We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We look forward to our next visit!"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Kris and Jim made us right at home. We've been back now several times and each time there's been something lovely and memorable -- a fire by the firepit, a quiet afternoon sitting in the sunny garden, a relaxing evening on the porch. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable and the breakfast is simply amazing. The innkeepers are ready with great recommendations for local dinner spots or day trips.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed overnight on our way to Montreal. Kristen is a gracious and lovely hostess and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The breakfast was superb. Kristen and Jim go out of their way to make you feel at home in their lovely inn. They even mailed me back my IPOD that I left there by mistake. Would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBoyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Just spent a fantatstic weekend at the Woodruff House with hosts Kris & Jim. It was a wonderful place to be able to relax and enjoy the surrounding Adirondack park. The wonderfully restored home is beatufil and so relaxing. I enjoyed throwing the frisbee around the spacious yard w/ my 12 yr old nephew (kids are very welcome), smores from the backyard campfire and unbelievable breakfast each morning. A great place to be able to get away and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcart2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Our recent stay at The Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast in Elizabethtown, New York, was a wonderful experience. This was our first stay at a bed & breakfast & we were not sure what to expect. It turned out to be such a positive experience, that we look forward to staying at more bed & breakfasts in the future. The inn keepers, Kristen & Jim, made us feel so much at home & so pampered. The breakfasts were out of this world. The house is beautifully decorated. We enjoyed sitting on the porch relaxing with lemonade made by Kristen. We highly recommend this bed & breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I very much enjoyed staying here. We were in a hurry, so we didn't have enough time to enjoy the area, including the peaceful stream that runs through the property, or the hiking in the nearby woods. (Don't let that happen to you - take the time to enjoy the place!) The hostess was very friendly and the house was beautiful. Breakfast was great, too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Had a perfectly relaxing and wonderful night and breakfast with Kris and Jim.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The house is just beautiful. Our room was very comfortable. There is a shower and a ball and claw foot tub, which was great to relax in. My husband and I loved sitting down stairs in the sitting room to read, the cats loved sitting with us. The river runs right behind the house and its nice and slow, good for wading. We had a blast with Kristin and Jim, they are wonderful hosts. Kristin's breakfasts were wonderful, it was something different each day, but it was always delicious.

The house is right down the road from the main portion of Elizabethtown. Lake Placid close enough to go for a day, which my husband and I did. There are plenty of other area attractions that are close enough for a day trip also.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diabolena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8219 River Street, PO Box 385, Elizabethtown, NY 12932-2204
Region: United States > New York > Elizabethtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabethtown
Price Range: £37 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance in a neat old home shared with three fat, friendly cats on the Boquet River. Wi-Fi, gourmet country breakfast and beverages 'round the campfire' are included. Why not live it up a little? And plan to stay awhile; if you're like our other guests, once you're here you won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing