We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
162
103
62
62
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
103
62
62
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursehonor's havengrounds are beautifulchurch groupdance weekendspa areaget awayfamily reunionsenior tripthe wait staffindoor and outdoor poolscatskill mountainswaterfalljuanretreatmaintenancestardust
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I spend three nights recently here attending a conference. We were offered excellet, good service, cleand and efficient rooms. All this at a great price. It is great placce to host conferences. This is the second time we are hosting a conference here and both times we were extremely satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZachariahN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We work hard to maximize the success of every event held at Honor’s Haven and we were happy to hear that we were able to achieve that goal with your recent conference. We appreciate you letting us be a part of your event for the last two (2) years and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here 2 nights over the 4th of July weekend. We booked a day before, and apparently there was a reason for lots of availabilities. Nice grounds, well kept, but it felt as if nobody was around. There were people with small kids at the pool, but for adults who just wanted to relax and take an occasional dip, the pool area was too loud, too small and there were no umbrellas! The building, as we were told, was recently upgraded, but the soundproofing was nonexistent. We had a real problem with noise that came from the room above where "tennis camp" kids were enjoying themselves all night long despite our multiple calls to the front desk and their subsequent promises to send security. In general the service was poor, coffee shop terrible, spa - a joke, everything was severely understaffed and it seemed that the owners cut corners on everything that has to do with service. Buffet style meals were very expensive ($35 per person for dinner) and not impressive. Overall the place was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tsilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay. While we strive to provide a positive experience for everyone who stays with us, public areas, such as the pool, can become noisy at times; especially during a holiday weekend.

You are correct in your statement that the facility has undergone several updates. However, as with all historic buildings the thickness of walls and their ability to muffle sounds can sometimes be a challenge. We kindly request that all of our guests demonstrate courteous conduct during their stay and we apologize for any intrusive noise encountered during your visit.

We were very sorry to hear that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. I have asked our Executive Chef to review and modify our current menu selections as needed, which should enhance our guest’s overall dining experience moving forward.

With respect to your comment that the spa is “a joke”, it would be very helpful to us if you would message us and let us know what it was about the spa you found disappointing, so we can make improvements.

While it is unfortunate that your stay with us was less than perfect, we hope that your recent experience does not discourage you from visiting the area again.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review and enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Ellenville has become a depressed area and this is the best option in town. Ellenville town at night gets scarey and Honor's Haven was more secure with a 24 hour gate with guard to protect cars and keep property safe. Room was more updated than any other in area and there are no other clean places to eat in Ellenville.

We asked for sheets for fold out sofa upon arrival. We had to call back 5 1/2 hours later and then they came up with them. Bed/Bedding was clean and comfortable. Coffee Shop only sold microwaved coffee and breakfast buffet ran out of regular coffee and did not put out any coffee cups. 5 workers saw us standing around and no one offered help. Elevators were very slow and there were many unsupervised children running around the hallways and by the coffee shop area. Water pressure in shower was low and toilet ran unless handle was jiggled but there really weren't other options available in the area. The Catskills has not been maintained in general and this is the best you could get around there.

Room Tip: If you can go one town over, Wurtsboro has a Days Inn and the area is more updated with a supermarket, fast food, etc. and prices are probably more reasonable. For 2 night minimum and more money and a bit further, we really like Mohonk Mountain House and there is more to do at that resort on sight and many photo opps.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FirstGrandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. While the Ellenville area, like much of the country has been impacted by the trials and tribulations of a turbulent economy, Honor’s Haven has invested greatly in the area’s residents and businesses. The town itself lends a quaint ambiance complete with several fine eateries such as Aroma Thyme and Gaby’s Café. The area also offers fast food franchises (McDonalds & Subway) and a newly renovated ShopRite for those who wish to venture off property for a quick bite to eat. However, it is important to remember that the resort does offer three buffet meals daily.

We were pleased to hear that you found our bedding both clean and comfortable. Our priority has always been and continues to be our guest’s comfort, needs and expectations. As such, we apologize for the delay encountered receiving your extra linens. Items such as these are usually requested at time of reservation so that our housekeeping staff can ensure their placement in your room prior to arrival. None-the-less, your comments regarding such have been forwarded to our Housekeeping Supervisor for the attention they deserve.

Please note that the resort’s café does not, nor has it ever, served “microwave” coffee. The café serves Seattles Best brand products as well as fresh baked muffins, organic juices and invigorating energy drinks and smoothies with unique healthy accents. The Café at Honor’s Haven also offers a general selection of light fare for that early morning, mid-afternoon or late night snack.

With regards to the service provided in the dining room, we wish you had brought this behavior to the attention of our Maitre d’ at the time. I can assure you that your experience was inconsistent with our standard of service and will be immediately addressed.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay. Came to see what is left of the resorts of the Catskills - Honor's Haven used to be the Fallsview resort, but you have to look very hard to see it. Building is very nicely and recently renovated with beautiful lobby; the grounds were impeccably maintained. There is a vaguely Asian theme in the decor and activities such as yoga (only on the weekends, we found). We got the B&B package, which was very affordable and included a nice breakfast (french toast, oatmeal, fruit, etc.), and went into Ellenville for lunch and dinner. We used both pools, the whirlpool, the exercise area, and took advantage of lovely hikes to the falls; my wife had a great massage, too. The only real downside was that there were very few people there our first day, making things feel a little too quiet; they didn't open things like the lounge or the coffeeshop. However a ballroom dancing convention came in the second day and the place perked up quite a bit. Ellenville is quite down at the heels and the former Nevele next door is empty as well, but there are plans afoot for a casino there, so the spot may become quite a bit more lively in the future. We will be back to see!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are honored to have been afforded the opportunity to have you and your wife as our guests and happy to hear that you were pleased with the price point of your Bed & Breakfast package as well as our many amenities. We strive to provide each of our guests with an exceptional hospitality experience at an affordable price and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Needed to be in the area for a business meeting and thought staying here would be a nice break for one night.
The room was very nice clean & comfortable. I personally did not like the food and the way it's presented buffet style. There were many religious groups there so the dining room had many small children touching the food. I just don't like the fact that you don't have the option of eating when you want and only in their timeframe when meals are served.

The grounds are beautiful and the pool looked amazing. The inside pool was also very big. Did not have time to get a spa treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelgirl2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your kind comments with respect to our lodging rooms, pool facilities and grounds. We were however sorry to hear that your dining experience was not what you expected. It would be very helpful to us if you would message us and let us know what it was about the food you didn’t like (other than its setup), so that we can make improvements. The Hotel does offer a Café on the lower level that serves light fare for those unable to attend the Hotel’s scheduled meals. We hope you had the opportunity to sample some of their delicious options. It is our wish that this experience does not deter you from visiting us again and taking advantage of the pool and spa services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews