We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,267)
Filter reviews
4,267 results
Traveller rating
3,521
572
113
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,521
572
113
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe bungalow beach bar fish close to the airport coconut sorbet outdoor shower male airport our honeymoon kids club dine around option choice of restaurants main restaurant water sports champagne breakfast indian restaurant sunset cruise minute boat ride
Filter
Updating list...
554 - 559 of 4,267 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Went on a 4 day trip for celebrating our 14th wedding anniversary.....deeply regret having gone there.....FOR ONLY 4 DAYS!!! V should have done 7 days minimum!!! The place is PARADISE!!!
There is not one single staff of theirs that v found unfriendly or unpleasant...everyone goes around with a smile on their face & a pleasant wish!! The property is sooo well maintained , u could never guess how old it was!! The services r excellent!!Veli spa was OMG!! V only had time to taste the food at thila & vihamanaa...left us at a loss for words!! V HAD to meet the executive chef at vihamanaa,Mr. Dennis, to let him know what he was putting us thru!!!V couldn't stop ourselves from tasting all the dishes...mouthwatering !!!!..especially the desserts!!! & a very special thanks to Mr. Naseer for graciously n secretly arranging a surprise cake for my hubby!! & Miss Swathi who showed us around on the 1st day & followed up on us during our stay...DEFINITELY COMING BACK FOR A SECOND ROUND & LONGER STAY!!
Thank you, Kurumba family!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bindiyaa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Bindiya,

On behalf of our entire team, we could not be more pleased reading your review. We certainly like to surprise our guests and we do intend to go above and beyond guests’ expectations. Thank you for your kind comments!
We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with the team especially the individuals you have mentioned such as Chef Dennis, Mr. Nacer and Mrs. Swathi from Front Office.
Our team was very pleased to be at your service and glad to know you had enjoyed a great time in the island. It is a pleasure to see you have an eye for detail and have noticed the little touches we do for our guests.
Please be back soon for another holiday.

Best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Traveled 2 adults in April for 40th birthday to Kurumba 3 nights and Conrad Rangali 4 nights.
Couple weeks before travel weather forecast was rain everyday, but just before our trip all changed and was not even drop of rain in our 7 nights in Maldives.
Kurumba is only 10 minutes away from Male airport by boat. Many ships and boats around, but they not bothered us at all. Sometimes we could hear some plane noises from Male airport, but it wasn’t too bad. There is no over water bungalows. In the Evenings, they had some music and traditional Maldivian dance, was cool to see hotel staff dancing . They are local Maldivian company, not a hotel from a big chain. If U care about smiles U have to visit Kurumba respect to staff, they work very hard and smiles a lot, even if they were fake smiles then they are very good actors too . Everybody was friendly and happy to help if needed.
Food was very good, always something to choose from. Every evening they had a different theme – Maldivian night, Pacific Ocean tastes etc. Evening buffet was around 65$ US each. Bungalow was good size too (we had a cheapest option). In the Bungalow, our favorite thing was a lovely shower under open sky, never seen like this anywhere else, U can have shower and watch the clouds or stars ! Kurumba is superb, some coral reefs, plenty of colorful fish, I have seen about 3-foot-long black tip Sharks wondering around. Nice to see it so close, good experience. Overall Hotel is very good, lovely hotel with superb Staff. Thanks to Jamool for a lovely chat one evening at the main buffet restaurant Vihamanaa.
They do trips to Male. This is why we chose Kurumba as first Hotel in Maldives, only one negative thing that trip to Male is only 4 Hours long and we had to rush back for boat, that’s way too short. Price is around 90$ per person at the time. We asked in reception if we can stay longer than 4hrs, and somebody would pick us up later, but then we were told this will be classified as a private transfer and would cost around 400$. So instead opted for second 4 hrs trip to Male next day. Male is very busy and crammed place, streets are so narrow, motorbikes parked so tight everywhere so even pedestrian have trouble to squeeze through to cross street. Streets in central London can be called motorways compared to streets sizes in Male, must see to believe it. Its only around 2Km long. Male is building a new airport with a longer runway, so will be able to land even biggest planes as airbus a380-800. So, will be quicker and cheaper to visit Maldives in couple years’ time or so. We will definitely be back to Maldives.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Darius ,

It was wonderful to welcome you to Kurumba Maldives and many thanks for your great TripAdvisor review.
Please keep in touch in the future if you are planning for another vacation back to our island. Our team is looking forward to welcoming your family again!

With best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

As soon as got on the dock to check in room, I was greeted warmly by Naceer after 28 hour total fligtht and layover from San Francisco, CA. The resort is very well maintainded, restaurant service excellent, variety of finer to banquet dinning, view from a couple of restaurants breath taking and ocean water prestine. They have variety of water activities, i rented a jet ski, snorkelled and good certified as scub diver ( this requires studying, test and water drills- PADI). Almost 95% of staff were pleasant to see you. I been places were I knew they had too.. Overall, you must try once.. I can see when you ask of places to visit in the world.. This has to be on your bucket list. Well I am going to try to return again.. even with my long flight with that special person. Shukuriyaa

Room Tip: all good close to breach
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank delpradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Delpradon,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review Kurumba Maldives on TripAdvisor and for awarding us top marks. We are all very glad you had a wonderful experience here in our resort.
We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with the team especially the individual you have mentioned such as Nacer.
We hope you enjoyed your journey back home and very much hope to welcome you back to Kurumba Maldives in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We spent there 6 days in July 2017. The weather was amazing, sometimes with a sudden raining which made the air even more fresh and nice. We loved staying in the Kurumba! The staff, the view, the location and the whole area was exceptional.
Let me just start with our arrival to the Resort: it was a 5 minute boat transfer from the airport, so basically after landing in 30 minutes we were enjoying ourselves on the beach! It was incredible! The staff was incredibly helpful and fast in every aspect of our stay.
We stayed at a deluxe bungalow which was the best decision, because it has such a unique ambiance. The airconditioning was amazing, we never had problem with the temperature.
The staff: polite, calm, incredibly nice people! Everywhere! I mean literally everywhere in the resort, it doesn't matter where we went.
The beach and the ocean is like a little piece of heaven on eart. Soft white sand everywhere with the blue ocean are the perfect combination of an extraordinary vacation.
The food: we tried almost every restaurant, except the Hamakaze, because that was not our cup of tea. The food and service were excellent. The pizza was really tasteful, highly recommended!
They have so many different programs, excursions, it was really hard to decide which ones we'd have the time! The mos spectacular was the dolphin and sunset watching, we were mesmerized by the dolphins spinning in front of us. But we also enjoyed the cocktail night as we met so many different amazing people there! We visited Malé, the capital with the most amazing tourist guide! He was so helpful and showed us the most important places in the capital. We are grateful to everyone for contributing to such a wonderful vacation!

It was a fantastic vacation, we will definetely go back! Its perfect for families with younger children as well since they have all the equipments for toddlers and kids to enjoy every minute of the holiday!

It surely will be an unforgettable travel for us, not only because of the exceptional Kurumba but because my boyfriend proposed to me there! I said YES to him on a white sand beach while watching the scenic sunset. It's a really precious memory and place for us and it will always be! As we arrived back to our room after the proposal, our bed was covered in the most beatiful frangipanis and different flowers, it was fantastic! Somehow they kne we got engaged! :D

So once again thank you for everyone in the Kurumba and hopefully we will meet soon!

Alexandra and her family from Hungary

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexandraP3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Alexandra,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating! It was a pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed your holiday experience at Kurumba Maldives. As a resort, we do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. We aim to deliver full and diverse experiences to our guests.
We are all very much looking forward to having you again as a guest in our resort.

Sunny regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This was our second trip to Kurumba and about our 15th to the Maldives.

One of the main advantages of Kurumba is also one of the very few downsides, it is one of the closest island to Male. This means that you do get to see the air traffic and boat traffic plus you can see Male, the airport and a couple of other islands - so you slightly miss out on that perfect desert island feel. However it also means that your transfer is incredibly quick (10 mins by speedboat) and you don't have to wait (sometimes a couple of hours) for an onward flight either to another island or the ridiculously expensive seaplanes ($350-$500 per person - a fantastic experience, but pricey), so if you have young children or have already spent half a day traveling the short transfer is a bonus.

From the time we stepped onto the speedboat in Male until the time we left the island everything was just about perfect (for a second time).

Several things really make this island stand out,

1 - The staff are, without exception, superb. They all actually seem to enjoy being at work, they are always smiling and keen to help as best they can. The level of service at the restaurants in particular is very high, especially at Thila for the premium breakfast. My wife has recently been diagnosed with several food allergies and the chefs/waiters were fantastic, always checking that there was something she could eat and if not preparing food separately (even at the buffet) - sometimes saying 'tomorrow the food will be a problem for you, is there anything you would like us to prepare'. Which showed a very high level of personal care and attention, as well as a great attitude of trying to eliminate problems before they even arise.

2 - The food was fantastic. We only really ate at Thila for breakfast and the buffet in the evening. The buffet has different themes every night, but there is always roast meat and fish so barring allergies (which as mentioned they are very aware/accommodating over) there is always plenty of choice.
The premium breakfast at Thila is one of the highlights of Kurumba - part buffet part a-la-carte with free flowing sparkling wine. I don't normally eat breakfast but with the quality of the food and the bubbles it was the perfect way to start the day.

3 - The actual island. The beach is really nice, like many islands they have stone breakwaters surrounding it to help with erosion and shifting sands. The snorkeling is great and easy to access through gaps in the breakwaters. There is not a vast amount of colourful coral however there is a huge amount of sea life - loads of reef shark, rays, fish, morays etc. we even saw dolphins twice when we were at breakfast. We didn't see any turtles this time, but if you just hang around by the drop off (approx 30m from the shore) you will see most things. Both our girls, 5 & 7 loved the snorkeling.

We had a garden pool villa, which easily sleeps 4 between the 2 rooms. The villa was well equipped, with a nespresso machine, 2 large bottles of water per day, a tv in each room, wifi throughout and a small pool in the back.

There is a kids club, and although we only let them go a couple of times they loved it and the various activities (pizza making, sandcastle building, treasure hunts etc.) and would happily have gone every day - except that we forced them to have fun with us instead.

Having spoked to several people on the island the general consensus was that the odd aeroplane/ship and the proximity of Male didn't detract from their experience, and there are plenty of far more expensive islands with the same views as Kurumba. You may not feel completely isolated from the world, but in our 2 visits the staff, island and food have been exceptional and we will certainly be returning soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
10  Thank tonymasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Tony,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kurumba Maldives and we appreciate your kind words. Certainly we are delighted that we got all the things right.
The team spent a considerable amount of time focusing on the small details that make the difference and we are pleased to read that you cannot wait to return. We thank you for your stay and hope it will not be too long before we get to welcome you back again in the future.

Sunny regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews