We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

A stunning building, large rooms, wonderful interiour decoration, a huge breakfast. We planned to be there for two days and stayed for a week. A cristal-clear river borders the property. Large DVD collection for rainy days. Kristen and Jim are wonderful hosts, not only for giving us some good hints on where to go. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulM060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

We spent five days with Kristen and Jim and enjoyed every moment. Her attention to details was right on without being overwhelming. Her breakfasts are delicious and she was crowned the breakfast queen by our 2 teenage boys. We enjoyed the character of this beautiful house, but we also enjoyed relaxing in the cozy living room area, with the cats purring as we watched movies after skiing all day at Whiteface.
We highly recommend this b&b, one of the best bed and breakfasts in our experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmschoolhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Kris and Jim made us right at home. We've been back now several times and each time there's been something lovely and memorable -- a fire by the firepit, a quiet afternoon sitting in the sunny garden, a relaxing evening on the porch. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and the breakfast is simply amazing. The innkeepers are ready with great recommendations for local dinner spots or day trips.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed overnight on our way to Montreal. Kristen is a gracious and lovely hostess and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The breakfast was superb. Kristen and Jim go out of their way to make you feel at home in their lovely inn. They even mailed me back my IPOD that I left there by mistake. Would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBoyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Just spent a fantatstic weekend at the Woodruff House with hosts Kris & Jim. It was a wonderful place to be able to relax and enjoy the surrounding Adirondack park. The wonderfully restored home is beatufil and so relaxing. I enjoyed throwing the frisbee around the spacious yard w/ my 12 yr old nephew (kids are very welcome), smores from the backyard campfire and unbelievable breakfast each morning. A great place to be able to get away and relax.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcart2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Our recent stay at The Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast in Elizabethtown, New York, was a wonderful experience. This was our first stay at a bed & breakfast & we were not sure what to expect. It turned out to be such a positive experience, that we look forward to staying at more bed & breakfasts in the future. The inn keepers, Kristen & Jim, made us feel so much at home & so pampered. The breakfasts were out of this world. The house is beautifully decorated. We enjoyed sitting on the porch relaxing with lemonade made by Kristen. We highly recommend this bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I very much enjoyed staying here. We were in a hurry, so we didn't have enough time to enjoy the area, including the peaceful stream that runs through the property, or the hiking in the nearby woods. (Don't let that happen to you - take the time to enjoy the place!) The hostess was very friendly and the house was beautiful. Breakfast was great, too.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
7.8 mi away
The Inn in Westport
The Inn in Westport
#1 of 3 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
12.0 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8219 River Street, PO Box 385, Elizabethtown, NY 12932-2204
Region: United States > New York > Elizabethtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance in a neat old home shared with three fat, friendly cats on the Boquet River. Wi-Fi, gourmet country breakfast and beverages 'round the campfire' are included. Why not live it up a little? And plan to stay awhile; if you're like our other guests, once you're here you won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing