We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice in Syracuse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in East Syracuse
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Doubletree Syracuse for our annual shopping trip. I booked through Priceline at $90. First impressions: The exterior reminded us of a hospital, but the lobby was nicely renovated, check-in was easy and of course, you get the warm Doubletree cookie. :-) This hotel has a large conference center and those public areas have been very nicely updated. However, beyond the lobby, restaurant and meeting rooms was another story. We were on the second floor and the carpet was full of black stains and the walls were dirty. The room itself was ok. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was updated, plus a flat screen TV and free wireless Internet. Our main issue was with the room temperature. The room was too warm, despite our efforts to turn down the heat; it ran at 76-77 degrees. We called the front desk to get the AC fixed and were informed the AC was off this time of year (fair enough) and suggested we open a window. Considering we were on the first floor facing a parking lot, that wasn’t a great option but did work. Our other complaint was the housekeeping. The beds were made up, but the room was not thoroughly cleaned.

So in summary…hotel was ok, but with so many other newer, cleaner options, I wouldn’t go back in a hurry.

Tip: Check out Dinosaur BBQ – It lives up to the hype! Long wait (1.5 hours) but not to be missed when in Syracuse.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HernameisRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid experience of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you chose to share the positives including mentioning our recent update, our staff and the cookie, as well as the not so great including the challenges with the heating and air conditioning. Like so many of our neighboring hotels and large facilities, the shoulder seasons present a unique challenge to our air systems as day to day temps can go from near zero up to the seventies making it quite difficult for central systems to keep pace. Although this does not make up for the discomfort you may have had during your stay, we hope that it explains it a little more clearly. With the many positives you’re experienced during your stay, we wish that there may be a time that you give us another try and again thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

When planning our girls shopping weekend in Syracuse; we decided to try the Double Tree Hotel Syracuse again. I had a complimentary one nights accommodation certificate given to me in response to my review of this property last year and we used it for one of our 2 nights stay.
We had a great time. The room was incredibly comfortable (we even had a balcony). Beds were comfy, the room was spotless & we loved the new coffee maker! Everyone from the front desk (we had been looking forward to our warm chocolate chip cookies & were so pleased that they still offered this treat upon check in) to the maintenance guy that we chatted with in the elevator (he was kind enough to aid us with loading up the elevator with our gazillion shopping bags) was helpful and friendly.
And unlike last year, our experience dining in the Regatta was a positive one. Our waitress was exceptional...what more can I say. The food is average; nothing to rave about but after a day of shopping having the convenience of dining 'in' is a great option.
Wi fi was complimentary which was nice..not many hotels offer that service free these days.
All in all we were more than satisfied with the Doubletree...We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandiamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for a weekend in October. The check in staff were polite and helpful, and the "basic" room was everything we needed. The hotel was busy with out of town sports teams, but having requested a quiet room , we were placed on a floor away from them, and it was very peaceful. The indoor pool was clean and well patronised, and the bar and restaurant, although somewhat understaffed the night we were there, provided excellent meals. We would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank frances68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Overall excellent stay. Indoor pool was very nice. Convenient access by car and parking included with hotel stay and close to rooms. Hilton Honors members can have complimentary WiFi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumbarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was a weekend stay in Syracuse with shopping and relaxation .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband and I have come to rely on the Doubletree when shopping in Syracuse and in Waterloo an hour away. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the bedding is luxurious. We were also provided with free wi-fi this most recent visit, which was a nice treat. Overall, we have found the Doubletree to be a dependable choice for quality accommodations.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannonlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you for sharing your very positive experience and we look forward to having you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just returned from a four night business stay at the Double Tree in Syracuse. This hotel met all my expectations and was par for the course as most Double Tree properties are. They provided and easy to use and depandable airport shuttle and unlike many hotels I have stayed at, the in-room wireless internet worked just fine. They provided this free of charge for our conference. The hotel and rooms in general were very clean, quiet, and comfortable.
The hotel location is a slight drawback as it is not convenient walking distance to restaurants etc. Other than that my stay was outstanding...I would like to commend the staff of the hotel as they were very polite, helpful, and went out of their way to accomodate your needs. The food and beverage service was outstanding at all our functions (would highly recommend their mushroom and barley soup it was outstanding)
I would recommend this hotel highly for business purposes; however, for family vacations you might would like a place more convenient to attractions, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wareaglehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kmagdon, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide so much detail of your stay with us and in particular the plus and minus of our proximity to downtown Syracuse. Although we are not a downtown location, we do provide complementary shuttle service to and from all major shopping and dining districts and hope that you have an opportunity to take advantage of this service on a future visit. Again thank you for taking the time to share and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Syracuse
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Syracuse
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse / Carrier Circle
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
Hilton Garden Inn Syracuse
#3 of 19 in East Syracuse
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Syracuse - Carrier Circle
0.4 mi away
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
CrestHill Suites Syracuse
#5 of 19 in East Syracuse
591 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse

Address: 6301 State Route 298, East Syracuse, NY 13057
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > East Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in East Syracuse
Price Range: £72 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full-service hotel in Syracuse, New York, is situated in a corporate park just off the New York State Thruway and is only ten minutes from downtown and Syracuse University. Take the complimentary shuttle to Syracuse Hancock International Airport.Our rooms and suites offer modern decor with complimentary WiFi throughout. Relax in the courtyard area with seating, plus enjoy the heated, indoor pool with a whirlpool spa and the heated, outdoor pool with a sundeck. Dine at Regatta Bar & Grille, offering cocktails and light food. Our hotel in Syracuse, New York also offers room service, a complimentary 24-hour fitness center, complimentary 24-hour business center and a self-service pantry. Host a meeting in 12,000 sq. ft. of event space including two ballrooms and two boardrooms capable of hosting up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel East Syracuse
Doubletree East Syracuse
East Syracuse Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing