We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Spotless and Comfortable B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Eastport B&B and Inns
Bronxville, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Spotless and Comfortable B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

The weekend of August 12 to the 14 2011 we stayed at this property in Eastport, Long Island, NY. We were there to celebrate a family member's birthday and the party was in West Hampton which is only about 5 miles from here. The rooms are SPOTLESS and comfortable. The owner and her staff were very helpful and knowledgeable regarding places to dine and to visit in this area and the surrounding towns. Breakfast was delicious as well. I would recommend definitely recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vimaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    3
    3
    9
    3
See reviews for
10
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We live here on Long Island and received a gift certificate to this B&B. It was a great get-away and Rosemary was very helpful. The place was beautiful and upon our arival she was more than helpful in recommending places for dinner. She called the local restaurant "Trumpets" and we were able to take a nice walk and get a table on the outside deck right away. The next morning we met some interesting people and during our home made breakfast prepared by Rosemary, which was delicious. Bottom line, we would love to go back one day in the future and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice peaceful getaway. Thanks to my brother-in-law and future siter-in-law for the gift certificate!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

A perfect weekend at a perfect B&B. Rosemary is incredible, the rooms are immaculate and the setting is spectacular! If you want relaxation, to be surrounded by beauty and feel like you are in a home away from home, look no further! You'll love the B&B as well as Rosemary.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Amazing hospitality. Romantic rooms and delicious breakfast. So close to the city. Rosemary took great care of us.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Definitley not worth 300-400 dollars a night! For that amount of money, I would expect a room in pristine condition. The owner talks a good talk, but when you get there, you see that room needed to be painted, and the carpeting needs to be replaced because it looks worn and dirty. The shared patio that we had also shared our bathroom window so there was no sense of real privacy. The kitchen is completely closed off until breakfast, and there is no service station available to guests to even make a cup of tea at night or in the morning. We had to go to the deli down the street because we got up earlier than expected and our breakfast slot was hours away... The microwaved breakfast is served between 9 and 10 only. A late check out will cost you an extra 40.00 for an hour, and there is no extra bathroom available anywhere in the house for use by guests. The hot tub was closed up, and seemed to be unavailable. There is no sense of the house having a warm and inviting atmosphere. For those that just want a place to flop, this place will work. If you want a homey, warm and inviting place to stay, you will do probably do much better elsewhere and will pay much less! We will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamaCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mepEastport, Owner at A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
There is so much incorrect information contained within this review I do not know how to begin. The people who were in this room the night prior to this guest only raved about how it was so much better than the pictures online. They thanked us several times prior to leaving for giving them such a clean and delightful place to spend their honeymoon.
Our breakfast is cooked from scratch every morning and part of it might be warmed again in the microwave as a guest sits down -- especially if they come down after 9 AM. The hot tub is covered but certainly not closed. there are towels next to the the hot tub for guests to use. When the sun is shining there will always be guests lounging at the pool.
this is not a hotel and the only guest bathrooms are in their room. We do not have public restrooms. Also since this is not a hotel and only a small b&b there is not kitchen for the guests. We do not have the staff or space to provide 24 hour tea/coffee service. However whenever a guest asks if they can have coffee early, we provide them with a coffee pot in their room along with creamers and sweeteners.
While there is a window overlooking this deck, each guest can close their window and draw a shade for privacy. The room could use a couple of spots to retouch painting from luggage hitting the walls - but hardly needs a full painting. And any stains on the carpet are removed on a daily basis as guest check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speonk, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

my husband decided to treat for my birthday with a stay at a bed and breakfast so that a commute to dinner would be easy, when we pulled into the driveway, i was immediatley dissapointed. Matters such a s overgrown weeds, improperly kept gardens, unlandscaped lawns and an over all teribble mess, but it didnt stop there, after the "intake" process, i was showed to my room (by two very helpful and caring young ladies) where my husband and i found a TURD in the toilet. I was very disappointed when i find out the owner was unavailable. Breakfast was great the next morning, the two young ladies were very sociable and helpful but in all was very dissapointed. i will NEVER go back to A VICTORIAN ON THE BAY!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beach030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mepEastport, Owner at A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
We took this review seriously even though it was the first time we have had a guest complain about a bathroom being clean. We have taken measures to make sure than each employee has to check off each item in the bathroom and the room with their initials to insure that it was in fact cleaned to the expectations of any guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

From the moment we arrived, I felt a connection to Rosemary who proceeded to make us feel very comfortable and welcomed. Our room was large with a gas stove and water views all around, king sized bed, jacuzzi tub, large bathroom; beautiful, really. Rosemary, the owner, couldn't do enough for us, and we felt extremely at ease, knowing whatever we wanted to do or not do was ok with her. My husband and I are stargazers and moon lovers, and there at that B & B it was sooooo quiet, and there was no light pollution---- you could see every star as crystal clear as could be. Our room had a small balcony, and the view was magnificent. Talk about romance!!! What a backdrop!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceinwen1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
6.2 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
7.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
10.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 57 S Bay Ave, Eastport, NY 11941-1315
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Eastport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peninsula overlooking a bay. Built 1998 to be bed and breakfast. Featured on HGTV, Channel 12 news, many newspapers and magazines for uniqueness of property and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your A Victorian on the Bay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing