We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,350)
Filter reviews
4,350 results
Traveller rating
3,592
578
116
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,592
578
116
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe bungalow beach bar fish close to the airport coconut sorbet outdoor shower kids club our honeymoon male airport dine around option choice of restaurants main restaurant water sports champagne breakfast indian restaurant tennis courts sunset cruise
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 4,350 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

yes the resort is close to the airport so you do get some airplane noise....but after traveling 20 hrs on a plane i did not want to get on another plane or boat. the resort is very nice and well kept...the beach bungalows are nicer than the standard rooms but also a bit further away from restaurants and pool. the staff was great and the food was second to none.

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Marc,

We all enjoyed reading about your overall positive experience. We are certainly glad you had a great vacation in Kurumba Maldives and enjoyed the facilities provided.
It was a great pleasure having you here as a guest and we hope you will be visiting us again soon. Sure you will have another enjoyable vacation with us.

Sincerely,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Superb location, facilities and friendly helpful staff. The stunning beach and lagoon surrounds the entire island and provides private space. We travelled in August and found the weather to be great and the resort less crowded. Even with fewer people the service, range and restaurant offerings were still top class. Recommend the delux cabin which have beach and sea views and private sun beds on the beach. Beach is only 15m from the front door. Food is suburb and great quality ingredients & presentation. Breakfast buffet is exceptional! Prices are in USD and charged back. This is a 5 star resort and pricing reflects this but is worth every cent

Room tip: Delux Cabin - 15m from beach, great views & private sun beds on beach
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WendyAus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Wendy,

It was wonderful to welcome you to Kurumba Maldives and many thanks for your great TripAdvisor review.
Please keep in touch in the future if you are planning for another vacation back to our island. Our team is looking forward to welcoming your family again!

With best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This is our third time staying at Kurumba. We have grown attached to the place and sincerely feel that the staff here treat us like family. There is so much to do and see. We parasailed (including a 7year old), we set out on a sunset cruise to watch the dolphins. We swam in the ocean and the family pool. We dined in the finest of cuisines (Thai, Indian, Seafood Grill, and more) Our kids enjoyed splashing around in the Kids Club (3pm splash party daily) as well as indoor time with toys. On Sunday, the whole staff team joined guests on the beach for free massages, drinks, finger food, music and networking. But most of all, we felt very welcomed and special. The staff remember us from our previous stay. Muhideen from Al Qasr has always been very kind to our children now as well as the past, he goes out of his way to find precious memorabilia of them to keep of Kurumba. Rippe, Ahmed, and Ateef from Mahal were very kind to us. And the wonderful gentleman at Thilla, Mueed, was always smiling, greeting us warmly and serving the kids the best milkshakes. Shoeib from Thilla was lovely as well. We saw Mr. Jose Dias ( Food& Beverage Director) everyday and night and he was always full of smiles and happy to help us. Since most of the staff we have befriended work in restaurants we believe he is leading a great team that actually had the most effect on making our holiday so memorable. The lovely gentlemen driving the golf cars to the rooms were a delight to chat with. So were the gardeners who made the kids beautiful birds from coconut palm leaves! The rooms were always immaculately clean once we got back and we were never bored. The kids learned to play billiard and had the most delicious coconut ice cream every single day. I was very, very impressed at the selection of tv channels, the best from any hotel/ resort I have ever visited. Dvd players and free wifi added to our satisfaction.
The only thing we wish were different is the 23.2 government tax applied to literally everything from food to sports.Not Kurumba's fault but it made everything a lot more expensive than it should be.

Room tip: The Beach-Front Bungalows are the best. You literally wakeup, and your eyes open to the view of the ocean.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meera_almazmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Meera Almazmi,

On behalf of our entire team, we could not be more pleased reading your review. We certainly like to surprise our guests and we do intend to go above and beyond guests’ expectations. Thank you for your kind comments. The team will be very happy to read your fabulous feedback and appreciate you highlighting Rippe, Ahmed, and Ateef from Mahal, Mueed, Shoeib from Thilla, Mr. Jose (Food & Beverage Director).
It is a pleasure to see you have an eye for detail and have noticed the little touches we do for our guests.
Please be back soon for another holiday.
Best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Went on a 4 day trip for celebrating our 14th wedding anniversary.....deeply regret having gone there.....FOR ONLY 4 DAYS!!! V should have done 7 days minimum!!! The place is PARADISE!!!
There is not one single staff of theirs that v found unfriendly or unpleasant...everyone goes around with a smile on their face & a pleasant wish!! The property is sooo well maintained , u could never guess how old it was!! The services r excellent!!Veli spa was OMG!! V only had time to taste the food at thila & vihamanaa...left us at a loss for words!! V HAD to meet the executive chef at vihamanaa,Mr. Dennis, to let him know what he was putting us thru!!!V couldn't stop ourselves from tasting all the dishes...mouthwatering !!!!..especially the desserts!!! & a very special thanks to Mr. Naseer for graciously n secretly arranging a surprise cake for my hubby!! & Miss Swathi who showed us around on the 1st day & followed up on us during our stay...DEFINITELY COMING BACK FOR A SECOND ROUND & LONGER STAY!!
Thank you, Kurumba family!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bindiyaa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Bindiya,

On behalf of our entire team, we could not be more pleased reading your review. We certainly like to surprise our guests and we do intend to go above and beyond guests’ expectations. Thank you for your kind comments!
We will be sure to share your encouraging remarks with the team especially the individuals you have mentioned such as Chef Dennis, Mr. Nacer and Mrs. Swathi from Front Office.
Our team was very pleased to be at your service and glad to know you had enjoyed a great time in the island. It is a pleasure to see you have an eye for detail and have noticed the little touches we do for our guests.
Please be back soon for another holiday.

Best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Traveled 2 adults in April for 40th birthday to Kurumba 3 nights and Conrad Rangali 4 nights.
Couple weeks before travel weather forecast was rain everyday, but just before our trip all changed and was not even drop of rain in our 7 nights in Maldives.
Kurumba is only 10 minutes away from Male airport by boat. Many ships and boats around, but they not bothered us at all. Sometimes we could hear some plane noises from Male airport, but it wasn’t too bad. There is no over water bungalows. In the Evenings, they had some music and traditional Maldivian dance, was cool to see hotel staff dancing . They are local Maldivian company, not a hotel from a big chain. If U care about smiles U have to visit Kurumba respect to staff, they work very hard and smiles a lot, even if they were fake smiles then they are very good actors too . Everybody was friendly and happy to help if needed.
Food was very good, always something to choose from. Every evening they had a different theme – Maldivian night, Pacific Ocean tastes etc. Evening buffet was around 65$ US each. Bungalow was good size too (we had a cheapest option). In the Bungalow, our favorite thing was a lovely shower under open sky, never seen like this anywhere else, U can have shower and watch the clouds or stars ! Kurumba is superb, some coral reefs, plenty of colorful fish, I have seen about 3-foot-long black tip Sharks wondering around. Nice to see it so close, good experience. Overall Hotel is very good, lovely hotel with superb Staff. Thanks to Jamool for a lovely chat one evening at the main buffet restaurant Vihamanaa.
They do trips to Male. This is why we chose Kurumba as first Hotel in Maldives, only one negative thing that trip to Male is only 4 Hours long and we had to rush back for boat, that’s way too short. Price is around 90$ per person at the time. We asked in reception if we can stay longer than 4hrs, and somebody would pick us up later, but then we were told this will be classified as a private transfer and would cost around 400$. So instead opted for second 4 hrs trip to Male next day. Male is very busy and crammed place, streets are so narrow, motorbikes parked so tight everywhere so even pedestrian have trouble to squeeze through to cross street. Streets in central London can be called motorways compared to streets sizes in Male, must see to believe it. Its only around 2Km long. Male is building a new airport with a longer runway, so will be able to land even biggest planes as airbus a380-800. So, will be quicker and cheaper to visit Maldives in couple years’ time or so. We will definitely be back to Maldives.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darius D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard M, General Manager at Kurumba Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Dear Darius ,

It was wonderful to welcome you to Kurumba Maldives and many thanks for your great TripAdvisor review.
Please keep in touch in the future if you are planning for another vacation back to our island. Our team is looking forward to welcoming your family again!

With best regards,
Ryszard Majewski, Kurumba Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews