We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,267)
Filter reviews
4,267 results
Traveller rating
3,521
572
113
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,521
572
113
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe bungalow beach bar fish close to the airport coconut sorbet outdoor shower male airport our honeymoon kids club dine around option choice of restaurants main restaurant water sports champagne breakfast indian restaurant sunset cruise minute boat ride
Filter
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 4,267 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

My husband and I have sadly just returned from a 5 night stay at Kurumba Maldives for our 5 year wedding anniversary.

We want to thank the staff who made our anniversary very special - particularly on our anniversary evening at the East Thai restaurant on the 30th of June! Anwar, Hammith (I hope I have gotten your name correct) and the rest (I'm really sorry we didn't get anyone else's names but you were all beautiful!). We received a delicious surprise chocolate cake for dessert and our lovely housekeeper Muhomed left a nice message on our bed when we returned from dinner.

If you are considering staying at Kurumba - firstly, BOOK NOW and 5 nights is not long enough for quality R&R, we really wished we stayed at least 7 nights, ideally 10!! Secondly, definitely get the Dine Around All Inclusive Package, it is absolutely worth it if you'd like to have a pina colada or 2 every afternoon on your private beach chairs and meals are free (except for a couple) in each restaurant, which we thought was great. If you didn't want to spend the money for that package the buffet restaurant is so good that it wouldn't really matter if you didn't want to explore the others.

I'd love to keep writing but I wanted to make this review short and sweet - lastly, you must go on the house reef tour, snorkelling safari and enjoy at least 1 spa treatment at Veli spa - thanks so much Muskan and the stunning ladies here for taking such good care of myself and my hubby!!! They are all very good at their jobs - recommend the coconut hair wrap, outdoor foot massage and romance couples package. These will definitely get you in the relaxation zone!

We loved the personal feeling of the resort - everyone was so friendly and the chefs were all happy and even (whom we assume) the head chef of resort greeted us and asked us if there was anything that could be improved or added to the menu. We thought it was pretty great as it is!! Although, morning smoothies would be a great addition to the breakfast buffet, if there was anything.

We will definitely return to Karumba when we can :-)

Thanks again.
The Lloyds

Room Tip: Deluxe room 224 and any other room on that side of the island (refer island map) as it doesn't face Male if you are not keen on this.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Naomi,

It was wonderful to welcome you to Kurumba Maldives and many thanks for your great TripAdvisor review.
We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with the team especially the individuals you have mentioned such as Anwar, Hammith, Muhomed and Muskan.
Please keep in touch in the future if you are planning for another vacation back to our island. Our team is looking forward to welcoming your family again!

With best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Our stay in kurumba was incredibly awesome. I just wanted to thank the staffs for their hospitality who made our stay there one of our best family holiday destination. Special thanks to Rahul Joglekar (duty mamger), Najj, Ahmed,Atheef. It's for people like you which makes people want to come back to kurumba again. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Hope to see you all again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank L_DKHAR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience about our team and Kurumba Maldives.
Your kind comments and wonderful review about your recent stay will be an inspiration to our team. The feedback about Rahul Joglekar (duty manager), Najj, Ahmed and Atheef is duly noted and I will ensure the extra recognition is provided.
Your positive comments will most certainly be passed on and I am sure you agree that positive feedback certainly helps motivate our team to go the extra mile for future guests.
Please keep in touch for any future inquiries, we hope to see you again soon for another retreat in the Maldives.

Best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Booking Kurumba was after a thoughtful research on internet and reading lots and lots of reviews! Based on a trip advisor's list of best resort for families we shortlisted Kurumba! And we have not been disappointed at all!

Our main focus to have some relaxing time and keep our toddler engaged...Kurumba offered much more then this.

Location: few reviews speak about proximity to airport...but we didn't find the airplanes disturbing, the noise was hardly noticeable. Rather being close to the airport gave us the liberty to leave late and make the most at the resort on our last day also.

Activities for kids: excellent activities from the kids center to daily planned activities, our 3 year old had a blast! special thanks to Iru, Shaif and sadly forgotten the name of the girl who was there...she was very helpful

Service lapses but excellent recovery: not everything was super, we did face a few lapses towards the end of our trip, but service recovery was simply great, it was the recovery that didn't ruin our trip and the staff ensured that we are delighted. The shift in-charge Sami was extremely proactive. He surely saved our trip from getting ruined!

Snorkelling: great house reef, we had snorkeling safari included as complimentary in our package and it sure was a fantastic experience. I was snorkeling for the first time in my life and from coaching on first day to house reef to snorkeling safari I am simply delighted. Special thanks to my coach: Naalhi and for excellent house reef tour and snorkeling safari by Shaaif I would definitely recommend him if yo want to enjoy your experience even more.

Housekeeping and reception staff provided prompt responses and service delivery

Restuarant: As we had a full board inclusive package we were a bit apprehensive of the buffet that would be offered and were scared that we may land up eating the same food everyday! however there was a completely different buffet everyday and the variety and diversity of the food was mouthwatering. From the cocktails to wines to juices the staff made sure that they look after our family needs well. Special special thanks to: Aseela, Amjad and Bablu

Avoid the glass bottom boat if you will go for snorkeling later, nothing much to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Noman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Noman,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review Kurumba Maldives on TripAdvisor and for awarding us top marks. We are all very glad you had a wonderful experience here in our resort.
We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with the team especially the individuals you have mentioned such as Iru, Shaif, Sami, Naalhi, Aseela, Amjad and Bablu.
We very much hope to welcome you and your family back to Kurumba Maldives in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

My in laws visited Kurumba for 4 nights in last week of June. Top class hospitality from the time they arrived at Male airport to their drop back. Just 10 minutes by boat from airport. Very comfortable, great ambience. For vegetarians, the in villa dining options could be better. However, the chef was very nice and made some custom veg dishes.
Highly recommend Kurumba for anyone traveling as couple or children.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pganesh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Ganesh,

It was wonderful to welcome your parents-in-law to Kurumba Maldives and many thanks for your great TripAdvisor review.
Please keep in touch in the future if you or your family are planning for another vacation back to our island. Our team is looking forward to welcoming you and your family again!

With best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

We visited Kurumba for 5 days and we had enjoyed every bit of the stay. We went there to celebrate my birthday and it was my wife's idea. Starting from reaching Male airport and till they drop us to airport the entire experience is superb and we really enjoyed the world's best hospitality provided by Kurumba.
The experience start by warmly pickup at airport then at arrival they gave us Coconut sorbet which was superb. Then they gave us the room and we were shifted to room within few minutes after reaching there .
The overall food is superb and they have good option for Indian food as well.

Special thanks to the Mahal restaurant guest assistant Mr. Ahmed for providing excellent food choices and make my birthday special . He also exceeded the expectations by assisting during morning breakfast buffet .

Kurumba is truly amazing in all aspects and we had really a heavenly experience . We will surely love to come again and again . Only cons is that all foods and drink items are bit pricey.

Kudos to all the hotel, restaurant staff for making our stay truly amazing.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Bimal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Bimal,

Thank you of taking the time to write your pleasant review. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed your holiday in the Maldives.
The team will be very happy to read your fabulous feedback and appreciate you highlighting Ahmed at Mahal restaurant.
In terms of the meal prices, Maldives is a challenge in terms of commodity prices as most needs to be air freighted in. We regularly check with competitors and know that we are providing better value for our guests. If you are concerned with the prices, all of our menus and prices are listed online. Secondly, I would always encourage a meal plans as guests tend to spend less over their stay, and generally enjoy more as you are not concerned about your outgoings.

Warm regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews