We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,350)
Filter reviews
4,350 results
Traveller rating
3,592
578
116
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,592
578
116
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe bungalow beach bar fish close to the airport coconut sorbet outdoor shower kids club our honeymoon male airport dine around option choice of restaurants main restaurant water sports champagne breakfast indian restaurant tennis courts sunset cruise
Filter
Updating list...
625 - 630 of 4,350 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This is our third time staying at Kurumba. We have grown attached to the place and sincerely feel that the staff here treat us like family. There is so much to do and see. We parasailed (including a 7year old), we set out on a sunset cruise to watch the dolphins. We swam in the ocean and the family pool. We dined in the finest of cuisines (Thai, Indian, Seafood Grill, and more) Our kids enjoyed splashing around in the Kids Club (3pm splash party daily) as well as indoor time with toys. On Sunday, the whole staff team joined guests on the beach for free massages, drinks, finger food, music and networking. But most of all, we felt very welcomed and special. The staff remember us from our previous stay. Muhideen from Al Qasr has always been very kind to our children now as well as the past, he goes out of his way to find precious memorabilia of them to keep of Kurumba. Rippe, Ahmed, and Ateef from Mahal were very kind to us. And the wonderful gentleman at Thilla, Mueed, was always smiling, greeting us warmly and serving the kids the best milkshakes. Shoeib from Thilla was lovely as well. We saw Mr. Jose Dias ( Food& Beverage Director) everyday and night and he was always full of smiles and happy to help us. Since most of the staff we have befriended work in restaurants we believe he is leading a great team that actually had the most effect on making our holiday so memorable. The lovely gentlemen driving the golf cars to the rooms were a delight to chat with. So were the gardeners who made the kids beautiful birds from coconut palm leaves! The rooms were always immaculately clean once we got back and we were never bored. The kids learned to play billiard and had the most delicious coconut ice cream every single day. I was very, very impressed at the selection of tv channels, the best from any hotel/ resort I have ever visited. Dvd players and free wifi added to our satisfaction.
The only thing we wish were different is the 23.2 government tax applied to literally everything from food to sports.Not Kurumba's fault but it made everything a lot more expensive than it should be.

Room tip: The Beach-Front Bungalows are the best. You literally wakeup, and your eyes open to the view of the ocean.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meera_almazmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Meera Almazmi,

On behalf of our entire team, we could not be more pleased reading your review. We certainly like to surprise our guests and we do intend to go above and beyond guests’ expectations. Thank you for your kind comments. The team will be very happy to read your fabulous feedback and appreciate you highlighting Rippe, Ahmed, and Ateef from Mahal, Mueed, Shoeib from Thilla, Mr. Jose (Food & Beverage Director).
It is a pleasure to see you have an eye for detail and have noticed the little touches we do for our guests.
Please be back soon for another holiday.
Best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Went on a 4 day trip for celebrating our 14th wedding anniversary.....deeply regret having gone there.....FOR ONLY 4 DAYS!!! V should have done 7 days minimum!!! The place is PARADISE!!!
There is not one single staff of theirs that v found unfriendly or unpleasant...everyone goes around with a smile on their face & a pleasant wish!! The property is sooo well maintained , u could never guess how old it was!! The services r excellent!!Veli spa was OMG!! V only had time to taste the food at thila & vihamanaa...left us at a loss for words!! V HAD to meet the executive chef at vihamanaa,Mr. Dennis, to let him know what he was putting us thru!!!V couldn't stop ourselves from tasting all the dishes...mouthwatering !!!!..especially the desserts!!! & a very special thanks to Mr. Naseer for graciously n secretly arranging a surprise cake for my hubby!! & Miss Swathi who showed us around on the 1st day & followed up on us during our stay...DEFINITELY COMING BACK FOR A SECOND ROUND & LONGER STAY!!
Thank you, Kurumba family!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bindiyaa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Bindiya,

On behalf of our entire team, we could not be more pleased reading your review. We certainly like to surprise our guests and we do intend to go above and beyond guests’ expectations. Thank you for your kind comments!
We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with the team especially the individuals you have mentioned such as Chef Dennis, Mr. Nacer and Mrs. Swathi from Front Office.
Our team was very pleased to be at your service and glad to know you had enjoyed a great time in the island. It is a pleasure to see you have an eye for detail and have noticed the little touches we do for our guests.
Please be back soon for another holiday.

Best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Traveled 2 adults in April for 40th birthday to Kurumba 3 nights and Conrad Rangali 4 nights.
Couple weeks before travel weather forecast was rain everyday, but just before our trip all changed and was not even drop of rain in our 7 nights in Maldives.
Kurumba is only 10 minutes away from Male airport by boat. Many ships and boats around, but they not bothered us at all. Sometimes we could hear some plane noises from Male airport, but it wasn’t too bad. There is no over water bungalows. In the Evenings, they had some music and traditional Maldivian dance, was cool to see hotel staff dancing . They are local Maldivian company, not a hotel from a big chain. If U care about smiles U have to visit Kurumba respect to staff, they work very hard and smiles a lot, even if they were fake smiles then they are very good actors too . Everybody was friendly and happy to help if needed.
Food was very good, always something to choose from. Every evening they had a different theme – Maldivian night, Pacific Ocean tastes etc. Evening buffet was around 65$ US each. Bungalow was good size too (we had a cheapest option). In the Bungalow, our favorite thing was a lovely shower under open sky, never seen like this anywhere else, U can have shower and watch the clouds or stars ! Kurumba is superb, some coral reefs, plenty of colorful fish, I have seen about 3-foot-long black tip Sharks wondering around. Nice to see it so close, good experience. Overall Hotel is very good, lovely hotel with superb Staff. Thanks to Jamool for a lovely chat one evening at the main buffet restaurant Vihamanaa.
They do trips to Male. This is why we chose Kurumba as first Hotel in Maldives, only one negative thing that trip to Male is only 4 Hours long and we had to rush back for boat, that’s way too short. Price is around 90$ per person at the time. We asked in reception if we can stay longer than 4hrs, and somebody would pick us up later, but then we were told this will be classified as a private transfer and would cost around 400$. So instead opted for second 4 hrs trip to Male next day. Male is very busy and crammed place, streets are so narrow, motorbikes parked so tight everywhere so even pedestrian have trouble to squeeze through to cross street. Streets in central London can be called motorways compared to streets sizes in Male, must see to believe it. Its only around 2Km long. Male is building a new airport with a longer runway, so will be able to land even biggest planes as airbus a380-800. So, will be quicker and cheaper to visit Maldives in couple years’ time or so. We will definitely be back to Maldives.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Darius ,

It was wonderful to welcome you to Kurumba Maldives and many thanks for your great TripAdvisor review.
Please keep in touch in the future if you are planning for another vacation back to our island. Our team is looking forward to welcoming your family again!

With best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

As soon as got on the dock to check in room, I was greeted warmly by Naceer after 28 hour total fligtht and layover from San Francisco, CA. The resort is very well maintainded, restaurant service excellent, variety of finer to banquet dinning, view from a couple of restaurants breath taking and ocean water prestine. They have variety of water activities, i rented a jet ski, snorkelled and good certified as scub diver ( this requires studying, test and water drills- PADI). Almost 95% of staff were pleasant to see you. I been places were I knew they had too.. Overall, you must try once.. I can see when you ask of places to visit in the world.. This has to be on your bucket list. Well I am going to try to return again.. even with my long flight with that special person. Shukuriyaa

Room tip: all good close to breach
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank delpradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Delpradon,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review Kurumba Maldives on TripAdvisor and for awarding us top marks. We are all very glad you had a wonderful experience here in our resort.
We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with the team especially the individual you have mentioned such as Nacer.
We hope you enjoyed your journey back home and very much hope to welcome you back to Kurumba Maldives in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We spent there 6 days in July 2017. The weather was amazing, sometimes with a sudden raining which made the air even more fresh and nice. We loved staying in the Kurumba! The staff, the view, the location and the whole area was exceptional.
Let me just start with our arrival to the Resort: it was a 5 minute boat transfer from the airport, so basically after landing in 30 minutes we were enjoying ourselves on the beach! It was incredible! The staff was incredibly helpful and fast in every aspect of our stay.
We stayed at a deluxe bungalow which was the best decision, because it has such a unique ambiance. The airconditioning was amazing, we never had problem with the temperature.
The staff: polite, calm, incredibly nice people! Everywhere! I mean literally everywhere in the resort, it doesn't matter where we went.
The beach and the ocean is like a little piece of heaven on eart. Soft white sand everywhere with the blue ocean are the perfect combination of an extraordinary vacation.
The food: we tried almost every restaurant, except the Hamakaze, because that was not our cup of tea. The food and service were excellent. The pizza was really tasteful, highly recommended!
They have so many different programs, excursions, it was really hard to decide which ones we'd have the time! The mos spectacular was the dolphin and sunset watching, we were mesmerized by the dolphins spinning in front of us. But we also enjoyed the cocktail night as we met so many different amazing people there! We visited Malé, the capital with the most amazing tourist guide! He was so helpful and showed us the most important places in the capital. We are grateful to everyone for contributing to such a wonderful vacation!

It was a fantastic vacation, we will definetely go back! Its perfect for families with younger children as well since they have all the equipments for toddlers and kids to enjoy every minute of the holiday!

It surely will be an unforgettable travel for us, not only because of the exceptional Kurumba but because my boyfriend proposed to me there! I said YES to him on a white sand beach while watching the scenic sunset. It's a really precious memory and place for us and it will always be! As we arrived back to our room after the proposal, our bed was covered in the most beatiful frangipanis and different flowers, it was fantastic! Somehow they kne we got engaged! :D

So once again thank you for everyone in the Kurumba and hopefully we will meet soon!

Alexandra and her family from Hungary

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexandraP3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Alexandra,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating! It was a pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed your holiday experience at Kurumba Maldives. As a resort, we do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. We aim to deliver full and diverse experiences to our guests.
We are all very much looking forward to having you again as a guest in our resort.

Sunny regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews