We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Eastport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We live here on Long Island and received a gift certificate to this B&B. It was a great get-away and Rosemary was very helpful. The place was beautiful and upon our arival she was more than helpful in recommending places for dinner. She called the local restaurant "Trumpets" and we were able to take a nice walk and get a table on the outside deck right away. The next morning we met some interesting people and during our home made breakfast prepared by Rosemary, which was delicious. Bottom line, we would love to go back one day in the future and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice peaceful getaway. Thanks to my brother-in-law and future siter-in-law for the gift certificate!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

A perfect weekend at a perfect B&B. Rosemary is incredible, the rooms are immaculate and the setting is spectacular! If you want relaxation, to be surrounded by beauty and feel like you are in a home away from home, look no further! You'll love the B&B as well as Rosemary.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Amazing hospitality. Romantic rooms and delicious breakfast. So close to the city. Rosemary took great care of us.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Definitley not worth 300-400 dollars a night! For that amount of money, I would expect a room in pristine condition. The owner talks a good talk, but when you get there, you see that room needed to be painted, and the carpeting needs to be replaced because it looks worn and dirty. The shared patio that we had also shared our bathroom window so there was no sense of real privacy. The kitchen is completely closed off until breakfast, and there is no service station available to guests to even make a cup of tea at night or in the morning. We had to go to the deli down the street because we got up earlier than expected and our breakfast slot was hours away... The microwaved breakfast is served between 9 and 10 only. A late check out will cost you an extra 40.00 for an hour, and there is no extra bathroom available anywhere in the house for use by guests. The hot tub was closed up, and seemed to be unavailable. There is no sense of the house having a warm and inviting atmosphere. For those that just want a place to flop, this place will work. If you want a homey, warm and inviting place to stay, you will do probably do much better elsewhere and will pay much less! We will not be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jamaCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mepEastport, Owner at A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

There is so much incorrect information contained within this review I do not know how to begin. The people who were in this room the night prior to this guest only raved about how it was so much better than the pictures online. They thanked us several times prior to leaving for giving them such a clean and delightful place to spend their honeymoon.
Our breakfast is cooked from scratch every morning and part of it might be warmed again in the microwave as a guest sits down -- especially if they come down after 9 AM. The hot tub is covered but certainly not closed. there are towels next to the the hot tub for guests to use. When the sun is shining there will always be guests lounging at the pool.
this is not a hotel and the only guest bathrooms are in their room. We do not have public restrooms. Also since this is not a hotel and only a small b&b there is not kitchen for the guests. We do not have the staff or space to provide 24 hour tea/coffee service. However whenever a guest asks if they can have coffee early, we provide them with a coffee pot in their room along with creamers and sweeteners.
While there is a window overlooking this deck, each guest can close their window and draw a shade for privacy. The room could use a couple of spots to retouch painting from luggage hitting the walls - but hardly needs a full painting. And any stains on the carpet are removed on a daily basis as guest check out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

my husband decided to treat for my birthday with a stay at a bed and breakfast so that a commute to dinner would be easy, when we pulled into the driveway, i was immediatley dissapointed. Matters such a s overgrown weeds, improperly kept gardens, unlandscaped lawns and an over all teribble mess, but it didnt stop there, after the "intake" process, i was showed to my room (by two very helpful and caring young ladies) where my husband and i found a TURD in the toilet. I was very disappointed when i find out the owner was unavailable. Breakfast was great the next morning, the two young ladies were very sociable and helpful but in all was very dissapointed. i will NEVER go back to A VICTORIAN ON THE BAY!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beach030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mepEastport, Owner at A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

We took this review seriously even though it was the first time we have had a guest complain about a bathroom being clean. We have taken measures to make sure than each employee has to check off each item in the bathroom and the room with their initials to insure that it was in fact cleaned to the expectations of any guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

From the moment we arrived, I felt a connection to Rosemary who proceeded to make us feel very comfortable and welcomed. Our room was large with a gas stove and water views all around, king sized bed, jacuzzi tub, large bathroom; beautiful, really. Rosemary, the owner, couldn't do enough for us, and we felt extremely at ease, knowing whatever we wanted to do or not do was ok with her. My husband and I are stargazers and moon lovers, and there at that B & B it was sooooo quiet, and there was no light pollution---- you could see every star as crystal clear as could be. Our room had a small balcony, and the view was magnificent. Talk about romance!!! What a backdrop!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceinwen1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

As a couple who visits B&B's for our yearly anniversary getaway, and have visited many across Long Island and New Jersey, you come to understand part of the main difference of choosing a B&B over a hotel/motel is the level of hospitality, service and accomodations you will enjoy. You will find none of the above at the Victorian on the Bay.

Your first impression is dealing with the owner who at first glance seems to be very meticulous in her dealings with her business and that's all that it is...a business. There is absolutely no feeling of welcome, home or warmth at this B&B. I was asked at reservation what was the reason for our stay. When I said it was to celebrate a major anniversary, I assumed it was to use that information to make our stay even more special. I was very wrong. It was never acknowledged. Upon check-in the rules of the house were very clearly the main focus and not your comfort or enjoyment. No hospitality whatsoever. Most B&B's have a community refrigerator which is there for the guests to enjoy a cold beverage. As well, the traditional afternoon tea and refreshments were noticeably absent.

As for the accommodations, when one visits an upscale B&B you can always expect cleanliness and comfort to be paramount. This B&B is horribly run down, dirty, and just a step above a cheap motel in both these areas. The linens were substandard. The room was horribly dirty, i.e., dust behind bed, filthy curtains, dirty bathtub, smudged mirrors, stained unvacuumed carpet, stains on chairs and even my husband noticed the bed was poorly made and not crisp.

Breakfast was meager at best, with absolutely no bells and whistles, i.e., muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, half and half, the free breakfast at the Hampton Inn is good compared to this.

In closing, when you spend $330 for one night of what you think will be a romantic, luxurious getaway, you expect at least some upscale amenities, i.e., a bottle of champagne to acknowledge the reason for your stay, more than two towels, a well appointed room, i.e., dvd player, some amenities in the bathroom, i.e., a shower cap and an owner who is happy you have come to stay at their home. Not too much to ask.

All of the standards expected in your stay at a premium B&B are missing here, except for the price. We wish that we had read this blog before making the reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank resdog2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 57 S Bay Ave, Eastport, NY 11941-1315
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Eastport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eastport
Price Range: £118 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peninsula overlooking a bay. Built 1998 to be bed and breakfast. Featured on HGTV, Channel 12 news, many newspapers and magazines for uniqueness of property and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing