We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Greenview Inn(Riverhead)
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Quogue Club(Quogue)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End(Riverhead)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead(Riverhead)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express East End(Riverhead)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$104
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
US$280
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Long Island East End(Riverhead)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
45
4
3
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
4
3
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bmaster suiteeastern long islandfirst morningwesthampton beachsized beddune roadcommon areasliving roomquichelocation is greatother guestsfront porchenjoying the viewkennyfireplacefork
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2011

my husband decided to treat for my birthday with a stay at a bed and breakfast so that a commute to dinner would be easy, when we pulled into the driveway, i was immediatley dissapointed. Matters such a s overgrown weeds, improperly kept gardens, unlandscaped lawns and an over all teribble mess, but it didnt stop there, after the "intake" process, i was showed to my room (by two very helpful and caring young ladies) where my husband and i found a TURD in the toilet. I was very disappointed when i find out the owner was unavailable. Breakfast was great the next morning, the two young ladies were very sociable and helpful but in all was very dissapointed. i will NEVER go back to A VICTORIAN ON THE BAY!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beach030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mepEastport, Owner at A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

We took this review seriously even though it was the first time we have had a guest complain about a bathroom being clean. We have taken measures to make sure than each employee has to check off each item in the bathroom and the room with their initials to insure that it was in fact cleaned to the expectations of any guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

From the moment we arrived, I felt a connection to Rosemary who proceeded to make us feel very comfortable and welcomed. Our room was large with a gas stove and water views all around, king sized bed, jacuzzi tub, large bathroom; beautiful, really. Rosemary, the owner, couldn't do enough for us, and we felt extremely at ease, knowing whatever we wanted to do or not do was ok with her. My husband and I are stargazers and moon lovers, and there at that B & B it was sooooo quiet, and there was no light pollution---- you could see every star as crystal clear as could be. Our room had a small balcony, and the view was magnificent. Talk about romance!!! What a backdrop!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceinwen1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

As a couple who visits B&B's for our yearly anniversary getaway, and have visited many across Long Island and New Jersey, you come to understand part of the main difference of choosing a B&B over a hotel/motel is the level of hospitality, service and accomodations you will enjoy. You will find none of the above at the Victorian on the Bay.

Your first impression is dealing with the owner who at first glance seems to be very meticulous in her dealings with her business and that's all that it is...a business. There is absolutely no feeling of welcome, home or warmth at this B&B. I was asked at reservation what was the reason for our stay. When I said it was to celebrate a major anniversary, I assumed it was to use that information to make our stay even more special. I was very wrong. It was never acknowledged. Upon check-in the rules of the house were very clearly the main focus and not your comfort or enjoyment. No hospitality whatsoever. Most B&B's have a community refrigerator which is there for the guests to enjoy a cold beverage. As well, the traditional afternoon tea and refreshments were noticeably absent.

As for the accommodations, when one visits an upscale B&B you can always expect cleanliness and comfort to be paramount. This B&B is horribly run down, dirty, and just a step above a cheap motel in both these areas. The linens were substandard. The room was horribly dirty, i.e., dust behind bed, filthy curtains, dirty bathtub, smudged mirrors, stained unvacuumed carpet, stains on chairs and even my husband noticed the bed was poorly made and not crisp.

Breakfast was meager at best, with absolutely no bells and whistles, i.e., muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, half and half, the free breakfast at the Hampton Inn is good compared to this.

In closing, when you spend $330 for one night of what you think will be a romantic, luxurious getaway, you expect at least some upscale amenities, i.e., a bottle of champagne to acknowledge the reason for your stay, more than two towels, a well appointed room, i.e., dvd player, some amenities in the bathroom, i.e., a shower cap and an owner who is happy you have come to stay at their home. Not too much to ask.

All of the standards expected in your stay at a premium B&B are missing here, except for the price. We wish that we had read this blog before making the reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank resdog2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We just returned from a delightful stay at A Victorian on the Bay to celebrate our anniversary. It far exceeded our expectations. Even though the pictures online are beautiful it is even better in real life. Everything was immaculate and the decorations were lovely. We got a full tour before leaving and the views were incredible from every room. Breakfast was filling and nicely presented. They even asked us prior to our arrival if we had any dietary restrictions, if we would like coffee and tea so everything would be ready for us when we came to breakfast. Rosemary the owner was so gracious. She made our dinner reservations and had maps and directions to every place we wanted to see. All in all it was perfect from beginning to end.

We will are hoping to get back for a summer trip so we can use the pool and hot tub. We highly recommend it.

November 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaconhillStonyBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Novemberc 5, 2010

I know it is not always possible to please everyone whether it is at a fine restaurant or a hotel but the comments written about A Victorian on the Bay bed and breakfast in the 2 “disappointing” accounts don’t even come close to true. We just returned from a stay a week ago and I went on to post a comment. I could not believe what I read. The house is only 12 years old. Everything is in immaculate condition. There are no knick knacks, there are no childlike decorations that would make one use the word Disney in describing the bed and breakfast. All of the colors are warm, welcoming, cool and refreshing. The owner was constantly helping someone with maps and restaurant reservations – planning their day. We loved that she wanted to know about our dietary restrictions before we arrived and if we would prefer coffee or tea. It just showed that she wanted to be ready upon our arrival. Also the rooms were beautifully decorated with incredible water views. We enjoyed using the fireplace and the whirlpool tub. We even used the fitness room each morning before going out. We loved that she had rules – no smoking, no children, no pets, no candles. Who would not? I think these last 2 comments were written by a jealous competitor or maybe someone who was having a fight with their spouse and decided to blame a less than perfect weekend on the bed and breakfast rather than focusing on their problems.

We had a great time and obviously so did others we talked to before we got there – and people who were repeat customers sitting at the breakfast table. One couple was on their 4th visit. Be careful to allow others with an agenda dissuade you from having a wonderful time at an incredible b&b – A Victorian on the Bay. MS

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagarese07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews