We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
163
103
62
62
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
103
62
62
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course honor's haven grounds are beautiful church group dance weekend spa area family reunion get away the wait staff indoor and outdoor pools catskill mountains waterfall juan retreat maintenance stardust hh
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel is huge. You can even find a golf course and a beautiful waterfall right there inside the property! The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortabe, including very good beds. The staff is professional and courteous.
But it is definitely a hotel for events or group packages. If you are looking for a charming place for a relaxing weeked, it wouldn't be the best option. The hotel lacks charm and coziness. The breakfast is definitely a low: it is made for huge groups, nothing tastes really good. Also, some parts of the hotel need maintenance, for example, the outside swimming pool. The location is secluded, and the city has nothing to offer. So in case you decide to stay there, be aware that you will have to stay in the hotel most of the time. In summary, it is a good hotel, but not for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robby2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We certainly appreciate your kind remarks with respect to our grounds, facilities and staff. While the Hotel does accommodate a host of different groups throughout the year, we aim to fulfill the needs of our individual guests as well; offering both onsite and offsite activities. With respect to our outdoor pool, our maintenance department is in the middle of scraping and repainting the club house, which lends a scruffy appearance to this area. I have been advised that this project will be completed shortly. We are aware of the current issues with our menus and are working diligently with our Executive Chef to create new ones. We are hoping to introduce these menus shortly. We appreciate your review and look forward to the possibility of serving you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

First off we were charged 18% as a grounds fee. We couldn't utilize the grounds because the indoor pool was closed and there was a camp occupying the outdoor pool. When we got back to our room around 2AM we found that there were no sheets on the bed and my pillow had a long black hair on it - nobody in my party has black hair. The Director of Dining Services proceeded to slam the door in our face after rudely telling us that breakfest was over (which were were told upon check in was untill 11AM) He had no service recovery to even direct us to where we could go. He was rude, unprofessional snd does not belon in the hospitality industry. When we called the GM to complain he offered us a free night stay - as if we would ever recommend or come back to this horrible "motel"

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns with regards to your recent stay. While it is regrettable that we encountered a mechanical issue with the indoor pool that required immediate attention, the outdoor pool remained open and ready for use. While we did have a camp on property during your stay, they were only provided with exclusive use of the area for a duration of 45-minutes daily; leaving ample opportunity to take a dip. We apologize that you were provided with erroneous information with respect to our meal times. There is no excuse for this mistake and as such we will be reviewing this important information with our Guest Service Agents. We were very shocked to hear that our Director of Food & Beverage treated you in a less than courteous manner. I can assure you that he is seasoned veteran of the hospitality industry and that this experience is inconsistent with both our and his standard of service. We apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay and hope to have the opportunity to win back your business in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I went here recently for a retreat and was relatively pleased with the experience. The location is great and the rooms are adequate, clean and basic as another reviewer has commented. The buffet meals were also good, especially the lunch and dinner selections. The quality for most meals was adequate except for breakfast in which they served those pre-cut manufactured hash brown potatoes. For what I paid for the room though I thought they could have done a little better job on the quality in the food. Although the venue that I attended during my stay was certainly spectacular the hotel was not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Honor’s Haven is indeed situated in a great location. Nestled at the foothills of the Shawangunk Mountain Range, the surrounding area provides a great deal of recreational activities for those interested in outdoor adventures, wine and culture. We have observed that a number of our guests have depicted our menus as average. We of course want to provide our guests with an outstanding dining experience. As such our Executive Chef has been working diligently to create new menus. We are hoping to introduce these menus shortly. We apologize that the resort did not measure up to your expectations, but hope to be provided with the opportunity to win your business back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Best thing about this place is the staff!! From initial reservation and the wonderful Jennifer, who really helped make my husband's birthday a special one. Their bakery made a wonderful chocolate cake with decorations! The front desk staff was incredibly warm, friendly and helpful and makes it a pleasant visit. Stayed here two nights before a concert at Bethel Woods. Very small rooms with outside wall A/C unit, worked well and didn't need it most of our stay since it was cool. Nice to have a window in the bathroom! Although it was also very small. Shower head needs replacing and shower handle was broken but we got it to work. Lots of kids with 3-4 to a room, so don't come here if you want peace and quiet. Although the surrounding area and outdoor is very peaceful and serene, and across the little lake there is a nice 9-hole golf course. New indoor pool was closed for repairs, outdoor pool is large but needs remarciting so we didn't venture in. Don't bother with the dining room - hot buffet food was barely edible (although they had cold cereal and yogurt). The "coffee shop" (more like a snack shop, order at the counter) looked ok, we didnt use it. Nice outdoor patio overlooking the lake. Lots of groups here which is good for them! The rooms and resort were very clean, a big issue for me so worth a stay if you are in the area.

Room Tip: The far end of the East wing is quietest, although far from the lobby. The higher the number the better, we were in a room near the stairs and had constant traffic by our door and lots of conversations we could hear in the hallway.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GsfHollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are extremely lucky to have so many industry professionals working with us and we were happy to hear that they made your husband’s birthday a special one. The resort offers several categories of rooms, some more spacious than others. We wish you would have approached a member of our Guest Services Department; they would have been more than happy to provide you with a larger room. Thank you for advising us of the need to replace our bathroom hardware. We will have our renovation team inspect all of the bathrooms and replace shower heads and handles as needed. With respect to our outdoor pool, our maintenance department is in the middle of scraping and repainting the club house, which lends a scruffy appearance to this area. I have been advised that this project will be completed shortly. We would also like to thank you for your straightforward critique of your dining experience. Our Executive Chef has been working diligently to create new menus and we are hoping that these new menus will be introduced shortly. We are thrilled that we were able to celebrate your husband’s birthday with you and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This place is to RESORTS as Dr. Seuss is to medicine!! Filthy, dirty, indifferent staff. You do business at this place on THEIR terms, not yours, as a customer. The whole time I am thinking am I in North Korea or some other 3rd world government sponsored leisure hotel. Where are these reviews of "great place" etc coming from? A Red Roof Inn is more charming. There is an approximate 18% - 20% resort fee - are you kidding me, maybe at the Beach Club in Boca but here - c'mon. They couldn't even provide towels for guests at the pool or pick up trashed pizza boxes discarded at the entrance to our floor - it sat there 2 days. Based on what we saw after out first 30 minutes, we chose not to eat here - great choice. Last point - the 70's called - they want their resort back!! Avoid, avoid, avoid

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managemnt, Manager at Honor's Haven Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

While we would like to thank you for your candid remarks, I feel that they are a bit out of line. The resort is neither filthy or dirty and our staff consists of a team of highly professional industry leaders who have received much praise for their commitment to guest satisfaction. You are correct in stating that the resort charges an 18% resort fee to its guests (20% for catered events). This fee is well within industry standards for the amenities provided. With regards to the lack of towels at the pool and the discarded pizza boxes, we agree that this is unacceptable. As such these particular items will be addressed with our Executive Housekeeper. It is unclear as to why you chose not to eat the buffet meals provided by the resort. If you could message us with a detailed explanation, we would be more than happy to pass your suggestions along to our Executive Chef. In addition, your closing comment that “the 70’s called – they want their resort back” is unwarranted. The Hotel has undergone a massive renovation over the last six years. While the décor may not be to everyone’s liking it is most often referred to a whimsical and eclectic . It is certainly unfortunate that your experience was not a positive one. None-the-less we hope that you and your family enjoyed the surrounding area and all that it has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews