enjoyed having you in Kurumba Maldives and we are looking forward to greet you again.

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had a very short 4 days stay at Kurumba and we decided to take the one closest to the airport as we were also with 2 kids.
We were warmly greeted right at the airport from their staff who guided us onto the nice kurumba boats with air conditioned and water and cold towels to refresh us
further we were welcomed on arrival by the staff and given water and ice cream as refreshments
then we were given an island and room tour
everything was top class
the buffet breakfast was amazing, there was different variety of foods including fresh omlettes make to order
we were celebrating our 10th anniversary and I opted for the sound of sea and wanted to give my wife a surprise and it was all so nicely organised by kurumba
we requested a stroller for the baby and it was very helpful for the short time rather than for us to carry it
snorkelling materials was also given free of cost
there are free coaching for snorkeling and activities for kids in the kids room
we did a couple of excursions including male tour and glass boat ride which were nice other than that we were there just to enjoy the sea and sun.
overall we had an amazing holiday and most importantly the courtesy and hospitality extended towards us was most memorable.
special shoutout to Muru and Selwi and all Kurumba team for making our trip memorable

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Abu,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing your recent stay with us. We all enjoyed reading about your amazing holiday and we are certainly glad you had great family vacation (even if it was just a short break) in Kurumba Maldives and enjoyed facilities provided and service. It is definitely a pleasure to learn our staff took good care of you, especially Muru and Selvi, and thank you for mentioning their names in your feedback.

We appreciate your comment on our unique service as Sounds of the Sea dinner. It is a very romantic experience and I am glad you enjoyed it with the family and made a great surprise for your wife. Once again let me congratulate you with your anniversary and wish you all the best and happy life.

We also hope you children had great time in our resort as we do offer interesting kids program with lots of fun activities to enjoy

Sunny regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

During my time here in the Maldives I have had several opportunities to visit the Kurumba resort and discover their offer in different outlets. I have to say that I am extremly impressed with the outstanding quality of the food served in any outlet that I have been in. Italian, French , Indian, Chinese, Arabic or just the so simple fish and chips all just fantastic and extremly well prepared. Also all service staff is always very friendly and helpful. Especially Hilary from the bar always goes this extra mile to make a guests stay more memorable and unique.

thanks to all the team of Kurumba!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Weinchecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Weinchecker,

Thank you very much for your delightful review and appreciate your loyalty to our resort.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our friendly and dedicated staff members and appreciate you highlighting Hillary. I am sure he will be delighted to see his name on Trip Advisor.

We all are glad you enjoyed the variety of outlets we offer to our guests. Indeed there are 6 a la carte restaurants, 1 a la carte café, 1 buffet restaurant and 3 different bars. To share with you we are proud to offer such a great variety of dining options to those who choose our resort their travel destination. We really appreciate your kind comments about the quality of food in Kurumba.

We hope to see you back once again!

Best regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

we chose Kurumba for our honeymoon destination in Maldives.
and it was such a lovely experience. Everything was top notch,the welcome, the rooms, the service everything.
we had stayed there for 10 days.
Being vegetarians we loved the food in Vihamana the breakfast was marvelous, a big buffet- choices were various. absolutely gorgeous.
We even loved the Indian restaurant tabla, for our dinner we went there everyday.they have one of the best desserts.
The bar and the live music is very entertaining too.
They have got a good gym as well.
The water sports is awesommmeeeeee. don't miss out on that.
Velispa was average -not too good, i would say- not worth it, we taken the couples massage which was done by 2 females for husband and myself, my husband wasn't happy since he didn't get the pressure required for a man in his massage.

Beautiful reef, ideal for snorkeling, special mention for the gift shop - Breeze too, it was affordable.we bought mementos and an underwater camera from there.

The entire resort is awesome, they have 2 swimming pools as well.
The rooms are big and spacious and bathrooms are nice too.

our housekeeper use to make our bed with various design from flowers to wish us happy honeymooners with best wishes and was too sweet and very personalized.

Just one Drawback-
on our check out day, we just thought they would at least let us stay a bit longer then check out time since we had stayed there for 10 days anyway, well but they didn't.
so we had to move out of the room and spend our time on the resort roaming around for few hours.before leaving we took a shower in the facility available for people like us, but there was no exhaust fan in the bathrooms and i had severe breathing problem. that was major minus point for me which i had noted it to them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grishma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Grishma,

It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to receive you as a guest for such a special celebration in your life as your honeymoon. We are happy you had a great stay and you overall experience was positive. Your feedback about our restaurants is much appreciated. We offer lots of choices of food and we are always flexible when it is about dietary requirements of our guests. We would also like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our water sports center, entertainment and variety of activities.

However I feel sorry you did not fully enjoy your spa treatment and your husband felt lack of pressure. The therapist do ask about the pressure and I have followed up with the therapist who did your treatment.

In regards to late checkout, we do try and offer rooms when they are available. Alternatively, we are always happy to offer our hospitality room with sofas for relaxation, tea and coffee facilities, library and computers with internet access as well as our public shower and changing rooms for guests’ comfort. Please accept our apologies for inconvenience caused. To guarantee late checkout we advise our guests to book an extra night in advance.

We hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we will be happy to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my colleagues enjoyed time there. Beach and sea bath enjoyed . Sunday evening wine tasting in the ocean was fantastic. Friendly staff. Break fast with champagne I enjoyed.good for honeymooners too for romantic hide out.overall satisfied except for some operational issues.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Randyex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Randyex,

Thank you for kind words and I appreciate your feedback about our services. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our unique services like lagoon wine tasting and champagne breakfast. It is very important in life to get positive impressions and I am glad your overall experience was great. I am sorry to hear you had some operation issues and please feel free to email me details any time to look into the matter. Our intention is to give the best experience to our guests and we always are looking for areas to improve.

Best regards,
Jason
Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

An amazing holiday one that we'll always remember!! Everything from the welcome to the good bye everything was just perfect!! Crystal clear waters ideal for swimming and snorkelling, clean rooms,veli spa and most of all the friendly staff were the plus points!! If you want a complete family holiday its a must visit!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sansss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason K, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Sansss,

Thank you for taking time to write your review about Kurumba Maldives. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and learn about their impressions of our property. I am certainly happy you had an amazing holiday with us and will recommend us to other guests. We have all facilities to satisfy families and couples and give the best experiences of the holiday in Maldives.

We will be definitely happy to welcome you back!

Sunny regards.
Jason
Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vihamanafushi
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,844 reviews
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,550 reviews
4.8 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,340 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,167 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurumba Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurumba Maldives

Address: 08340
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vihamanafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vihamanafushi
Price Range: £315 - £862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kurumba Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurumba is Maldives' very first resort. Located just 10-minutes from the airport with luxury speedboat transfers available 24 hours a day. Explore our vibrant house reef. Relaxing on the white sandy beach. Swimming in our protected crystal clear lagoon. Treat yourself to an exquisite Maldivian spa treatment. Be energized with the daily scheduled activities, watersports, excursions or scuba diving. Be inspired by the Maldives culture, local food, art and dance. Nine styles of accommodation are spread amongst the island's lush tropical gardens. Eight restaurants, four bars, Maldives best nightly entertainment scene. Kurumba is a perfect holiday destination. Kurumba is the Maldives in Full Colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kurumba Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurumba Maldives Hotel North Male Atoll
Kurumba Maldives North Male Atoll
Kurumba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing