We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice good value lunch”
Review of The Elgin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Elgin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Charlestown B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice good value lunch”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice good value lunch in the restaurant. Friendly and efficient staff and good food. Steak pie was really good and the prawns were good too. Lovely views and good ambience. Prices are very reasonable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DG016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    79
    38
    25
    36
See reviews for
42
146
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ballater
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel is set on a brae just above the small harbour with great views over the Forth.We upgraded to a superior double with river views.The ensuite room was large clean and tidy as was bathroom and had a large flat screen T.V. The frame of the bed was newish and appeared to by king-size but the mattress was a bit tired and was double.Had a meal on first night of our two night break,good choices and excellent quality of food and service.Full breakfast on first day was excellent,second day opted for bacon,eggs,black and beans,got only one rasher of bacon and no beans but this was quickly sorted.Did not welcome the server bawling out from opposite end of breakfast room to ask toast choice which she had not written down and forgot not great ambience at breakfast time.Yes the main carpet is a bit dodgy in places but it is still in season and hopefully will be redressed off season.The main décor is in good order as required for Q.A. purposes.What a pity on check-out that their was no interaction with your guests, no did you enjoy your stay, nothing.

Room Tip: Front with river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Food was dear & poor quality photos made hotel better than what it was . It was like going in to time warp in 1970,s not good value for money as young couple . And the smell was like old cat piss . And no near bye shops . We cancelled our other night would never stay here again . And we went to 4 star hotel at Dakota which is brilliant .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCANDREWannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlestown hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Arrived in a dark drab reception, polite enough staff. En route to room passed open door to the laundry and cleaning aka home sized washing machine in a room not much bigger than the machine. That said the bedroom was clean although dated. There were squeaky flood boards in the bedroom like I've never heard before. You could not walk (particularly at night) anywhere in the room without disturbing not only your own room mates but those in the adjoining one too. Worst experience of squeaking ever, ever ever. Personally I don't like sleeping under sheets and blanket, prefer duvet, besides the machine didn't look big enough to wash them.
Dinner...Grandmas home cooking on noisy patterned plates. Salad a slice of cuc with half a cherry Tom on top in four quarters of the plate! Not valve for money. Breakfast was good for choice and an improvement, although I was hoping for Scottish salmon and scrambled egg! Other guests were very quiet at Breakfast, funny how we all arrived at the same time, I was desperate to ask if they had squeaky floor boards too!



  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelouiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here for the Edinburgh festival which is just a short drive away. The young lady serving our breakfast and dinner was delightful as well as the manager checking us out in the morning. Highly recommended if you wish for a tranquil few nights with a wonderful view in their restaurant along with brilliant service from the staff. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the Elgin hotel because it was in the nice area of Fife and the hotel looked nice from outside. ( ok it was a lovely sunny day)
When we arrived in the hotel was gloomy and very dated look.
The carpet at the entrance was taped up because it was thread bear and old fashioned.
Actually everything about the hotel was run down and needed a serious revamp.
The bed was uncomfortable and room was small and had a stale smell about it.
The food was "traditional", bland and of very poor quality.

This is not a nice place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We held a family celebration here on 15th June 2013 (46 people). All staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. Shona (the manager) met us prior to the event and made sure that all our requests were noted and delivered. This included specific function room layout requests. The food and table service were very good. We booked 4 rooms for an overnight stay and found them clean and comfortable and believe me I am picky!! Overall we were very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
34.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
11.7 mi away
Kingswood Hotel
Kingswood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burntisland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Hotel

Property: The Elgin Hotel
Address: Charlestown KY11 3EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Charlestown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elgin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Elgin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing